Management Assistant – Office Management

“Management Assistant – Office Management” is a recognized occupation in accordance with the German Vocational Training Act (BBiG). This training program is regulated on a nationwide basis and lasts for three years. During their training at Fraunhofer IIS, office management assistants are typically assigned to the institute’s administrative department.


The training covers:

  • Operational organization
  • Office management and statistics
  • Word processing, office communications, data processing
  • Corporate accounting
  • Personnel management, payroll accounting
  • Order and invoice processing, warehousing

There is a need for office management assistants in almost every sector of the economy. At the institute, you will be assigned to areas such as the accounting office, the personnel office, and the receiving department.

The job requires a good knowledge of German and a basic knowledge of business administration, accounting, and the common Microsoft Office applications. You will have a friendly demeanor, good team and communication skills, and a precise and careful approach to your work.

If places are available on this training program, you will find details in our Job advertisements for new recruits and experienced professionals..

The websites below provide further information on the vocational profile of a “Management Assistant – Office Management”:

Personal reports from past trainees

Daniel Baumann

Trainee Office Management Assistant from 2007 to 2010

The really good thing was that I was able to work in several different departments. I learned a great deal about a variety of subjects. It allowed me to become familiar with the whole institute and meet all its friendly members of staff.

If I had to make the choice again, I would definitely choose to train at Fraunhofer IIS because it’s a place where you learn a lot about business with constant support and guidance from friendly colleagues.

Today, I work in accounting and controlling. After finishing my training, I successfully completed a part-time qualification as a business administrator with the German Chamber of Commerce and Industry (IHK). I’m currently in the second term of a part-time business management degree at Technische Hochschule Nürnberg. In both cases, I was able to continue working while I studied.

Fraunhofer IIS provided me with support both in terms of financing and with study materials, such as textbooks. I was also given holiday allowance to sit my exams. While studying, I can adapt my working hours according to how difficult the particular stage of the course is.

Susanne Rosenbach

Trainee Office Management Assistant from 2005 to 2008

As trainees, we were always a well-integrated part of the team. In our training program, we received constant support from our trainer as well as from our assistant trainers, who were always ready to listen to our problems. The program gave us an insight into the main administration department. Today’s program is much more intensive because of the sheer diversity of topics on offer and the constant growth at Fraunhofer IIS.

I would always choose to train at Fraunhofer IIS. We were accepted as fully fledged members of the IIS team. People at the institute, and especially in the administration department and Shared Services, are very helpful, considerate, and sociable, meaning you can work and learn in a relaxed environment. The training is structured and organized, the trainees’ well-being is very important to the managers, and there is a great deal of interest in ensuring quality training and good prospects in the final exam. Accordingly, the trainees are given numerous opportunities to prepare thoroughly for vocational school and/or for the examinations.

Today, I work in the purchasing and logistics group and have taken on tasks including recording working time and organizing training for the clerical occupations in Erlangen. After completing my training program, I was first given a temporary employment contract, but I have since completed further training as a business administrator. After that, I also gained the Training of Trainers (AdA) qualification, and have now been given a permanent contract.

During my training, I was given not only moral but also some financial support from Fraunhofer IIS. I had the necessary time and space to complete my further training successfully. My supervisor always back me up and encourages me in my work.

I felt supported at all times during my training program and had the opportunity to gain insights into a range of subject areas. I never felt like a “trainee”. Even now, since I completed my training, the work I do here is valued. Based on my nine years of experience at Fraunhofer IIS, I would describe the institute as an outstanding and competent training company and employer. We are offered numerous opportunities for further development.

Kaufmann / Kauffrau für Büromanagement

Kaufmann / Kauffrau für Büromanagement  ist ein anerkannter Ausbildungsberuf nach dem Berufsbildungsgesetz (BBiG). Die bundesweit geregelte Ausbildung dauert 3 Jahre. Bürokaufleute werden im Fraunhofer IIS während ihrer Ausbildung hauptsächlich in der Verwaltung des Instituts eingesetzt.


Die Ausbildungsinhalte umfassen:

  • Betriebliche Organisation
  • Bürowirtschaft und Statistik
  • Textverarbeitung, Bürokommunikation, Datenverarbeitung
  • betriebliches Rechnungswesen (Buchführung, Kostenrechnung)
  • Personalverwaltung, Entgeltabrechnung
  • Auftrags- und Rechnungsbearbeitung, Lagerhaltung 

Bürokaufleute werden in nahezu allen Branchen benötigt. Am Institut werden sie unter anderem in der Rechnungsstelle, der Personalstelle und  dem Wareneingang eingesetzt.

