mioty®

The Wireless IoT Technology

mioty® – The Wireless IoT Technology

At a glance

© Fraunhofer IIS/ Kurt Fuchs
Miniaturised Sensor-Units

Wireless data transmission systems are being increasingly deployed in industrial and home automation applications. These robust systems are used to transmit sensor data and control information across network infrastructures. In the age of the Internet of Things (IoT), people and things will be intelligently connected to one another, leading to innovations in business and Industry 4.0.

mioty®, a miniaturized IoT system developed by Fraunhofer IIS, sets new standards in the field of wireless data transmission when it comes to cost efficiency, transmission range, transmission security and battery life.

This solution relies on an asymmetrical transmission method that uses scores of simple sensor nodes and a complex receiver.

A single receiver can handle a large number of simultaneous and robust transmissions. mioty® boasts a transmission range of up to 15 kilometers and the energy-efficient operation results in a battery life of up to 20 years.

Offer

Thanks to our extensive experience in the development of RF circuits and antenna designs, we are able to offer in-depth know-how in the field of wireless transmission. Furthermore, our telemetry LPWAN technology can be adapted to your requirements. mioty® is suitable for use with your own network for IoT applications. If you have special requirements such as long transmission ranges, robust and reliable transmission or energy-efficient operation, as your competent partner Fraunhofer IIS is well positioned to help you develop the right telemetry system to address your needs.

Turn your ideas into reality with individual solutions from Fraunhofer IIS.

Evaluation Kit
 

mioty®-Alliance

Fraunhofer IIS is a founding member of the mioty®-Alliance. Interested companies are given access to relevant component and software suppliers and end customers. The perfect one-stop shop for mioty®-users and interested parties.

 

mioty®-Licenses

The joint patent licensing platform with Sisvel International S.A. provides access to mioty® patents of Fraunhofer IIS and Diehl Metering GmbH. Interested partners can easily obtain the appropriate mioty® patent license.

Technical description

mioty® uses an efficient channel encoding scheme that increases its range by a factor of 10 over standard 868 MHz wireless systems. Because it generates little self-interference, the system can support up to one million simultaneous transmitters. The transmitters are based on commercially-available chips from manufactures such as Texas Instruments and feature a compact design and extended battery operation (up to 20 years). The receivers, which are equipped with digital signal processors, have a flexible design that allows them to be adapted to specific customer applications. They can be used with either stationary or mobile applications and can be optimized for both environments. mioty® is furthermore resistant to interference within its own frequency band, consumes minimal energy and saves battery power.

 

Technical details

 

  • Up to one million sensors
  • Battery life of up to 20 years
  • 15 km transmission range in flat terrain and 5 km in urban centers
 

HF-Frontends for LPWAN-base stations

Reference platform for a powerful, interference-resistant and flexible HF front-end.

 

Maintenance free mioty®-LPWAN with energy harvesting

Sensors with batteries are now a thing of the past. The combination of our Energy Harvesting- and mioty-technologies enables energy-efficient and maintenance-free operation of sensors.

Application

mioty® can be deployed for a wide range of applications. The technology is suitable for monitoring large technical systems or difficult-to-access areas and can serve as the underlying transmission infrastructure for applications such as switching statuses, machine-to machine (M2M) communication, smart meters (remote meter readings and remote consumer control) and other systems. Even sports and security applications require data transmission involving numerous sensors. Wireless data transmission data sensors from Fraunhofer IIS can be used to send vital signs data from athletes or first responders. In addition, sensors for capturing ambient information such as humidity, motion, light, temperature or pressure can be integrated into the mioty® technology to support specific applications.

With its broad utility and special technical features, mioty® serves as the foundation for developing Industry 4.0 and IoT applications at Fraunhofer IIS.

