Research

Current Research Projects in the Field of Sensor Systems

 

OCTCHIP

The Fraunhofer IIS is partner of a European research project, in which engineers and scientists are developing a low-cost and miniaturized chip-technology for improved medical diagnosis, e.g. in ophthalmology. The photonic-integrated technology developed in this project may become an enabler to bring Optical Coherence Tomography (OCT) to broader use in medical care. The Fraunhofer IIS leads the CMOS based readout electronic integration.

 

MICROMOLE

The detection of chemical substances at trace amounts can be a difficult task that requires typically laboratory equipment and skilled technical support. In this European research project, we develop with partners a miniature automated laboratory system for autonomous operation in harsh conditions. This system is projected to detect specific chemical substances at concentration levels in the range of the micro-mole per liter in the waste water.

The Fraunhofer IIS focuses on the design of a readout ASIC for chemical sensors and the development of energy harvesters for the sewage environment. The implementation of bias and readout electronics for chemical sensors with a low-power integrated-circuit technology is the key to the success of the project.

 

Theranostic Implants

The Fraunhofer lead project “Theranostic Implants” focuses on the development of “intelligent” implants with diagnostic and therapeutic functions. In the subproject on the neuromuscular demonstrator, a myoelectric prosthetic hand controller, Fraunhofer IIS is developing the electronics for controlling the implant.

 

NIRVANA

Nanowire-based MEMS sensors allow for further miniaturization of inertial sensors while maintaining high levels of performance. In the NIRVANA-FP7 research project, Fraunhofer IIS has developed application-specific integrated circuits (ASICs) for the measurement of MEMS inertial sensors. Thanks to new circuit concepts, the researchers were able to achieve extremely low energy consumption for usage in smartphones and medical implants.

Forschung

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte im Geschäftsfeld Sensorsysteme:

 

OCTCHIP

In diesem europäischen Forschungsprojekt wird eine preiswerte und miniaturisierte Chip-Technologie für die verbesserte medizinische Diagnostik, z.B. in der Augenheilkunde, entwickelt. Diese neue photonisch-elektrisch-integrierte Technologie könnte einen breiteren Einsatz der optischen Kohärenztomografie (Optical Coherence Tomography: OCT) in der medizinischen Versorgung ermöglichen. Das Fraunhofer IIS ist für die Entwicklung der Auswerteelektronik auf CMOS-Technologie verantwortlich.

 

MICROMOLE

Der Nachweis von Spuren chemischer Substanzen ist eine komplexe Anforderung, die eine spezifische Laboreinrichtung und kompetente technologische Unterstützung erfordert. In diesem europäischen Forschungsprojekt entwickeln wir mit Forschungspartnern ein miniaturisiertes Laborautomationssystem für den autonomen Einsatz in rauen Umgebungen. Mit diesem System können geringste Mengen bestimmter chemischer Substanzen im Bereich von einigen Mikro-Mol pro Liter im Abwasser erkannt werden.

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat hierfür einen Auswerte-ASIC für chemische Sensoren sowie Energy Harvester im Abwasserbereich entwickelt. Die Implementierung der Ansteuer- und Auswerteelektronik für chemische Sensoren mit einem integrierten Low-Power IC trägt wesentlich zum Erfolg dieses Projekts bei.

 

Theranostische Implantate

Im Fraunhofer Leitprojekt „Theranostische Implantate“ werden „intelligente“ Implantate mit diagnostischen und therapeutischen Funktionen entwickelt. Im Teilprojekt des neuro-muskulären Demonstrators, einer myo-elektrischen Handprothesensteuerung, entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS die Elektronik zur Steuerung des Implantats.

 

NIRVANA

Nanowire-basierte MEMS-Sensoren ermöglichen die weitere Miniaturisierung von Inertialsensoren bei gleichzeitig hoher Performance. Im Forschungsprojekt NIRVANA-FP7 hat das Fraunhofer IIS anwendungsspezifische integrierte Schaltungen (ASICs) für die Auswertung von MEMS-Intertialsensoren entwickelt. Durch neue Schaltungskonzepte wurde ein besonders geringer Energieverbrauch für den Einsatz in Smartphones sowie in medizinischen Implantaten erreicht.