Simulation, Test and Reference Environment for Mobile Operations ("SumO")

As part of the SumO project, Fraunhofer IIS together with the Bundeswehr Technical Center for Information Technology and Electronics (WTD 81) creates the design concept and develops specific test and measurement equipment as well as an automated sequence control system for a simulation, test, and reference environment for mobile operations. Fraunhofer IIS is contributing its expertise and project experience acquired in the field of radio channel modeling and emulation.

The aim is to set up a permanent, flexible test infrastructure to be used for various validation and verification tests. SumO – the simulation, test, and reference environment for mobile operations – operates across different laboratories and locations and can integrate existing test and analysis facilities.

One single architecture for various component, connection, and system tests

Current information and communications networks are built on IP-based communication. In this regard, it is important that these networks provide the applications with a sufficient connection quality, in other words, that they transmit speech with sufficient intelligibility and without any disruptive delays, for example. This is challenging, particularly for heterogeneous networks with mobile data transmission, as often only low transmission rates with sometimes high latency are available.

When setting up complex wireless networks, all components must therefore be carefully selected and coordinated with one another. During operation, it must be ensured that all applications can be used with the required quality at all times. This is a complex task that, depending on the information exchange requirements and the technical boundary conditions, demands difficult network balancing, configuration, parametrization, and adaptation. This calls for an appropriate test environment that brings a wide variety of component, connection, and system tests together in an overall architecture. It must also enable ongoing testing of an integrated network’s performance, examination of its behavior, and discovery of an optimum configuration and parametrization.

The test environment developed in the SumO project offers the following opportunities:

  • Creation of objectively comparable and reproducible test results and reports as part of integrated verification in a test framework that is recognized and can be used as a reference
  • Product- and manufacturer-neutral system tests to determine the performance of individual components or systems throughout the entire communication chain
  • Support in defining and developing a communications network in the analysis and implementation phase
  • Integration and interoperability tests between different systems and devices, even after updates and product improvements/adjustments in the usage phase
  • Tests for integrating system/product proposals into the integrated network
  • Approval and acceptance tests to determine requirements coverage
  • Validation of new configurations and configuration states within the integrated network
  • Error analysis under realistic and reproducible conditions across all levels of a complex and heterogeneous communications network

The architecture of the SumO software framework supports:

Test preparation

  • Graphical user interface (GUI) for easy operation
  • Software libraries for test sequence control as well as for control of devices under test (DUTs) and measuring devices
  • Templates for test cases
  • Verification of the test setup, e.g., by checking the accessibility of components and validating the consistency of parameters

Testing

  • Automated testing
  • Definable outputs (test sequence, states, results) during tests for improved monitoring of a correct test sequence

Test evaluation

  • Automatic report generation
  • Archiving of test results including configurations of the test setup, software version, and log files

All in all, SumO is a complex test system that has a wide range of functions and is easy to use. Users are given access to standardized test procedures and result logs. The test system also offers a high degree of transparency with regard to the results, since log files that log the results at definable measurement and test points in the setup can be accessed. Black-, gray-, and white-box tests can therefore also be combined in a highly heterogeneous integrated network. At the same time, the uniform, documented test procedures foster acceptance of the test results among users and component manufacturers.

Further information

Fraunhofer IIS offers test and measurement equipment for real time channel simulations and SDR interface testing – a reliable and economic way to test communication systems.

 

SDR test platform

Tailored to the development and testing of new waveform technologies

 

Interface tester DT4610

For OBISS-based SDRs

 

Real-time channel simulator RTSIM DT4630

For HF communications

Simulations-, Test- und Referenzumgebung für mobile Operationen »SumO«

Im Rahmen des Projekts SumO übernimmt das Fraunhofer IIS in Zusammenarbeit mit der Wehrtechnischen Dienststelle für Informationstechnologie und Elektronik WTD 81 der Bundeswehr den Konzeptentwurf, die Entwicklung spezifischer Test- und Messgeräte und die Entwicklung einer automatisierten Ablaufsteuerung für eine Simulations-, Test- und Referenzumgebung für mobile Operationen. Dabei bringt das Fraunhofer IIS Kompetenzen und Projekterfahrungen im Bereich der Modellierung und Emulation von Funkkanälen ein.

Im Projektkontext wird eine permanente, flexible Testinfrastruktur eingerichtet, die validierend und verifizierend für verschiedenste Komponenten-, Verbindungs- und Systemtests genutzt werden kann. SumO – die Simulations-, Test- und Referenzumgebung für mobile Operationen – wird dabei labor- und standortübergreifend operieren und kann bestehende Test- und Analyseeinrichtungen integrieren.

