Fraunhofer and b<>com present VR Comedy Show “Vaudeville” in MPEG-H Spatial Audio based on the VRIF Draft Guidelines

/ 14.9.2017

Erlangen, Germany/Rennes, France/Amsterdam, The Netherlands: Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, the world-renowned experts in audio and media technologies, and the Hypermedia innovators from the French Research and Technology Institute b<>com have teamed up at IBC 2017 to showcase an end-to-end spatial audio system for production, delivery, playback and rendering of Higher Order Ambisonics (HOA) MPEG-H Audio, the international standard for immersive audio. The first virtual reality experience produced with this toolchain is the episodic VR comedy show “Vaudeville” from French VR studio DVGroup.

The content is delivered to VR headsets following aspects of the draft guidelines of the Virtual Reality Industry Forum (VRIF), which enable the production and delivery of high quality VR experiences, emphasizing interoperability in an open ecosystem.

While VRIF is not in itself a standards development organization, members advocate for the creation of an interoperable end-to-end ecosystem for high-quality audiovisual virtual reality services. At IBC 2017, the VR Industry Forum will publish a first draft of its guidelines for VR at www.vr-if.org/guidelines/. Fraunhofer IIS and b<>com present the very first VR experiences based on aspects of these guidelines.

The virtual reality environment demonstrated at IBC, rendered on Samsung Gear VR headsets, produces an entertainment experience with a stunning level of immersion. The audio mix which is configured as Higher Order Ambisonics, has been produced using the b<>com Spatial Audio Toolbox and is delivered using VRIF’s 3D Audio Baseline media profile, which is based on the MPEG-H Audio technology, substantially developed by Fraunhofer IIS. The 3D Audio Baseline media profile is technically specified in MPEG as part of the Omnidirectional Media Format (OMAF).

MPEG-H Audio is a true multiscreen audio codec system that can carry audio channels, ambisonics audio and audio objects with metadata, which enables maximum creative freedom in the creation of interactive and immersive audio experiences. The MPEG-H TV Audio system is already on-air in South Korean UHD TV broadcast. It is part of the ATSC 3.0 and DVB-UHD television standards and suitable for Over-the-top (OTT) content. Advanced capabilities of MPEG-H include:

  • Immersive Sound: MPEG-H adds 3D audio components for an immersive audio experience.
  • Interactive Audio: Consumers have the ability to adjust the sound mix to their preferences.
  • Universal Delivery: MPEG-H tailors playback to sound best on any device and in any environment.

For effortless integration on VR playback systems, Fraunhofer IIS provides a VR Audio SDK, ready to create a VR experience with MPEG-H Audio decoding and the best-in-class audio rendering.

Through its Spatial Audio Toolbox solution, b<>com is providing state-of-the-art tools for producing and post-producing High Order Ambisonics Audio.

At IBC in Amsterdam, from 15-19 September 2017, visitors to the b<>com (Hall 8, booth G14) and Fraunhofer (Hall 8, booth B80) booths can experience Vaudeville VR with MPEG-H Audio.

For more information, visit www.iis.fraunhofer.de/amm

 

Statements:

“High Order Ambisonics, or Scene Based Audio, is an essential format in order to produce compelling VR experiences. Together with DVGroup and Fraunhofer, we are proud to showcase, for the very first time, an end-to-end ecosystem in line with the VRIF recommendations for the distribution of such experiences.”

Ludovic Noblet, Director Hypermedia at b<>com

 

“Partnering with b<>com on developing this end-to-end VR audio system based on MPEG-H Audio has been a great example of collective innovation. Seeing what level of immersion creatives such as DVGroup can produce with it, is even more rewarding.”

Jan Nordmann, Senior Director, New Media Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies

 

"At DVGroup, we encourage authors to use spatial audio as a narrative tool in their stories. This collaboration on Vaudeville aimed at pushing 360-3D experiences to high-end quality standards. The spatial audio tools developed by b<>com give the volumetric feeling of space which is often missing in 360-VR productions. Together with Fraunhofer, an important step is achieved pushing forward truly immersive experiences to end consumers.”

François Klein at DVGroup

 

About b<>com

With its innovations, the Institute of Research and Technology (IRT) b<>com is taking part in the European digital transformation. Its 230 researchers develop tools, products, and services that make everyday life easier. They focus on two fields of research: Hypermedia (ultra-high definition images, 3D sound, smart content, virtual and augmented reality) and more agile ultra-high speed networks (cloud, cybersecurity, ultra-high speed mobile, network resilience, Internet of Things). Of the many fields of application for these technologies, e-health has allowed b<>com to participate in the digital revolution going on in medicine.

Fraunhofer und b<>com zeigen VR-Comedyshow im MPEG-H 3D Audio-Format auf Basis der VRIF-Richtlinien

/ 14.9.2017

Erlangen/Rennes/Amsterdam: Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS und das französische Institut für Forschung und Technologie b<>com demonstrieren auf der Fachmesse IBC eine Ende-zu-Ende-Kette für Produktion, Übertragung, Wiedergabe und Rendering des Higher Order Ambisonics (HOA)-Modus von MPEG-H Audio, dem internationalen Standard für umhüllenden Klang. Das erste mit dieser Werkzeugkette produzierte Virtual-Reality-Material ist eine Episode der VR-Comedyshow »Vaudeville« vom französischen VR-Studio DVGroup.

Die auf VR-Headsets gezeigte Folge von »Vaudeville« ist der erste VR-Inhalt, der dem Richtlinienentwurf für die Produktion und Übertragung von hochqualitativen VR-Inhalten folgt. Anhand dieser Richtlinien, entwickelt vom Virtual Reality Industry Forum (VRIF), soll eine hohe Interoperabilität in einem offenen System sichergestellt werden.

