See, feel, train – virtual surgical simulator to premiere at MEDICA

/ 6.11.2018

Erlangen/Düsseldorf, Germany: Researchers from the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS will be presenting the prototype of a virtual surgery trainer at MEDICA 2018 from November 12 to 15. “HandsOn.surgery” helps surgeons prepare for individual patient cases prior to surgery, and enables them to practice the surgery. Visitors can experience HandsOn.surgery live at the trade fair.

© Fraunhofer IIS

“HandsOn.surgery” trainer: virtual bones with risk structures and surgical bur (top right), haptic arm for virtual milling (bottom right).

Both the surgical placement of implantable hearing aids and the surgical treatment of tumor diseases require milling the petrosal bone. Operations on the petrosal bone are both challenging and risky for any surgeon, as the facial nerve runs through the bone there, concealed, and the tight access offers a particularly limited surgical view.

Aspiring surgeons therefore need extensive training before they can routinely perform such difficult procedures. To date, training opportunities are limited to just a few specialized centers, making large-scale training impossible. The virtual surgery trainer supports physicians in their education and training and is expected to help minimize surgery time and the risk of injury.

3D monitors and VR headsets make virtual surgery an immersive experience

With HandsOn.surgery, surgeons can practice individual procedures in oral and maxillofacial surgery, orthopedics and other areas before the actual operation using the patient’s digital twin – at any time, as often as they want, and with no risk.

The highly immersive HandsOn.surgery trainer enables doctors to see, feel and practice a virtual operation: because it uses real CT patient data, force feedback from the surgical instrument, intuitive touchscreen selection and a 3D monitor or VR headset, the trainer lets doctors experience the operation as if they were performing it live on the patient, including original operating room sounds.

Live tests at MEDICA in Hall 10, Booth G05

Visitors will have the opportunity to see and experience the technology for the first time at the MEDICA trade fair (Hall 10, Booth G05) in Düsseldorf from November 12 to 15, 2018.

HandsOn.surgery was created in the “HaptiVisT” project, which is being funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) (funding code 16SV7559) from June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2019. The aim of the project is to develop and evaluate a haptic-visual learning system for surgical procedures that can be used in both urban and rural hospitals to address the widespread shortage of medical specialists.

HaptiVisT is a joint project involving Fraunhofer IIS, szenaris GmbH (project coordinator), the Clinic and Polyclinic for Ear, Nose and Throat Medicine at the University of Leipzig Medical Center, the Clinic and Polyclinic for Trauma Surgery at University Hospital Regensburg, OTH Regensburg University (Ostbayerische Technische Hochschule Regensburg), SeeFront GmbH and Haption GmbH.

To learn more about the project, visit www.iis.fraunhofer.de/HandsOn.

Sehen, Fühlen, Üben – Premiere eines virtuellen OP-Trainers auf der MEDICA

/ 5.11.2018

Erlangen/Düsseldorf: Vom 12. bis zum 15. November 2018 präsentieren Forscher des Fraunhofer-Instituts für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS auf der MEDICA den Prototypen eines virtuellen OP-Trainers. »HandsOn.surgery« hilft Chirurgen, sich präoperativ auf den jeweiligen Patientenfall vorzubereiten und diesen virtuell zu üben. Besucher können HandsOn.surgery live auf der Messe testen.

© Fraunhofer IIS

»HandsOn.surgery«-Trainer: virtueller Knochen mit Risikostrukturen und Fräse (rechts oben), Haptikarm zum virtuellen Fräsen (rechts unten).

Das Fräsen im Felsenbein ist sowohl für das operative Einsetzen von implantierbaren Hörgeräten, als auch bei der operativen Behandlung von Tumorerkrankungen nötig. Operationen am Felsenbein sind für jeden Chirurgen Herausforderung und Risiko zugleich, da dort u. a. der Gesichtsnerv im Knochen versteckt verläuft und aufgrund des engen Zugangs eine besonders beschränkte operative Sicht herrscht.

Angehende Operateure benötigen daher intensives Training, um derart schwierige Eingriffe routiniert durchführen zu können. Bisher beschränkt sich die Möglichkeit zur Fortbildung auf wenige spezialisierte Zentren in Deutschland, was ein flächendeckendes Training unmöglich macht. Der virtuelle OP-Trainer unterstützt Ärzte in ihrer Aus- und Weiterbildung und soll helfen, die OP-Zeit und das Verletzungsrisiko zu minimieren.

Eintauchen in die Operation durch 3D-Monitor oder VR-Brille

Mit HandsOn.surgery üben Chirurgen individuelle Eingriffe unter anderem in der Mund-Kiefer-Gesichtschirurgie, Orthopädie und anderen Bereichen bereits vor der eigentlichen Operation am digitalen Zwilling des Patienten: ohne Risiko, jederzeit und beliebig oft.

Mit dem hoch-immersiven OP-Trainer HandsOn.surgery können Ärzte eine virtuelle Operation sehen, fühlen und trainieren: Durch die Nutzung realer CT-Patientendaten, des Force-Feedbacks beim Einsatz des chirurgischen Werkzeugs, der intuitiven Auswahl am Touchscreen und Verwendung eines 3D-Monitors oder VR-Brille erleben Ärzte die Operation, als ob sie diese live am Patienten durchführten, inklusive Original-Sound aus dem Operationssaal.

Live-Tests auf der MEDICA an Stand G05 in Halle 10

Besucher können sich die Technologie erstmalig auf der MEDICA vom 12.–15. November 2018 in Düsseldorf am Stand G05 in der Halle 10 ansehen und selbst testen.

HandsOn.surgery ist im Rahmen des Projekts »HaptiVisT« entstanden, das durch das Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung (BMBF) unter dem Förderkennzeichen 16SV7559 vom 1. Juni 2016 bis 31. Mai 2019 gefördert wird. Ziel des Projektes ist die Entwicklung und Evaluierung eines haptisch-visuellen Lernsystems für chirurgische Eingriffe, das sowohl in Krankenhäusern in der Stadt wie auch auf dem Land eingesetzt, dem Facharztmangel in der Fläche begegnen soll.

»HaptiVisT« ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Fraunhofer IIS mit der szenaris GmbH (Verbundkoordinator), der Klinik und Poliklinik für Hals-Nasen-Ohrenheilkunde des Universitätsklinikums Leipzig, der Klinik und Poliklinik für Unfallchirurgie des Universitätsklinikums Regensburg, der Ostbayerischen Technische Hochschule Regensburg, der SeeFront GmbH und der Haption GmbH.

 

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt gibt es unter www.iis.fraunhofer.de/handson.