Telephone calls as clear as a bell – Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize goes to Erlangen Researchers

/ 30.5.2017

Erlangen/Munich, Germany: Smartphones are perfect all-rounders, but their poor voice quality is still a vexing issue. With the new EVS codec mobile conversations sound as natural as if the person you’re calling was standing right next to you. The Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize 2017 went to Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs and Stefan Döhla for the development of the codec. They accepted the prize on behalf of the 50-strong team of researchers and engineers at Fraunhofer Institute of Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen who worked on this project.

© Photo Piotr Banczerowski / Fraunhofer

Awarded with the Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize: Markus Multrus, Guillaume Fuchs and Stefan Döhla (left to right).

The music on hold sounds tinny through the smartphone’s built-in speakers. And even when you finally get through to a real human being, the voice at the other end of the line could barely be described as compelling. For although immense progress has been made in the development of all kinds of smartphone apps, the quality of voice transmission hasn’t improved for years.


Clear and natural as opposed to muffled and distorted

The new Enhanced Voice Services (EVS) standard promises a step change comparable with the transition from analog CRT to digital flat-screen TVs. Instead of sounding muffled and distorted, the caller’s voice is as clear and natural as in a face-to-face conversation. The impetus for developing the new codec was given by the 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP), the international body that develops standards for mobile communication. A large team of researchers at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS in Erlangen took part in this project.

The specifications for standards of this type are extremely demanding. “First of all, the codec must be capable of transmitting high-quality speech signals at relatively low data rates – so as not to compromise cost-efficiency,” says Dipl.-Ing Markus Multrus, who coordinated the software development part of the project at Fraunhofer IIS. Another requirement is that the codec should be sufficiently robust to recover from transmission errors, thereby ensuring that calls are not dropped due to poor reception. Moreover, the codec must also be able to deliver similarly high quality when processing other types of signal, such as music on hold. This challenge is anything but simple, given that speech coding and audio coding are two separate worlds. The new codec therefore analyses the flow of signals every 20 milliseconds to distinguish between voice and music transmission, enabling the appropriate algorithms to be applied.


Transmission of the entire audible frequency spectrum

From a technical point of view, what is the difference between conventional and EVS codecs? “The human ear can hear frequencies of up to 20 kilohertz,” explains Dr. Guillaume Fuchs, the research scientist who led the development of EVS at Fraunhofer. “But the frequency range of the audio signals transmitted by currently available codecs only extends to 3.4 kilohertz – any frequencies above that limit are simply cut off, which is why phone calls sound so muffled. The new codec allows frequencies of up to 16 or even 20 kilohertz to be transmitted, depending on the bit rate of the connection.” In short, it is capable of transmitting the entire audible frequency spectrum – at similar rates to today’s wireless data codecs.


Voice quality indistinguishable from normal speech

Before a new coding standard can be accepted, proof has to be provided that the codec fits the defined specifications. In numerous listening tests, the EVS codec was evaluated by several thousand test subjects throughout the world. They rated the new standard as significantly better than existing solutions. The new codec has meanwhile been approved as a 3GPP standard. “Enhanced Voice Services are already commercially available in Japan, Korea, the United States, and Germany,” reports Dipl.-Ing Stefan Döhla, who represents Fraunhofer IIS at 3GPP meetings. “It is estimated that between 50 and 100 million devices have been equipped so far with the EVS codec.”

More than 50 researchers involved in the development

One of this year’s Joseph von Fraunhofer Prizes went to Dipl.-Ing. Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs and Dipl.-Ing. Stefan Döhla for the development of the EVS codec. They accepted the prize on behalf of the 50-strong team of researchers and engineers who worked on this project. The jury’s decision was based among other things on “the codec’s worldwide user base and its potential to generate substantial license-fee revenues.”

Joseph von Fraunhofer Prize valued at 50 000 euros

This prize has been awarded by the Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft every year since 1978, in recognition of outstanding scientific work by members of its staff leading to the solution of application-oriented problems. The prize is valued at 50 000€.

Telefonieren mit glasklarem Klang – Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis für Erlanger Forscherteam

/ 30.5.2017

Erlangen/München: Smartphones sind wahre Alleskönner, doch die Sprachqualität beim Telefonieren ist seit Jahren unverändert. Mit einem neuen Standard klingen die Worte des Telefonpartners so natürlich, als ob er neben einem stehen würde. Für die Entwicklung des Codecs wurden Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs und Stefan Döhla, stellvertretend für ein Team aus über 50 Wissenschaftlern des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen, mit dem Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis 2017 ausgezeichnet.