 

mioty® for the urban leisure sector

transmission of location data to visualize and analyze various bike routes

 

mioty® in natural gas and oil production

Efficient digital remote monitoring of wells according to legal requirements

 

mioty® in automotive production

Efficient digital monitoring of air pressure, temperature and humidity in production areas to improve production conditions for man and machine.

 

mioty® – ensuring safety in mines

Continuous assessment and transmission of air quality and ventilation data throughout the mine.

 

mioty® for cold chain monitoring

Closely meshed monitoring of the environmental conditions to ensure high quality in the storage of lebkuchen.

mioty®

Die drahtlose IoT-Technologie

mioty® – Drahtlose LPWAN Technologie

Auf einen Blick

© Fraunhofer IIS/ Kurt Fuchs
Miniaturisierte Sendeeinheiten

Robuste Funksysteme werden zur Übertragung von Sensordaten und Steuerinformationen in Netzwerkstrukturen verwendet. In Zeiten von Internet of Things (IoT) werden Personen und Dinge intelligent miteinander vernetzt und führen somit zu Innovationen im Bereich Industrie 4.0 und Smart City.

Das vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte miniaturisierte IoT-Sensornetzwerk (mioty®) setzt hierbei neue Maßstäbe im Bereich der drahtlosen Datenübertragung hinsichtlich Kosteneffizienz, Reichweite, Übertragungssicherheit und Batterielebensdauer.

Der Lösungsansatz ist ein asymmetrisches Übertragungsverfahren mit vielen einfachen Sensorknoten sowie einem komplexen Empfänger.

Die robuste Datenübertragung von rund einer Million Sendern kann mit nur einem Empfänger sichergestellt werden. mioty® erzielt Reichweiten von bis zu 15 km und zeichnet sich durch seine Energieeffizienz mit Batterielebenszeiten von bis zu 20 Jahren aus.


Hinweis: Mit dem Starten des Videos werden Daten an youtube übertragen.

Angebot

Pilotprojekte - Lizenzierung - Integration

Evaluation Kit

Durch unsere langjährige Erfahrung in der Entwicklung von Hochfrequenzschaltungen und im Antennendesign bieten wir tiefgehendes Know-how im Bereich der Funkübertragung. Das Fraunhofer IIS liefert für Ihr eigenes Anwendungsfeld ETSI-standardkonforme Software-Lösungen.

Für Gateway- und Endpointhersteller bieten wir Nutzungs-Lizenzierungen unser Telemetrietechnologie. Unsere Evaluation Kits eignen sich besonders für Pilotprojekte. mioty® kann auch für ihr eigenes Netzwerk im Bereich IoT verwendet werden. Mit unserem F&E-Wissen unterstützen wir Sie bei der Integration und der Anpassung an Ihre individuellen Anforderungen.

 

 

mioty®-Alliance

Das Fraunhofer IIS ist Gründungsmitglied der mioty®-Alliance. Interessierte Unternehmen erhalten Zugang zu relevanten Bauteil- und Softwareanbietern sowie Endkunden. Der perfekte One-Stop-Shop für mioty-Nutzer und -Interessenten.

 

 

mioty®-Lizensierungen

Die gemeinsame Patentlizensierungsplattform mit Sisvel International S.A. bietet Zugang zu mioty®-Patenten des Fraunhofer IIS und der Diehl Metering GmbH. Interessierte Partner können einfach die passende mioty®-Patentlizenz erhalten.

Technische Beschreibung

Durch die effiziente Kanalcodierung erhöht sich die Reichweite von mioty® gegenüber Standard-Funksystemen bei 868 MHz um bis zu Faktor 10. Die geringe Eigenstörung ermöglicht dem System bis zu 1 Millionen Sender gleichzeitig zu empfangen. Die Sender basieren auf kostengünstigen kommerziellen Funkchips von beispielsweise Texas Instruments und besitzen eine geringe Baugröße sowie lange Laufzeiten im Batteriebetrieb (bis zu 20 Jahre). Die Empfänger sind mit digitalen Signalprozessoren ausgestattet und durch ihr flexibles Design auch an spezielle Kundenwünsche anpassbar. Sie können sowohl stationär als auch mobil eingesetzt werden und sind zudem für beide Anwendungen optimierbar. Des Weiteren ist mioty® störresistent gegenüber Störern im Band, energiearm und batteriesparend.

