Digitization in medical engineering: Fraunhofer IIS at MEDICA 2017

/ 8.11.2017

Erlangen/Düsseldorf: At MEDICA 2017 the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS is presenting the MCube microscope system for the automatic pre-analysis of malaria pathogens, as well as optical 3D techniques for improved orientation in endoscopic views and the CardioSHIRT with integrated multichannel ECG.

© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Modular platform for microscopy.

212 million new cases of malaria worldwide in 2015

Within a wider multidisciplinary project, researchers at Fraunhofer IIS have developed a computer-assisted system for the automatic recording of blood smears and detection of malaria pathogens in thick blood films. With 212 million new cases in 2015, MCube can play an important role in the fight against the disease.

Unlike conventional microscopic examinations, for which an expert often has to scrutinize a large number of fields of view, the MCube microscope system carries out a pre-analysis of the digitized image data. All potential malaria pathogens found by the system are then displayed on the screen in an overview. The expert only has to analyze these objects. This approach has proved very promising in evaluation studies carried out with other institutes working in the field of malaria diagnosis. Moreover, the digitization of the blood smears and their archiving by MCube assists examiners in their quality assurance in the laboratory.

Minimal invasive surgery with 3D panorama view

As part of the “3DInMed” project completed at the end of September 2017, researchers at Fraunhofer IIS developed a technique for stereo-endoscopic panoramic imaging in 3D. The system improves the opportunities for expanding the field of view and documenting images in minimal invasive surgical procedures. To do this, the developers used the methods of digital image processing – known as stitching technologies – to generate panoramic 3D images of the operating area from the image data stream of a stereo endoscope. These 3D image panoramas enable a dynamic expansion of the stereoendoscope’s field of view while preserving the visual depth, so that surgeons better orientate themselves and navigate more quickly. Real-time-capable implementation of the method is the next step. The project was funded by the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi).

Multi-channel ECG for mobile use

With the “CardioSHIRT”, Fraunhofer IIS has developed a textile-integrated sensor solution for diagnostic electrocardiography (ECG). The CardioSHIRT helps to recognize changes in coronary vessels at an early stage and effectively prevent heart disease by recording ECGs through up to 9 measuring channels. To provide fast, reliable diagnostic support, it supplies medical measurement data, which is transmitted to a smartphone via Bluetooth. Possible applications include performance diagnostics, patient monitoring and sleep analysis. The technology was developed as part of the pilot phase of the Leistungszentrum Elektroniksysteme (LZE), sponsored by the Bavarian Ministry of Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology.

Fraunhofer IIS at MEDICA from November 13–16, 2017

At the MEDICA 2017 trade fair from November 13 to 16, visitors can go to Hall 10, Booth G05 to learn all about the MCube and 3D panoramic endoscopy, and proceed to the Wearable Technologies Show in Hall 15, Booth A23 to explore the CardioSHIRT.

Digitalisierung in der Medizintechnik: Fraunhofer IIS auf der MEDICA 2017

/ 8.11.2017

Erlangen/Düsseldorf: Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS präsentiert auf der MEDICA 2017 das Mikroskopiesystem MCube zur automatischen Voranalyse von Malariaerregern, sowie optische 3D-Verfahren zur verbesserten Orientierung in endoskopischen Ansichten und ein Fitnessshirt mit integriertem EKG.

© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Modulare Plattform für Mikroskopie

Weltweit 212 Millionen Malaria-Neuerkrankungen in 2015

Forscher des Fraunhofer IIS haben in einem multidisziplinären Gesamtprojekt ein computergestütztes System zur automatischen Aufnahme von Blutausstrichen und Detektion von Malariaerregern im sogenannten «Dicken Tropfen» entwickelt. Bei 212 Millionen Neuerkrankungen allein im Jahre 2015 kann MCube damit einen wichtigen Beitrag im Kampf gegen die Krankheit leisten.

Denn anders als bei der herkömmlichen mikroskopischen Untersuchung, bei der mitunter eine hohe Anzahl von Sichtfeldern mit hohem Zeitaufwand durch einen Experten gesichtet wird, übernimmt hier das Mikroskopiesystem MCube eine Voranalyse der digitalisierten Bilddaten. Dabei werden alle vom System gefundenen potenziellen Malariaerreger übersichtlich am Bildschirm dargestellt. Lediglich diese Objekte sind vom Experten zu analysieren. Dieser Ansatz hat sich in Evaluierungsstudien mit weiteren im Bereich Malariadiagnostik arbeitenden Instituten als vielversprechend erwiesen. Zudem unterstützt die Digitalisierung der Blutausstriche und deren Archivierung durch MCube den Untersucher bei der Qualitätssicherung im Labor.

Minimalinvasive Chirurgie mit 3D-Panoramablick

Im Rahmen des Ende September 2017 abgeschlossenen Projekts «3DInMed» entwickelten Forscher des Fraunhofer IIS ein Verfahren zur stereoendoskopischen Panoramabildgebung in 3D. Das System verbessert die Möglichkeiten zur Sichtfelderweiterung und Bilddokumentation von minimal-invasiven chirurgischen Eingriffen. Die Entwickler nutzen dabei Methoden der digitalen Bildverarbeitung, sogenannte Stitchingtechnologien, um aus dem Bilddatenstrom eines stereoendoskopischen Eingriffs, 3D-Panoramabilder des Operationsfeldes zu generieren. Diese 3D-Bildpanoramen erlauben eine dynamische Sichtfelderweiterung des Stereoendoskops unter Beibehaltung des Tiefeneindrucks, so dass sich Mediziner besser orientieren und schneller navigieren können. Der nächste Schritt ist die echtzeitfähige Umsetzung des Verfahrens. Das Projekt wurde gefördert vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi),

Mehrkanal-EKG für den mobilen Einsatz

Mit dem »CardioSHIRT« entwickelte das Fraunhofer IIS eine textilintegrierte Sensorlösung für die diagnostische Elektrokardiographie (EKG). Das CardioSHIRT hilft dabei, Veränderungen der Herzkranzgefäße frühzeitig zu erkennen und Herzerkrankungen wirksam vorzubeugen, indem es das EKG mit bis zu 9 Messkanälen erfasst. Für die schnelle und sichere Diagnoseunterstützung liefert es medizinische Messdaten, die mittels Bluetooth an ein Smartphone übertragen werden. Mögliche Anwendungen liegen u.a. im Bereich der Leistungsdiagnostik, des Patientenmonitoring und der Schlafanalyse. Die Technologie wurde im Rahmen der vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie geförderten Pilotphase des Leistungszentrums Elektroniksysteme (LZE) entwickelt.

Fraunhofer IIS auf der MEDICA vom 13.–16. November 2017

Besucher können sich vom 13. bis 16. November auf der MEDICA 2017 in Halle 10, Stand G05 über den MCube und 3D-Panoramaendoskopie informieren, sowie auf der Wearable Technologies Show in Halle 15 Stand A23 über das CardioSHIRT.