Die Tätigkeit erfordert gute Kenntnisse in Deutsch, Grundkenntnisse in Betriebswirtschaftslehre, im Rechnungswesen sowie in den gängigen MS-Office-Programmen. Sie haben ein freundliches Auftreten, sind team- und kommunikationsfähig und arbeiten genau und sorgfältig.

Wenn wir Ausbildungsplätze für diese Ausbildungsrichtung ausgeschrieben haben, finden Sie diese bei unseren Stellenanzeigen für Berufseinsteiger und Berufserfahrene.

Weitere Informationen zum Berufsbild Kaufmann / Kauffrau für Büromanagement finden Sie auf folgenden Seiten:

Erfahrungsberichte ehemaliger Auszubildende

Daniel Baumann

Azubi Bürokaufmann von 2007 bis 2010

Besonders gut war es, dass ich viele Abteilungen durchlaufen habe. Ich habe dort sehr viel gelernt und unterschiedliche Inhalte erfahren. Somit habe ich auch das ganze Institut und die netten Mitarbeiter kennen gelernt.

Ich würde mich auf jeden Fall nochmal für eine Ausbildung am Fraunhofer IIS entscheiden, da man hier viel Wissen im kaufmännischen Bereich erwirbt und immer von freundlichen Kollegen unterstützt und betreut wird.

Heute arbeite ich in der Buchhaltung und im Controlling. Nach meiner Ausbildung habe ich berufsbegleitend den Wirtschaftsfachwirt an der IHK erfolgreich abgeschlossen und zurzeit studiere ich berufsbegleitend im zweitenTrimester BWL an der Technischen Hochschule Nürnberg.

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat mich finanziell unterstützt und mir notwendige Lernmaterialien wie Bücher zur Verfügung gestellt. Für die Prüfungen konnte ich Sonderurlaub in Anspruch nehmen. Für das Studium kann ich meine Arbeitszeit an den jeweiligen Schwierigkeitsgrad der Studieninhalte anpassen.

Susanne Rosenbach

Azubi Bürokauffrau 2005 bis 2008

Wir wurden als Azubis jederzeit gut integriert. Wir haben in unserer Ausbildung sowohl von unserem Ausbilder als auch von unseren Hilfsausbildern jederzeit Hilfestellung bekommen. Sie hatten immer ein offenes Ohr für uns. Wir haben damals einen Einblick in die Hauptabteilung der Verwaltung erhalten. Heute ist die Ausbildung das aufgrund der Vielfalt und dem stetigen Wachstum des Fraunhofer IIS noch intensiver.

Ich würde mich immer wieder für die Ausbildung am Fraunhofer IIS entscheiden. Wir wurden als vollwertiges Mitglied der IIS-Struktur aufgenommen. Der Umgang am Institut und insbesondere auch in der Verwaltung und den Zentralen Diensten ist sehr kollegial und sozial. Daher ist ein entspanntes Arbeiten und Lernen möglich. Die Ausbildung ist strukturiert und organisiert. Das Wohlbefinden der Azubis liegt den Führungskräften sehr am Herzen und das Interesse an einer guten Ausbildung und Abschlussprüfung ist sehr hoch. Daher werden für die Azubis viele Möglichkeiten geschaffen, damit sie sich umfangreich auf die Berufsschule und/oder auf die Prüfungen vorbereiten können.

Heute arbeite ich in der Gruppe Einkauf und Logistik und habe unter anderem die Aufgaben Zeiterfassung und Ausbildung für die Büroberufe in Erlangen übernommen. Nach meiner Ausbildung habe ich zuerst einen befristeten Arbeitsvertrag erhalten, aber hierzu bereits eine Weiterbildung zur Wirtschaftsfachwirtin absolviert und im Anschluss daran den AdA abgeschlossen. Mittlerweile wurde ich in ein unbefristetes Arbeitsverhältnis überführt.

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat mich sowohl teils finanziell als auch seelisch bei meiner Weiterbildung unterstützt. Mir wurden die nötigen Freiräume geschaffen, damit ich die Weiterbildung erfolgreich abschließen konnte. Mein Vorgesetzter steht bei jedem meiner Vorhaben hinter mir und stärkt mich in dem, was ich mache.

Ich habe mich in meiner Ausbildung jederzeit unterstützt gefühlt. Ich hatte die Möglichkeit, in verschiedene Bereiche Einblicke zu bekommen und habe mich auch nicht als "Azubi" gefühlt. Auch jetzt, in der Zeit nach meiner Ausbildung, wird die Arbeit die ich hier leiste, geschätzt. Aufgrund meiner neunjährigen Erfahrung am Fraunhofer IIS würde ich das Institut als sehr guten und kompetenten Ausbildungsbetrieb/ und Arbeitgeber bezeichnen. Uns werden viele Möglichkeiten der Weiterentwicklung geboten.