Reliable Wireless Industrial Communication

Manufacturing of complex and individualized products requires continuous operation of challenging automated factory workflows involving, e.g., decentralized production control. Important enablers for this kind of distributed systems are ubiquitous, seamless connectivity and real-time communication between machines in industrial environments. Establishing such systems increases flexibility and productivity because it allows for coordination and control of overall production processes. At the same time it creates a need for mobile machines which communicate and are positioned via wireless networks based on the instantaneous availability of data. Therefore, the reliability, latency, data rate and even positioning accuracy requirements on industrial communication systems are escalating continuously.

Fraunhofer IIS is focusing on providing solutions for reducing the total latency and increasing the reliability of wireless communication systems to meet the stringent time requirements in industrial environments:

  • 5G for industrial communication networks
  • UWIN – wireless technology for private industrial networks

5G – key enabler for industrial communication networks

Ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC)

The upcoming 5G standard will be able to meet enhanced requirements as it targets latencies under one millisecond, data rates of up to ten gigabits per second, extremely high network reliability, and better accuracy in positioning. Thereby, 5G provides fast and reliable access to moving objects in order to achieve time-critical process control and optimization in industrial environments, which are not possible with today’s cellular technology. As requirements vary according to the specific use cases, 5G New Radio (NR) will provide a flexible air interface allowing for scalable bandwidths, data rates, latencies, and positioning accuracy levels.

Ultra-Reliable and Low-Latency Communication (URLLC) is a key enabler for seamless interaction between machines in time-critical applications.

Industrial applications require a reduction of communication latency while simultaneously guaranteeing an extremely high level of reliability. All layers of the communication system need to be optimized starting from physical layer by scaling down the transmission time and enhancing reliability through increased redundancies. Upcoming LTE releases use a shorter version of the transmission time interval (sTTI) and apply enhanced functionality for higher reliability (HRLLC). 5G NR will introduce increased subcarrier spacing resulting in shorter transmission slots and a shorter HARQ round-trip time enabling higher reliability. Complementarily, more effort in both LTE and NR is invested to further reduce the processing time required in the upper layers of the protocol stack.

5G Technologies for Industrial IoT

5G technologies for Industrial IoT

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Wireless technology for private industrial networks

Numerous industrial automation systems have sensors, actuators and other automation components located on movable subsystems. Tools on robot arms, slide rails and rotary and coordinate tables are examples of such subsystems. They often have to be connected to the overall control system ensuring very short cycle times. The cable drag chains, rotary feedthroughs and slide contacts used for this purpose nowadays have numerous disadvantages. For instance, they limit the motion trajectories of the subsystems, the number of attachable automation components and the opportunities for future retrofits or extensions.

To solve this problem, Fraunhofer IIS is developing a radio technology that is deployable as a wireless extension or even as a substitute for wired fieldbuses. Compared to modern radio technologies, it enables superior real-time signal transmission with extremely short latency, maximum reliability and 30 times more user data per telegram.

Further information

 

Mobile communications and beyond

5G technologies for mobile broadband, Industry 4.0, connected mobility and satellite communication

Zuverlässige drahtlose Industriekommunikation

Die Herstellung komplexer, individualisierter Produkte ist nur mithilfe anspruchsvoller automatisierter Fertigungsabläufe möglich, die zum Beispiel auf einer dezentralen Produktionssteuerung beruhen. In der Industrie erfordern derartige verteilte Systeme lücken- und nahtlose Konnektivität sowie Echtzeit-Kommunikation zwischen den Maschinen. Gleichzeitig steigern sie sowohl Flexibilität als auch Produktivität, da sie den gesamten Fertigungsprozess koordinier- und steuerbar machen. Allerdings werden damit mobile, kommunikationsfähige Maschinen nötig, die anhand unmittelbar verfügbarer Daten über drahtlose Netzwerke miteinander interagieren. Daher steigen die Anforderungen an Zuverlässigkeit, Latenz, Übertragungsraten und Positionierungsgenauigkeiten in industriellen Kommunikationssystemen stetig.

