Tracking Solutions for Manufacturing

ORAT – Tracking in Automation

At a glance

The advent of RFID systems in automation at the start of the millennium represented a significant leap forward that benefits everything from assembly lines to just-in-time manufacturing, where production and material flows are coordinated along the supply chain.

Fraunhofer IIS is taking this innovation one step further with a technology that can be integrated into operations or supply chain management systems, thus enabling the continuous identification and tracking of manufactured goods.

Safely maintaining and servicing production systems, especially in large-scale facilities, requires the capability to locate machinery, equipment, tools or even personnel in real time. This helps avoid needless searches and wasted resources, which results in efficiently-controlled processes and the ability to identify and assess critical situations.

Based on a use case, this project will illustrate these benefits while demonstrating how easily ORAT can be integrated into the production processes.

An additional research focus of the ORAT project relates to a wireless-based positioning architecture concept that functions reliably even in difficult production environments (i.e. metal machines and shelving, metal supports on the ceilings and walls). The concept will be realized by using a flexible, hierarchic structure based on fixed and portable anchor modules and a dynamic combination of different measurement principles.

Technology

The key component of the ORAT project is the BlackFIR® 868 receiver unit, a goniometer that measures the angle of signals that are being tracked. The BlackFIR® 868 can track objects over long distances both inside and outside of complex building structures. The goods to be tracked are furnished with a positioning module, referred to as a tag, which can provide not only the ID, but also additional sensor data. A middleware platform processes the positioning and ID information and provides the control system with context-specific results. Production-relevant information is forwarded to a material control system that identifies and optimizes the product information, process handling and the routing using the local data. A major advantage of the ORAT system is the inductive charging of the positioning modules since the goniometer can be powered via an Ethernet connection.

Technical benefits:

  • Real-time tracking of machinery, equipment, tools, and if necessary, personnel in industrial environments (manufacturing, logistics)
  • Identification of spare parts, semi-finished and finished products and tools
  • Inductive battery charging integrated into the production processes
  • Quick detection of critical situations plus assessment and alarm functionality

Application

The ORAT system is especially well-suited for semiconductor manufacturing environments. The technology developed by Fraunhofer IIS can track various aspects of production such as manufactured parts and components, machines, equipment and transport systems. Decentralized and independent workflows can be implemented. In addition, the concept and the modules can be adapted to other production environments and logistics applications.

Customer benefits:

 

Flexible material flow technology and automation of all process groups and flow shops

No resource waste, costly recalls, searches or process interruptions

Fast location of objects

Self-powered identification and positioning solution

Automated process steps

Reduction in faulty processes

Less need for materials handling processes

Efficient control processes

Optimized production line processes

Improved throughput

Cost savings

 

Offer

 

The underlying positioning technology of the ORAT system is suitable for a variety of production and Industry 4.0 applications. For companies looking to easily and quickly retrofit their existing asset management systems to make them compatible with the Industry 4.0 standard, combining the Fraunhofer IIS positioning solution with existing telemetry and RFID systems represents an ideal alternative. If you are considering introducing positioning technologies for your automation, production and Industry 4.0 applications, we can help you find the right solution.

Our new, one-of-a-kind L.I.N.K. Test and Application Center provides the opportunity to replicate application-specific situations for test and demonstration purposes, especially for production and logistics environments.

Automatisierungslösungen am Fraunhofer IIS

ORAT – Ortung in der Automatisierung

Auf einen Blick

Die Einführung von RFID Systemen in der Automatisierungstechnik war Anfang des Jahrtausends ein bedeutender technischer Fortschritt – vom Förderband bis zur Just in Time Produktion, wo Produktions- und Materialfluss entlang der Lieferkette abgestimmt sind.

Das Fraunhofer IIS geht hier einen innovativen Schritt weiter.  Eine Technologie, die in den Betriebsabläufen bzw. der Lieferkette integriert ist, ermöglicht eine kontinuierliche Identifikation und Ortung der Produktionswaren.

