Fraunhofer IIS, RoodMicrotec GmbH and EBV Elektronik GmbH announce cooperation

/ 27.2.2019

Nürnberg, Germany: Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS gives access to new technologies using EBV Chips platform. Turnkey manufacturing services for chips will be performed by RoodMicrotec. Fraunhofer IIS has been developing various best-in-class solutions for over 30 years. Two of new technologies are RFicient® Basic, an Integrated Ultra-Low-Power WakeUp Receiver with low latency, and s-net®, a networking protocol for low power, self-organizing multi-hop communication. With this new cooperation, these solutions will be available for a broad range of applications.

RFicient®Basic, Ultra-Low-Power WakeUp Receiver

 

Applications in the field of the Internet of Things require low power consumption and rapid response capability with a minimal amount of maintenance. There is a strongly growing amount of connected mobile devices and wireless connectivity gains importance. However, wireless battery-powered IoT applications make sense only if the batteries do not have to be replaced or recharged regularly.

For this purpose, Fraunhofer IIS offers the adequate solution for numerous wireless applications: RFicient® boasts power consumption in the order of microwatts and reacts in milliseconds. The current consumption below 3 µA and the operation without a microcontroller make a service life of mobile applications of up to ten years possible.

The integrated receiver continuously monitors a radio channel and provides 24/7 connectivity. This is required for applications where the exact instant of an incoming radio message is unknown to the receiver. Having received a radio request, a quick reply is expected. Devices can go to sleep when not in use but wake up immediately to deliver services as needed. RFicient® is the only active component!

Additionally RFicient® provides single or simultaneous multiband operation for global and reliable wireless connectivity. Whether for industrial, logistics or consumer applications, RFicient® is the solution complementing existing standards in a perfect way.

More information available at: www.rficient.com

 

s-net® wireless networking technology for IoT applications

 

s-net® lays the foundation for connecting and positioning things, machines and people, thus closing an information gap between IT and the real world. s-net® requires low power consumption and enables bi-directional data communication, it offers the best prerequisites for IoT (Internet of Things) applications in production, logistics and building automation.

Since 2019 the sensor networking technology is available as a commercial radio module at the international distributor EBV Elektronik. This module is specially developed to connect objects for IoT applications like the digitization of processes, condition monitoring or smart production. More information available at: www.s-net-info.com

 

Microelectronic and IT system solutions at Fraunhofer IIS

 

Fraunhofer IIS is one of the world’s leading application-oriented research institutions for microelectronic and IT system solutions and services. Fraunhofer IIS develops, implements and optimizes processes, products and equipment until they are ready for use and for the market. Flexible interlinking of expertise and capacities enables the developers to meet extremely broad project requirements and complex system solutions.

Fraunhofer IIS, RoodMicrotec GmbH und EBV Elektronik GmbH geben Kooperation bekannt

/ 27.2.2019

Nürnberg: Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS ermöglicht den Zugang zu neuen Technologien über die EBV-Chips-Plattform. Schlüsselfertige Fertigungsleistungen für Chips werden von RoodMicrotec übernommen. Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt seit über 30 Jahren verschiedene Best-in-Class-Lösungen. Zwei neue Technologien sind der Funkempfänger RFicient®Basic, ein integrierter Ultra-Low-Power-WakeUp-Receiver mit niedriger Latenzzeit, und s-net®, ein Netzwerkprotokoll für stromsparende, selbstorganisierende Multi-Hop-Kommunikation. Im Rahmen der neuen Kooperation werden diese Lösungen für ein breites Anwendungsspektrum verfügbar sein.

RFicient®Basic: Ultra-Low-Power-WakeUp-Receiver


Anwendungen im Bereich des Internets der Dinge (Internet of Things, IoT) erfordern einen geringen Stromverbrauch und eine schnelle Reaktionsfähigkeit bei minimalem Wartungsaufwand. Die Zahl der vernetzten Mobilgeräte nimmt stetig zu und die drahtlose Konnektivität gewinnt an Bedeutung. Drahtlose, batteriebetriebene IoT-Anwendungen sind jedoch nur dann sinnvoll, wenn die Batterien nicht regelmäßig ausgetauscht oder aufgeladen werden müssen.

Zu diesem Zweck bietet das Fraunhofer IIS für zahlreiche drahtlose Anwendungen die passende Lösung: RFicient® weist eine Leistungsaufnahme in der Größenordnung von wenigen Mikrowatt auf und reagiert in Millisekunden. Der Stromverbrauch von unter 3 µA und der Betrieb ohne Mikrocontroller ermöglichen eine Lebensdauer von bis zu zehn Jahren bei mobilen Anwendungen.

Der integrierte Empfänger überwacht kontinuierlich einen Funkkanal und bietet eine 24/7-Konnektivität. Dies ist erforderlich für Anwendungen, bei denen dem Empfänger der genaue Zeitpunkt einer eingehenden Funkmeldung unbekannt ist. Nach Erhalt einer Funkanfrage wird eine schnelle Antwort erwartet. Geräte können in den Ruhezustand versetzt werden, wenn sie nicht in Gebrauch sind, können aber im Bedarfsfall sofort aktiv werden. RFicient® ist die einzige aktive Komponente.

Zusätzlich bietet RFicient® einen separaten oder gleichzeitigen Multiband-Betrieb für eine globale und zuverlässige drahtlose Anbindung. Ob für Industrie-, Logistik- oder Verbraucheranwendungen – RFicient® ergänzt bestehende Standards perfekt.

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: www.rficient.com

s-net®: drahtlose Vernetzungstechnologie für IoT-Anwendungen


s-net® schafft die Grundlage, um Objekte, Maschinen und Menschen zu vernetzen und zu lokalisieren, und schließt damit eine Informationslücke zwischen IT und der realen Welt. s-net® hat einen geringen Stromverbrauch und ermöglicht die bidirektionale Datenkommunikation. Damit bietet die Technologie beste Voraussetzungen für IoT-Anwendungen in der Produktion, der Logistik und der Gebäudeautomation.

Seit 2019 ist die drahtlose Vernetzungstechnologie als kommerzielles Funkmodul beim internationalen Distributor EBV Elektronik erhältlich. Dieses Modul wurde speziell für die Vernetzung von Objekten für IoT-Anwendungen wie die Prozessdigitalisierung, die Zustandsüberwachung oder die intelligente Fertigung entwickelt. Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: www.s-net-info.com

Mikroelektronische und informationstechnische Systemlösungen am Fraunhofer IIS


Das Fraunhofer IIS zählt zu den weltweit führenden anwendungsorientierten Forschungseinrichtungen für mikroelektronische und informationstechnische Systemlösungen und Dienstleistungen. Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt, implementiert und optimiert Prozesse, Produkte und Anlagen bis zur Einsatzbereitschaft und Marktreife. Die flexible Verknüpfung von Know-how und Kapazitäten ermöglicht es den Entwicklern, komplexe Projektanforderungen und Systemlösungen zu erfüllen.