Fraunhofer IIS ist auf die Entwicklung von Lösungen zur Verringerung der Latenz und Steigerung der Zuverlässigkeit drahtloser Kommunikationssysteme spezialisiert, um die anspruchsvollen Anforderungen in industriellen Umgebungen erfüllen:

  • 5G für industrielle Kommunikationsnetzwerke
  • UWIN – Funktechnologie für private industrielle Netzwerke

5G für industrielle Kommunikationsnetzwerke

Ultra-reliable low-latency communication (URLLC)

Der zukünftige 5G-Standard kommt den hohen Ansprüchen in der Industriekommunikation mit Latenzen von unter einer Millisekunde, Datenraten von bis zu zehn Gigabit pro Sekunde, extrem zuverlässigen Netzwerken und noch präziserer Positionierung entgegen. So ermöglicht 5G einen schnellen und zuverlässigen Zugriff auf mobile Maschinen, wodurch zeitkritische Prozesse in industriellen Umgebungen besser gesteuert und optimiert werden können als mit der heutigen Mobilfunktechnologie. Da die Anforderungen je nach Anwendungsfall variieren, soll 5G New Radio (NR) eine flexible Luftschnittstelle bieten, die skalierbare Bandbreiten, Datenraten, Latenzen und Positionierungsgenauigkeiten möglich macht.

Kommunikation mit niedrigen Latenzen und hoher Zuverlässigkeit (Ulra-reliable low-latency communication, URLLC) ist die Grundvoraussetzung für nahtlose Interaktion zwischen Maschinen in zeitkritischen Anwendungen.

Gerade für Industrieanwendungen sind geringe Verzögerungen bei gleichzeitiger hoher Verlässlichkeit unabdingbar. Alle Schichten des Kommunikationssystems müssen, angefangen bei der physikalischen Schicht, optimiert werden: Es gilt, die Übertragungszeit zu reduzieren und durch verstärkte Redundanzen für eine zuverlässigere Datenübertragung zu sorgen. Kommende LTE-Ausbaustufen nutzen ein kürzeres Übertragungszeitintervall (shortened Transmission Time Interval, sTTI) und verbesserte Funktionalitäten für eine höhere Zuverlässigkeit. Mit 5G NR werden größere Subcarrier-Abstände eingeführt, die kürzere Übertragungs-Slots und HARQ-Umlaufzeiten zur Folge haben und damit die Zuverlässigkeit weiter erhöhen. Darüber hinaus wird sowohl bei LTE als auch 5G NR daran gearbeitet, benötigte Verarbeitungszeiten in den oberen Protokollschichten zu verkürzen.

Infografik 5G and Industrial IoT
© Mimi Potter - fotolia.com / Fraunhofer IIS

5G-Technologien für das industrielle Internet of Things (IoT)

UWIN – Ultra reliable Wireless Industrial Network

Funktechnologie für private industrielle Netzwerke

In zahlreichen Anlagen der Industrieautomatisierung befinden sich ein Teil der Sensoren und Aktuatoren sowie andere Automatisierungskomponenten auf beweglichen Subsystemen. Werkzeuge an Roboterarmen, Schlittenbahnen sowie Dreh- und Koordinatentische sind Beispiele solcher Subsysteme. Sie müssen häufig mit sehr kurzen Zykluszeiten im einstelligen Millisekunden-Bereich an die übergeordnete Steuerung bzw. Regelung angebunden werden. Die heutzutage dafür verwendeten Kabelschleppketten, Drehdurchführungen und Schleifkontakte bringen zahlreiche Nachteile mit sich, wie die Beschränkung der möglichen Bewegungstrajektorien der Subsysteme, der Anzahl anschließbarer Automatisierungskomponenten sowie der Möglichkeiten für spätere Umrüstungen bzw. Erweiterungen.

Zur Lösung dieser Problemstellung entwickelt das Fraunhofer IIS eine Funktechnologie, die als drahtlose Erweiterung oder gar als Ersatz von drahtgebundenen Feldbussen eingesetzt werden kann. Im Vergleich zu heutigen Funktechnologien wird damit eine echtzeitfähige Signal-übertragung mit extrem kurzen Latenzzeiten bei höchster Zuverlässigkeit und 30-mal mehr Nutzdaten je Telegramm ermöglicht.

Weitere Informationen

 

5G – mehr als Mobilfunk

5G-Technologien für die mobile Breitbandkommunikation, Industrie 4.0, vernetzte Mobilität und Satellitenkommunikation

Flyer

5G and Industrial IoT