Profile

About Fraunhofer IIS Audio and Media Technologies

Fraunhofer IIS is home to the organization’s Audio and Media Technologies division that has been working in audio and image coding and signal processing for more than 25 years. Fraunhofer IIS is the main inventor of mp3, universally credited with the co-development of AAC (Advanced Audio Coding), and built the DCI test plan for the worldwide interchangeability of digital cinema movies.

Audio technologies for the media world of tomorrow include Fraunhofer Cingo® for immersive sound for VR, Fraunhofer Symphoria® for automotive 3D audio, AAC-ELD and EVS for telephone calls with CD-like audio quality, and MPEG-H for immersive, interactive sound for UHDTV and streaming applications. Throughout more than two decades, Fraunhofer IIS has licensed its audio codec software to more than 1,000 companies. Fraunhofer estimates that it has enabled more than ten billion commercial products worldwide using its mp3, AAC and other media technologies.

For the digital film industry, the division develops innovative technologies such as a special way of light-field data processing, which opens up new possibilities for professional post-production. Another research focus lies on tools for DCPs (Digital Cinema Packages) and IMFs (Interoperable Master Format) as well as on the easyDCP software, which is used by more than 1,500 licensees for the creation, playback and control of DCPs and IMFs.

Profil

Forschungsbereich Audio und Medientechnologien

Im Bereich Audio und Medientechnologien des Fraunhofer IIS beschäftigen sich seit mehr als 25 Jahren Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure mit Audio- und Bildsignalverarbeitung sowie Audio- und Bildcodierung. Mit der maßgeblichen Beteiligung an der Entwicklung der Audiocodierverfahren mp3 und AAC sowie den Aktivitäten rund um das digitale Kino wie der Erstellung des international gültigen DCI-Testplans ist das Fraunhofer IIS weltweit bekannt geworden.

In den vergangenen zwei Dekaden hat das Fraunhofer IIS Audiocodier-Software an mehr als 1000 Unternehmen lizenziert und mehr als zehn Milliarden kommerzielle Produkte ermöglicht. Zu den wichtigsten aktuellen Entwicklungen im Audio-Bereich zählen Fraunhofer Cingo® für virtuellen Surround-Sound auf mobilen Geräten, Fraunhofer Symphoria® für 3D-Klang im Auto, die Codecs AAC-ELD und EVS für Telefongespräche in CD-Qualität, xHE-AAC für Streaming und Digitalradio, sowie MPEG-H Audio, mit dem TV-Zuschauer den Ton individuell anpassen können.

Für die digitale Filmbranche werden Verfahren entwickelt, die erweiterte Möglichkeiten in der professionellen Postproduktion eröffnen, wie etwa eine spezielle Verarbeitung von Lichtfeldaufnahmen, sowie Werkzeuge für DCPs (Digital Cinema Packages) und IMFs (Interoperable Master Format) und die Software easyDCP, die von über 1500 Lizenznehmern für die Erstellung, Wiedergabe und Kontrolle von DCPs und IMFs verwendet wird.