Die Mitglieder des VRIF, darunter auch das Fraunhofer IIS und b<>com, setzen sich für die Etablierung eines interoperablen Ende-zu-Ende-Systems für Anbieter von hochwertigen audiovisuellen Virtual Reality-Inhalten ein. Im Rahmen der IBC 2017 veröffentlicht das VRIF einen ersten Entwurf seiner Richtlinien für VR, zu finden unter www.vr-if.org/guidelines/. Das Fraunhofer IIS und b<>com präsentieren auf der Messe das allererste VR-Erlebnis, das auf diesen Richtlinien basiert.

Die auf der IBC gezeigte Virtual Reality-Umgebung, die auf Samsung Gear VR-Headsets übertragen wird, soll den Nutzer gänzlich in eine andere Welt abtauchen lassen. Der als Higher Order Ambisonics (HOA) konfigurierte Audiomix wurde mit der b<>com Spatial Audio Toolbox produziert und wird im VRIF 3D Audio Baseline-Medienprofil, basierend auf MPEG-H Audio, wiedergegeben. Das 3D Audio Baseline-Medienprofil ist bei MPEG als Teil des Omnidirectional Media Format (OMAF) technisch spezifiziert.

MPEG-H Audio ist ein umfassendes Audiocodec-System, das Audiokanäle, Ambisonic-Audio und Audioobjekte samt Metadaten übertragen kann, und damit möglichst großen kreativen Freiraum für Entwickler von interaktiven und einhüllenden Audioerlebnissen gewährleistet. Das vom Fraunhofer IIS wesentlich mitentwickelte MPEG-H TV Audio System wird bereits im Ultra High Definition (UHD)-TV-System in Südkorea genutzt und ist Teil der ATSC 3.0- und DVB-UHD Fernsehstandards, sowie für die Übertragung von Over-the-top (OTT)-Inhalten geeignet. Das MPEG-H TV Audio System bietet folgende Features:

•          Einhüllenden Klang: 3D-Audiokomponenten tragen zu einem umhüllenden Sounderlebnis bei.

•          Interaktivität: Anwender haben die Möglichkeit, den Audio-Mix nach Belieben anzupassen.

•          Universelle Übertragung: Maßgeschneiderte Wiedergabe sorgt für den bestmöglichen Klang – egal auf welchem Gerät, egal in welcher Umgebung.

Für eine mühelose Integration in Virtual Reality-Headsets stellt das Fraunhofer IIS ein Software Development Kit (SDK) bereit, mit dem umhüllende VR-Erlebnisse mit MPEG-H-Audiodekodierung und hoher Rendering-Qualität zum Leben erweckt werden können.

Die Spatial-Audio-Toolbox-Lösung von b<>com enthält moderne Werkzeuge für die Produktion und Postproduktion von Higher Order Ambisonics Audio.

Auf der IBC in Amsterdam, die vom 15.-19 September 2017 stattfindet, können Besucher an den Ständen von b<>com (Halle 8, Stand G14) und Fraunhofer (Halle 8, Stand B80) »Vaudeville« in der virtuellen Realität und mit MPEG-H Audio hautnah erleben.

Weitere Informationen finden sich unter www.iis.fraunhofer.de/ame.

 

Statements:

»Higher Order Ambisonics, oder Scene Based Audio, ist ein unverzichtbares Format, um überzeugende VR-Inhalte zu produzieren. Wir sind stolz darauf, gemeinsam mit der DVGroup und Fraunhofer das erste Ende-zu-Ende-System zu präsentieren, das konform mit den Richtlinien des VRIF zur Produktion und Wiedergabe dieser Inhalte ist.«

Ludovic Noblet, Leiter Hypermedia bei b<>com

 

»Die Zusammenarbeit mit b<>com bei der Entwicklung dieses kompletten VR-Audiosystems auf MPEG-H Audio-Basis ist ein gutes Beispiel dafür, wie man gemeinsam etwas tolles Neues schaffen kann. Anschließend zu sehen, was kreative Köpfe wie die DVGroup damit machen und welches Level an Realismus sie damit erreichen können, ist der schönste Lohn.«

Jan Nordmann, Senior Director New Media bei Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies

 

»Die DVGroup ermutigt Autoren, 3D-Audio als Erzählwerkzeug in ihren Geschichten zu nutzen. Diese Zusammenarbeit bei ‚Vaudeville’ zielte darauf ab, die Qualität von 360°-3D-Erfahrungen weiter zu erhöhen. Die von b<>com entwickelten Spatial Audio Tools geben ein Gefühl von Räumlichkeit, was in diesem Ausmaß in 360°-VR-Produktionen oftmals fehlt. Zusammen mit Fraunhofer haben wir einen wichtigen Schritt getan, um wirklich einhüllende Erlebnisse für Endnutzer voranzubringen.«

François Klein, DVGroup

 

 

Über b<>com

Mit seinen Innovationen ist das Institut für Forschung und Technologie b<>com Teil der Digitalen Transformation in Europa. Seine 230 Forscher entwickeln Werkzeuge, Produkte und Dienste, die den Alltag erleichtern. Der Fokus liegt dabei auf zwei Forschungsfeldern: Hypermedia (ultrahochauflösende Bilder, 3D-Klang, Smart Content, Virtual und Augmented Reality) und agilere Ultra-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Netzwerke (Cloud, Cybersicherheit, Ultra-Hochgeschwindigkeits-Mobilfunk, Netzwerkstabilität, Internet der Dinge).