Fraunhofer IIS and RFmondial present DAB Monitoring Receiver with Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer at IBC 2017

/ 14.9.2017

Erlangen, Germany/Amsterdam, The Netherlands: Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, the world-renowned experts in audio and media technologies and RFmondial, a leading manufacturer of professional digital radio equipment, showcase at IBC 2017 the Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer technology as part of RFmondial’s new DAB monitoring receiver RF-DAB for transmitter, content and remote-coverage monitoring.

© Photo RFmondial

The Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer technology is integrated in RFmondial’s new RF-DAB monitoring receiver and enables the presentation of all DAB+ services.

The Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer technology enables the presentation of all DAB+ services. It is integrated in the RF-DAB monitoring receiver, as well as in RFmondial’s logging systems. The extensive feature set of the MultimediaPlayer includes full support for DAB+ data services such as Dynamic Label/DL+, slideshow, Journaline advanced text services, electronic program guide (EPG), travel and traffic information, file transmissions and playback of audio services with stereo and surround sound.

The extended Professional edition of the Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer technology, which is integrated in RFmondial’s products, is optimized for professional DAB and DRM monitoring and archiving solutions. In addition to the features of the Consumer edition, it natively supports the digital protocols for the multiplex distribution (EDI/MDI over UDP/IP) as input sources and the decoding of IQ baseband signals, as well as the display of detailed decoder statistics. On the basis of these statistics, collected by all receiver components, broadcasters are able to verify the transmission quality of their services by monitoring the elements carried on the various transport levels. The HTML based user interface of the “MultimediaPlayer Professional” technology allows for a simple graphical adjustment to and integration with the customer’s products, which can also be accessed remotely via web browser – including full support for the playback of all contained audio and data service components thanks to the use of the HTML5 standard.

RFmondial products incorporating Fraunhofer technologies are for example in use at the national German public radio Deutschlandradio for the transmission and monitoring of its digital radio programs and the sophisticated set of DAB+ data services.

The RFmondial RF-DAB monitoring receiver including the Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer will be exhibited at the Fraunhofer booth B80 in hall 8 at the IBC show in Amsterdam, taking place from September 15th to 19th, 2017.

 

About RFmondial

RFmondial GmbH offers professional products and services for the digital broadcasting industry as well as other industries with the need for innovative hardware and software. Research, development and prototype implementation for transmitter, receiver, and monitoring technology as well as design services for various industries are part of the core business. With broad experience in various technological areas, worldwide markets are served, "Made in Germany".

Fraunhofer IIS und RFmondial zeigen DAB-Monitoring-Empfänger mit Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer auf IBC 2017

/ 14.9.2017

Erlangen/Amsterdam: Die weltweit renommierten Audioexperten des Fraunhofer-Instituts für integrierte Schaltungen IIS und RFmondial, ein führendes Unternehmen im Bereich professionellen Equipments für Digitalradio, demonstrieren auf der Fachmesse IBC in Amsterdam die Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer-Technologie als Komponente des neuen RFmondial DAB-Monitoringempfängers RF-DAB für die Sender-, Inhalte- und Feldüberwachung beim Digitalradio DAB+.

© Foto RFmondial

Die Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer-Technologie ist im neuen DAB-Monitoringempfänger RF-DAB von RFmondial integriert und ermöglicht die Darstellung aller DAB+ Inhalte.

Die Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer-Technologie zur Darstellung aller DAB+ Inhalte ist sowohl im RF-DAB, als auch in den Loggingsystemen von RFmondial integriert. Zu den umfangreichen Funktionen des MultimediaPlayers zählen unter anderem die volle Unterstützung für DAB+ Datendienste wie Dynamic Label/DL+, Journaline Advanced Text Service, Slideshow, Electronic Program Guide (EPG), Reise- und Verkehrsinformationen, Datei-Übertragungen und Audioinhalte mit Stereo- und Surround-Sound Wiedergabe.

Die in den RFmondial-Produkten eingesetzte, erweiterte Professional-Variante der MultimediaPlayer-Technologie eignet sich für professionelle DAB- und DRM-Monitoring- und Archivierungslösungen. Sie unterstützt neben den Funktionen der Consumer-Variante als Signal-Eingang die Standardprotokolle für die Multiplex-Distribution (EDI/MDI über UDP/IP) sowie die Decodierung von IQ-Basisband-Signalen, und erlaubt die Anzeige erweiterter Empfangsstatistiken. Anhand dieser Statistiken, zu denen alle Empfänger-Komponenten beitragen, können Rundfunkbetreiber die gesendeten Elemente auf den verschiedenen Transportebenen nachvollziehen und auf diese Weise die Übertragungsqualität ihrer Dienste überprüfen. Die HTML-basierte Oberfläche der »MultimediaPlayer Professional«-Technologie erlaubt die einfache grafische Anpassung und Integration in die Anzeige des Kundensystems, auf die auch via Webbrowser zugegriffen werden kann – die Wiedergabe aller Audio- und Datendienste-Komponenten im HTML5-Standard ist dabei inbegriffen.

Die Produkte von RFmondial mit integrierten Fraunhofer-Technologien werden beispielsweise vom Deutschlandradio für die Ausstrahlung und die Überwachung seiner digitalen Radio-Programme und der vielfältigen DAB+ Zusatzdienste eingesetzt.

Der RF-DAB Mess- und Monitoringempfänger von RFmondial mit integrierter Fraunhofer MultimediaPlayer-Technologie wird vom 15. bis 19. September 2017 am Fraunhofer-Stand auf der IBC in Amsterdam (Halle 8, Stand B80) gezeigt.

 

Über RFmondial

Die RFmondial GmbH mit Sitz in Hannover bietet professionelle Produkte und Dienst-leistungen für die digitale Rundfunkindustrie an, sowie innovative Hard- und Softwarelösungen für diverse Industrien. Forschung, Entwicklung und prototypische Implementierung für Sender, Empfänger und Überwachungstechnologien, als auch Service-Design für weitere Industrien sind Teil des Kerngeschäftes. Mit umfangreicher Erfahrung in unterschiedlichen Technologien bedienen sie die Marke »Made in Germany.«

 

Weitere Informationen finden sich unter www.iis.fraunhofer.de/ame.