Wireless Technology for Private Industrial Networks

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Wireless, real-time communication with maximum reliability

 

In industrial automation systems, it is common for some of the sensors, actuators, and other system components to be installed on movable subsystems. Examples include tools mounted on robot arms, slide rails, or rotary and coordinate tables. These subsystems require a means of communicating with the central control system capable of operating at very short cycle times in the single-digit millisecond range. Nowadays, these connections are typically realized using cable drag chains, rotary feedthroughs or slide contacts. But they present numerous disadvantages: for instance, heavy weight and susceptibility to wear and tear. They also restrict the mobility of the subsystems and limit the possibilities for expansion.

To solve this problem, Fraunhofer IIS is developing a new radio technology that is deployable as a wireless extension or even as a substitute for wired field buses. Compared with currently available radio technologies, the Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network (UWIN) enables communication in real-time with extremely low latency and a maximum of reliability.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

UWIN adds flexibility to the production environment

 

UWIN is designed to meet the specific requirements of industrial communication networks. It enables data to be transmitted with a latency of less than one millisecond, and the utmost reliability.

This level of performance is of paramount importance in real-time-critical applications such as motion control, rotation control, or isolation control. In this way, UWIN gives added flexibility to your production processes. Using a wireless connection to control remote parts of a machine allows them greater freedom of mobility, because they are no longer constrained by cables. UWIN also simplifies the retooling or retrofitting of existing plant and machinery. Instead of having to rewire everything, it suffices to install new sensors in the machine, which can then be configured and activated from a central control console. Signals can be routed via license-free frequency band or a campus network.

 

Real-time

  • Cycle time 125 µs
  • Latency <100 µs
  • Isochronous data transmission

 

Reliability

  • Synchronicity <1 µs
  • Packet error rate <10-6
  • Coexistence management and channel adaptation

 

Flexibility

  • Simple integration and replacement of sensors and actuators
  • Unlimited freedom of motion for movable parts of machinery

Customized wireless solution for your industrial automation project

 

We can offer you a customized communications solution for your industrial application based on UWIN. We start by compiling a requirements specification tailored to the needs of your production environment, and then customize UWIN accordingly. We conduct feasibility studies and pilot projects to evaluate the various choices and select the best one for your specific needs. UWIN knows no borders: it can be deployed in Europe, Asia, or America.

And to enable you to get a better idea of what UWIN can do for you, we are developing an evaluation kit. Please contact us if you are interested.

Further information

 

Flyer

Ultra reliable Wireless
Industrial Network

Internet of Things

Go back to business area
“Internet of Things“

Funktechnologie für private industrielle Netzwerke

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Drahtlose Echtzeitkommunikation bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit

 

In Anlagen der Industrieautomatisierung befindet sich typischerweise ein Teil der Sensoren und Aktuatoren sowie andere Automatisierungskomponenten auf beweglichen Subsystemen. Werkzeuge an Roboterarmen, Schlittenbahnen sowie Dreh- und Koordinatentische sind Beispiele solcher Subsysteme, für deren Regelung eine Anbindung mit sehr kurzen Zykluszeiten im einstelligen Millisekunden-Bereich an die übergeordnete Steuerung notwendig ist. Die heutzutage dafür verwendeten Kabelschleppketten, Drehdurchführungen und Schleifkontakte bringen zahlreiche Nachteile mit sich, wie etwa Verschleißanfälligkeit, hohes Gewicht, beschränkte Erweiterungsfähigkeit oder Restriktionen der Bewegungsfähigkeit.

Zur Lösung dieser Problematik entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS die Funktechnologie »Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network« (UWIN), die als drahtlose Erweiterung oder als Ersatz von drahtgebundenen Feldbussen eingesetzt werden kann. Im Vergleich zu heutigen Funktechnologien wird so eine echtzeitfähige Signalübertragung mit extrem kurzen Latenzzeiten bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit ermöglicht.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

UWIN bringt Flexibilität in die Produktion

 

Mit seinen technischen Parametern erfüllt UWIN die speziellen Anforderungen an industrielle Netzwerke. Sie ermöglichen die Datenübertragung in weniger als einer Millisekunde bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit.

Diese Eigenschaften sind insbesondere für echtzeitkritische Regelungen in den Bereichen Motion, Rotation oder Isolation Control entscheidend. Damit bringt UWIN mehr Flexibilität in den Fertigungsprozess. Entfernte Maschinenteile werden per Funk angesteuert und können sich so freier bewegen, da sie nicht durch Kabelverbindungen eingeschränkt werden. Auch Umrüstungen und Retrofitmaßnahmen bestehender Anlagen werden durch UWIN vereinfacht. Anstelle aufwändiger Verkabelungen werden neue Sensoren an den Maschinen angebracht und zentral von einer Basisstation aus konfiguriert und in Betrieb genommen. Die Signalübertragung kann hierbei kostengünstig in lizenzfreien oder lizenzbehafteten Bändern für Campusnetzwerke erfolgen.

 

Echtzeitfähigkeit

  • Zykluszeit 125 µs
  • Latenz <100 µs
  • Isochrone Datenübertragung

 

Zuverlässigkeit

  • Synchronizität <1 µs
  • Paketfehlerrate <10-6
  • Koexistenzmanagement und Kanaladaption

 

Flexibilität

  • Einfaches Einbinden und Austauschen von Sensoren und Aktuatoren
  • Uneingeschränkte Bewegungsfreiheit von Maschinenteilen

Passgenaue Funklösung für Ihre Industrieautomatisierung

 

Unser Ziel ist es, mit UWIN eine passgenaue Kommunikationslösung für Ihre Industrieanwendung bereitzustellen. Zu diesem Zweck analysieren wir mit Ihnen die Anforderungen Ihrer Anlange und Anwendung, um die optimale Passung mit UWIN sicherzustellen. In Form von Machbarkeitsstudien oder Pilotprojekten evaluieren wir gemeinsam mit Ihnen die ideale Lösung und optimieren sie entsprechend Ihrer individuellen Anforderungen. Dabei ist es egal, ob sich Ihre Anlage in Europa, Asien oder Amerika befindet: UWIN ist weltweit einsetzbar.

Und damit Sie die Eigenschaften von UWIN bereits im Vorfeld selbst evaluieren können, entwickeln wir gerade ein geeignetes Evaluation-Kit. Bei Interesse sprechen Sie uns einfach an!

Weitere Informationen

 

Flyer

Ultra reliable Wireless
Industrial Network

Internet of Things

Hier geht es zurück zum Geschäftsfeld
»Internet of Things«