IoT for cold chain monitoring

© pusteflower9024 - stock.adobe.com

An assured quality standard is an absolute necessity in the food industry. Permanent monitoring of environmental conditions plays a major role in quality assurance because even small deviations could result in faster deterioration of goods and loss of sales.

Initial situation:

As a producer of lebkuchen, a gingerbread specialty from Nuremberg, Witte Spezialitäten faces the challenge of generating all its sales within the limited period around Christmas. This is backed by a high quality claim. To produce the goods in an economically viable way and then sell them, it is important to keep waste low.

A significant factor in this is the closely meshed monitoring of the environmental conditions and reliable coverage of large halls and rooms. Influencing factors, such as temperature and humidity changes, must be detected and analyzed quickly.

 

Solution: 

To transmit environmental data quickly and precisely and to read it, PixelMechanics had sensors equipped with mioty® technology installed in the large warehouses and retail outlets for Witte Spezialitäten. The hardware for this was provided by the project partner BehrTech.

For this, one mioty® base station and various sensors were installed at each Witte Spezialitäten location. Installation and configuration were completed within one day.

The sensors acquire both the temperature and moisture data, transferring the data every 75 seconds via the mioty® network to the PixelMechanics IoT platform. The data are then visualized on a user-friendly dashboard as knowledge that can be used to take action. Warning messages are also output immediately if values deviate from the optimum range.

 

Benefits:

The knowledge gained enables analysis of the influencing factors such as opening/closing doors, volume of shoppers, or heating intervals in real time so that proactive decisions can be made. That improves cold chain monitoring and control and, if all goes well, it reduces costs and increases quality.

A further step may be to network production to enable cost-reducing and quality-boosting measures to be taken. Since mioty® is highly scalable and simple to integrate into the existing infrastructure, there is nothing standing in the way of further industrial IoT cases, including condition-based applications, smart monitoring, and predictive maintenance.

René Dünkler

Contact Press / Media

René Dünkler

Technology Marketing

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nürnberg, Germany

Phone +49 911 58061-3203

Fax +49 911 58061-3299

IoT zur Kühlkettenüberwachung

Ein gesicherter Qualitätsstandard ist in der Lebensmittelindustrie unumgänglich. Die permanente Überwachung der Umgebungsverhältnisse spielt für die Qualitätssicherung eine große Rolle, da selbst kleine Abweichungen zu schnellerem Verderben der Ware, und somit Umsatzverlust führen können.

Ausgangssituation:

Witte Spezialitäten steht als Lebkuchenproduzent vor der Herausforderung in einem begrenzten Zeitraum Umsatz zu generieren. Darüber steht ein hoher Qualitätsanspruch. Um ökonomisch sinnvoll zu produzieren und schließlich zu verkaufen ist es wichtig, die Ausschusszahlen gering zu halten.

Ein bedeutender Faktor dafür ist die engmaschige Überwachung der Umgebungsverhältnisse und zuverlässige Abdeckung großer Hallen und Räume. Einflussfaktoren, wie Temperatur- oder Feuchtigkeitsänderungen, sollen schnell erkannt und analysiert werden.

 

Lösung:

Um die Umgebungsdaten schnell und exakt zu übertragen und zu auszulesen ließ PixelMechanics für Witte Spezialitäten in den großen Lager- und Verkaufsräumen mit mioty®-Technologie ausgestattete Sensoren installieren. Die Hardware hierfür wurde vom Projektpartner BehrTech zur Verfügung gestellt.

Dafür wurde je eine mioty®-Basisstation und verschiedene Sensoren an jedem Standort bei Witte Spezialitäten installiert. Die Installation und Konfiguration erfolgte innerhalb eines Tages.

Die Sensoren erfassen sowohl Temperatur- als auch Feuchtigkeitsdaten und übertragen die Daten alle 75 Sekunden über das mioty®-Netzwerk an die PixelMechanics IoT-Plattform. Die Daten werden dann als umsetzbare Erkenntnisse auf einem benutzerfreundlichen Dashboard visualisiert. Außerdem werden unverzüglich Warnmeldungen ausgegeben, wenn Werte vom optimalen Bereich abweichen.

 

Nutzen:

Die gewonnenen Erkenntnisse ermöglichen es, die Einflussfaktoren wie das Öffnen/Schließen von Türen, Einkaufsverkehr oder Heizintervalle in Echtzeit zu analysieren und daraufhin proaktive Entscheidungen zu treffen. Das ermöglicht eine noch bessere Kühlkettenüberwachung und –steuerung. Dies führt im Optimalfall zu Kostenreduktion, sowie Qualitätssteigerungen.
Ein weiterer Schritt kann die Vernetzung der Produktion sein, um kostenreduzierende und qualitätssteigernde Maßnahmen zu treffen. Da mioty® hoch skalierbar und einfach in die bestehende Infrastruktur zu integrieren ist, ist der Weg in Richtung weiterer industrieller IoT-Cases, einschließlich zustandsbasierter Anwendungen, smarter Überwachung und Predicitve Maintenance geebnet.

René Dünkler

Contact Press / Media

René Dünkler

Kontakt Lokalisierung

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nürnberg

Telefon +49 911 58061-3203

Fax +49 911 58061-3299