© Foto Piotr Banczerowski / Fraunhofer

Ausgezeichnet mit dem Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis: Markus Multrus, Guillaume Fuchs und Stefan Döhla (v.l.n.r).

Blechern dröhnt die Musik der Warteschleife aus dem Lautsprecher des Smartphones. Und hat man es endlich geschafft und einen menschlichen Gesprächspartner an der Strippe, ist die Sprachqualität auch nicht gerade berauschend. Denn während die meisten Anwendungen des Smartphones große Entwicklungssprünge gemacht haben, verharrt die Sprachübertragung seit Jahren auf dem gleichen Stand.

Klar und natürlich statt dumpf und verzerrt

Der neue Standard Enhanced Voice Services, kurz EVS, soll das künftig ändern: Vergleichbar etwa mit dem Schritt vom Röhrenfernseher zum Flachbildschirm. Statt dumpf und verzerrt hört man die Stimme des Telefonpartners so klar und natürlich wie im Gespräch von Angesicht zu Angesicht. Angestoßen und entwickelt wurde der Codec vom internationalen Gremium für Mobilfunkstandardisierung 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP). Daran war auch ein großes Team des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS in Erlangen maßgeblich beteiligt.

Die Anforderungen an einen solchen Standard sind hoch. »Die Grundvoraussetzung besteht zunächst einmal darin, Sprache in guter Qualität zu übertragen – und zwar bei niedrigen Datenraten, so dass die Übertragung wirtschaftlich bleibt«, sagt Markus Multrus, der die Software-Entwicklung für den Codec am Fraunhofer IIS koordiniert.

Zudem sollte der Codec robust gegenüber Fehlern bei der Übertragung sein, damit das Gespräch bei schlechten Empfangsbedingungen nicht unterbrochen wird. Weiterhin sollte der Codec auch mit anderen Signalen gut auskommen – und etwa Musik in Warteschleifen in guter Klangqualität übertragen. Das ist jedoch alles andere als einfach, schließlich sind Sprach- und Audiocodierung zwei verschiedene Welten. Daher analysiert der Codec alle 20 Millisekunden, ob gerade Sprache oder Musik übertragen wird – und verwendet die jeweils passenden Algorithmen.  

Übertragung des gesamten hörbaren Frequenzspektrums

Doch worin genau besteht nun der technische Unterschied zwischen den bisherigen Codecs und EVS? »Das menschliche Ohr nimmt Frequenzen bis ca. 20 Kilohertz wahr«, erläutert Guillaume Fuchs, der die wissenschaftliche Entwicklung von EVS am Fraunhofer IIS vorangetrieben hat. »Der bisherige Codec übermittelt allerdings nur Tonsignale in einem Frequenzbereich bis 3,4 Kilohertz – der Bereich zwischen 3,4 und 20 Kilohertz wird schlichtweg abgeschnitten. Daher klingt die Stimme dumpf. Der neue Codec überträgt je nach Bitrate Frequenzen bis 16 beziehungsweise bis 20 Kilohertz.« Kurzum: Der Codec umfasst das komplette hörbare Frequenzspektrum – bei Datenraten, die mit bisherigen Mobilfunkcodecs vergleichbar sind.

Kein Unterschied zur natürlichen Sprache

Bevor ein neuer Codec jedoch als Standard gesetzt werden kann, muss er zeigen, was er kann. In zahlreichen Hörtests wurde der Codec weltweit von mehreren Tausend Testpersonen bewertet. Das Ergebnis: Die Hörer beurteilten den neuen Standard signifikant besser als die bisherigen Verfahren. Mittlerweile ist der Codec in 3GPP standardisiert. »In Japan, Korea, den USA und Deutschland wird EVS bereits kommerziell eingesetzt«, freut sich Stefan Döhla, der das Fraunhofer IIS im Gremium vertritt. »Schätzungen zufolge sind bereits 50 bis 100 Millionen Geräte mit EVS ausgerüstet.«

Über 50 Forscher an Entwicklung beteiligt

Für die Entwicklung des Sprachcodecs EVS erhalten Dipl.-Ing. Markus Multrus, Dr. Guillaume Fuchs und Dipl.-Ing. Stefan Döhla den diesjährigen Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis – stellvertretend für das Team, das aus über 50 Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren bestand. Die Jury begründet die Preisvergabe unter anderem mit »dem weltweiten Einsatz und den hohen zu erwartenden Lizenzeinnahmen«.

Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis mit 50 000 Euro dotiert

Seit 1978 verleiht die Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft alljährlich an ihre Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter den Joseph-von-Fraunhofer-Preis für herausragende wissenschaftliche Leistungen zur Lösung anwendungsnaher Aufgaben. Der Preis ist mit 50 000 Euro dotiert.