Insbesondere für den sicheren Ablauf der Wartung und Instandhaltung großer Anlagen ist es notwendig, den Aufenthaltsort von Anlagenteilen, Werkzeugen, und ggf. auch von Personen in Echtzeit zu bestimmen. Dadurch werden Suchaktionen und Ressourcenverschwendung vermieden. Somit werden Prozesse effizient gesteuert und kritische Situationen können                                                                                                 schnell erfasst und beurteilt werden.

Auf der Basis eines konkreten beispielhaften Use Cases werden in diesem Projekt die genannten Vorteile als auch die einfache Integration in dem Betriebsablauf demonstriert.

Ein weiterer Forschungspunkt in ORAT ist das Konzept einer funkbasierten Ortungsarchitektur, die auch in einer schwierigen Produktionsumgebung (z.B. in metallischen Maschinen und Regalen, Metallträgern an der Decke und an Wänden) zuverlässig funktioniert. Dies wird anhand einer flexiblen hierarchischen Struktur realisiert, die auf festen und mobilen Ankermodulen ruht als auch auf einer dynamischen Kombination verschiedenen Messprinzipien basiert.

Technologie

Hauptkomponente im Projekt ORAT ist das BlackFIR® 868 – eine Empfangseinheit (Goniometer) zur Winkelschätzung der zu ortenden Signale. Es kann über hohe Reichweiten hinweg inner- und außerhalb von komplexen Gebäudestrukturen orten. Die zu ortenden Waren tragen ein Ortungsmodul (TAG), was über die ID hinaus auch weitere Sensordaten übermitteln kann.  Die Middleware-Plattform verarbeitet Orts- und ID-Information weiter und stellt den Leitsystemen kontextspezifische Ereignisse zur Verfügung. Die für den Produktionsbetrieb relevanten Daten werden an ein MCS (Material Control System) weitergegeben, das mit Hilfe der lokalen Daten das Routing, die Produktinformation und das Prozesshandling ermittelt und optimiert. Ein großer Vorteil im Projekt ORAT ist die induktive Ladung der Ortungsmodule. Die Goniometer können über Power over Ethernet versorgt werden.

Technische Vorzüge:

Anwendung

Vor allem in der Halbleiterfertigung findet das Projekt ORAT Anwendung.  Durch die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte Technologie können Teile in der Produktion wie beispielsweise Werkstücke, Maschinen, Anlagen und Transportsysteme rückverfolgt werden. Sie können den Arbeitsablauf dezentral und selbstständig ausführen. Des Weiteren sind das Konzept und die Module adaptierbar auf weitere Produktionsgebiete und finden in der Logistik Anwendung.

Kundennutzen

  • Flexibilität der Materialflusstechnik und Automatisierung aller Gruppen und Fließreihen
  • Vermeidung von Ressourcenverschwendung, teuren Rückrufaktionen, Suchaktionen und Prozessunterbrechung
  • Beschleunigtes Auffinden von Objekten
  • Energieautarke Identifikations- und Ortungslösung
  • Automatisierung von Prozessschritten
  • Verminderung der Fehlprozessierung
  • Reduzierung von Handlingsprozessen
  • Effiziente Steuerung von Prozessen
  • Optimierung von Prozessen in der Linienstruktur
  • Steigerung des Durchsatzes
  • Kostenersparnis

Angebot

Unsere Lokalisierungstechnologie im Projekt ORAT ist in vielen Anwendungen in Produktion und Industrie 4.0  effektiv einsetzbar. Eine Kombination der Ortungslösung des Fraunhofer IIS mit möglichen vorhandenen Telemetrie- und RFID-Systemen bietet die Möglichkeit, einfach und zeiteffektiv vorhandene Asset Management Systeme auf Industrie 4.0 Standard umzurüsten. Unser Institut berät Sie gerne bei der Einführung von Ortungstechnologien im Bereich Automatisierung, Produktion und Industrie 4.0.

In unserem neuen, weltweit einzigartigen Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K. ist es möglich, sehr anwendungsnah Situationen zu Test- und Demonstrationszwecken im Speziellen für Produktion und Logistik nachzubilden.