 

Technische Details

  • Reichweite von bis zu 15 km auf Ebenen,
    5 km Reichweite im Stadtumfeld
  • Batterielebensdauer von bis zu 20 Jahren
  • Vielzahl an drahtlos vernetzten
    Sendern möglich
  • Hohe Nachrichtenzahl möglich
 

HF-Frontends für LPWAN-Basisstationen

Referenzplattform für ein leistungsstarkes, störresistentes und flexibles HF-Frontend

 

Wartungsfreies mioty®-LPWAN durch Energy Harvesting

Batterien gehören bei Sensoren der Vergangenheit an. Durch die Kombination unserer Technologien Energy Harvesting und mioty® wird ein energieeffizienter und wartungsfreier Betrieb von Sensoren ermöglicht.

Anwendungsbereiche

Die Anwendungsbereiche von mioty® sind vielfältig. Mit der Technologie kann die Überwachung von großen technischen Anlagen oder schwer zugänglichen Bereichen sichergestellt werden. So können beispielsweise Schaltzustände übertragen werden, Maschinen miteinander kommunizieren (M2M-Kommunikation) oder eine drahtlose Zählerfernauslese und Verbrauchersteuerung bei Smart Metering-Anwendungen erfolgen (industrial IoT). Auch im Sport oder im Sicherheitsbereich ist eine Datenübertragung von vielen Sensoren nötig. So können, mit Hilfe der drahtlosen Datenübertragung des Fraunhofer IIS, Vitaldaten von Sportlern oder Einsatzkräften wie Feuerwehr oder Rettungsdienst übertragen werden. Sensoren zur Erfassung von beispielsweise Feuchtigkeit, Bewegung, Licht, Temperatur oder Druck können anwendungsspezifisch in mioty® integriert werden.

mioty® ist aufgrund seiner breit gefächerten Einsatzmöglichkeiten sowie seiner technischen Besonderheiten die Grundlage für Anwendungsentwicklungen im Bereich Industrie 4.0 und Internet der Dinge am Fraunhofer IIS.

 

 

Anwendung in der Industrie 4.0

 

Fertigung

Predictive Maintenance 

Zustandsüberwachung (Schaltzustände

Vorausschauende Instandhaltung)

Smart Metering (Zählerfernauslese oder Verbrauchersteuerung)

M2M-Kommunikation

Arbeitssicherheit

 

 

mioty® in den Produktionsstätten von BMW

Effiziente Überwachung von Luftdruck, Temperatur und Luftfeuchtigkeit in den Produktionsbereichen, um die Produktionsbedingungen für Mensch und Maschine zu verbessern.

 

mioty® in der Erdgas- und Erdölförderung

Effiziente digitale Fernüberwachung von Bohrungen nach gesetzlichen Auflagen.

 

mioty® zur Gewährleistung der Sicherheit in Minen

Permanente Erfassung und Übertragung der Luftqualität und Ventilation in der gesamten Mine.

Anwendung im Smart City Bereich

 

Arbeitssicherheit

Umweltüberwachung

Gebäudeautomation und -überwachung      

Parkplatzüberwachung 

Smart Metering

 

mioty® im urbanen Freizeitbereich

Übertragung von Standortdaten zum Visualisieren und Analysieren verschiedener Fahrrad-Routen eines Alleycats.

Weitere Anwendungsbereiche

 

Chemiebranche

Kritische Infrastrukturüberwachung: Smart Grid, Bergbau, Öl und Gas

Facility Management

Smart Building

Logistik

Sport

Automotive

 

Mehr Informationen

Flyer