Verschiedenste Komponenten-, Verbindungs- und Systemtests vereint in einer Gesamtarchitektur

Aktuelle Informations- und Kommunikationsnetze bauen auf IP-basierter Kommunikation auf. Dabei ist es wichtig, dass diese Netze den Anwendungen eine ausreichende Verbindungsqualität liefern, also zum Beispiel Sprache mit ausreichender Verständlichkeit und ohne störende Verzögerung übertragen. Dies ist insbesondere bei heterogenen Netzwerken mit mobiler Datenübertagung eine Herausforderung, da hier häufig nur geringe Übertragungsraten mit z. T. hoher Latenz zur Verfügung stehen.

Beim Aufbau komplexer Funknetzwerke müssen deshalb alle Komponenten sorgfältig ausgewählt und aufeinander abgestimmt werden. Im Betrieb muss sichergestellt sein, dass alle Anwendungen jederzeit mit der benötigten Qualität nutzbar sind. Das ist eine komplexe Aufgabe, die je nach Anforderung des Informationsaustauschs und den technischen Randbedingungen ein diffiziles Austarieren, Konfigurieren, Parametrisieren und Anpassen des Netzes erfordert. Dafür ist eine geeignete Testumgebung nötig, die verschiedenste Komponenten-, Verbindungs- und Systemtests in einer Gesamtarchitektur vereint. Damit lässt sich die Leistungsfähigkeit und das Verhalten eines Verbundnetzes permanent prüfen und untersuchen, sodass eine optimale Konfiguration und Parametrierung leichter möglich ist.

Die im Projekt SumO entwickelte Testumgebung bietet folgende Möglichkeiten:

  • Erstellung von objektiv vergleichbaren und reproduzierbaren Testergebnissen und -reports im Rahmen der integrierten Nachweisführung in einem anerkannten und referenzierbaren Test-Framework
  • Produkt- und herstellerneutrale Systemtests zur Bestimmung der Leistungsfähigkeit von Einzelkomponenten oder Systemen in der gesamten Kommunikationskette
  • Unterstützung bei der Definition und der Entwicklung eines Kommunikationsverbundes in der Analyse- und Realisierungsphase
  • Integrations- und Interoperabilitätstests zwischen verschiedenen Systemen und Geräten, auch nach Updates und Produktverbesserungen/-anpassungen in der Nutzungsphase
  • Tests zur Integration von System-/Produktvorschlägen in den Systemverbund
  • Abnahme- und Akzeptanztests zur Feststellung der Forderungsabdeckung
  • Validierungen neuer Konfigurationen und Konfigurationsstände innerhalb des Systemverbundes
  • Fehleranalyse unter realistischen und reproduzierbaren Bedingungen über alle Ebenen eines komplexen und heterogenen Kommunikationsverbundes hinweg

Die Architektur des SumO-Software-Frameworks unterstützt bei:

Testvorbereitung

  • Graphical User Interface (GUI) für eine einfache Bedienung
  • Software-Bibliotheken zur Testablaufsteuerung und zur Ansteuerung von zu testenden Geräten (DUTs) sowie Messgeräten
  • Templates für Testfälle
  • Verifikation des Test-Setups, z. B. durch Überprüfung der Erreichbarkeit von Komponenten und Validierung der Konsistenz von Parametern

Testdurchführung

  • Automatisierte Testdurchführung
  • Definierbare Ausgaben (Testablauf, Zustände, Ergebnisse) während der Tests zur besseren Überwachung eines korrekten Testablaufs

Testauswertung

  • Automatische Berichtgenerierung
  • Archivierung der Testergebnisse einschließlich der Konfigurationen des Test-Setups, Software-Version und Log-Dateien

Insgesamt stellt SumO ein komplexes Testsystem mit großem Funktionsumfang bei einfacher Bedienbarkeit dar. Die Nutzer erhalten Zugriff auf vereinheitlichte Testverfahren und Ergebnisprotokolle. Zudem bietet das Testsystem eine hohe Transparenz bezüglich der Ergebnisse, da der Zugriff auf Log-Dateien möglich ist, die die Ergebnisse an definierbaren Mess- und Testpunkten im Setup protokollieren. So lassen sich Black-, Grey- und White-Box-Tests auch in einem sehr heterogenen Systemverbund kombinieren. Gleichzeitig fördern die einheitlichen, dokumentierten Testverfahren die Akzeptanz der Testergebnisse bei den Nutzern und Komponentenherstellern.

Mehr Informationen

Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt Test- und Messgeräte für die Echtzeit-Kanalsimulation und das Testen von SDR-Schnittstellen. Sie dienen der zuverlässigen und kostengünstigen Evaluierung von Übertragungssystemen.

 

Geräteschnittstellentester DT4610

Für OBISS-basierte SDR-Schnittstellen

 

Echtzeit-Kanalsimulator RTSIM DT4630

Für HF-Anwendungen