IoT in automotive production

© Nataliya Hora, Fotolia

In large and tightly timed production plants, such as the BMW plant in Dingolfing, Germany, delays and failures at one point often lead to further problems along the entire production chain. Because of the high costs this entails, it is necessary to monitor the entire production plant as widely as possible.

To do so, being able to rapidly detect external influences such as weather changes is very helpful. Sensors and our wireless transmission technology mioty® make it possible to record environmental parameters and recognize malfunctions early on. The data is read and analyzed directly, which enables quick action.

Initial situation

The BMW plant in Dingolfing covers several hundred square meters. The company wanted to monitor an entire production area in an energy-efficient and stable way to find solutions for any problems that occurred. Such issues included finding the reasons for expansion/contraction of gases, liquids or rubber, as well as determining if the environment was having an impact on employee exhaustion and problems with machines. First, BMW turned to PLC data for answers. However, because the data yielded enormous amounts of information and a meaningful evaluation of some parameters was not possible, the company sought out another method. They specifically looked for one that also offered long-term stability and large ranges with low power consumption.

 

Solution

In the Dingolfing plant, BMW measured temperature, humidity and air pressure over a long period of time using mioty® as the transmission technology.

The production plant houses various machines with many metal parts, contains numerous metallic obstacles and is surrounded by (reinforced) concrete. Mioty® is ideal for these difficult environmental conditions, because it can penetrate to great depths while remaining extremely robust against external and intrinsic interference. Setting it up and installing it in the existing infrastructure was also pleasantly uncomplicated.

 

Benefits

Comparing the air pressure, humidity and temperature data with disruptive events on the machines showed a correlation between an increased number of errors and low humidity as well as between an increased number of errors and sudden changes in air pressure. The highest correlation was seen in the number of errors with low humidity in combination with low temperature.

The analysis also revealed that environmental data for the outdoor area was sometimes more important than environmental data inside the buildings.

 

Thanks to the results generated by mioty®, BMW was able to take steps to improve the production environment. Furthermore, mioty®’s high scalability means that additional sensors can be easily integrated and more measurements can be included in the search for solutions. The outcome? Higher productivity, lower costs.

René Dünkler

Contact Press / Media

René Dünkler

Contact Positioning

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nürnberg, Germany

Phone +49 911 58061-3203

Fax +49 911 58061-3299

IoT in der Automobil-Produktion

© Nataliya Hora, Fotolia

In großen und zeitlich eng getakteten Produktionsanlagen, wie dem BMW-Werk in Dingolfing, führen Verzögerungen und Ausfälle an einer Stelle der Produktion häufig zu weiteren Problemen in der gesamten Herstellungskette. Da dies hohe Kosten mit sich bringt, ist es notwendig, die gesamte Produktionsanlage möglichst weitreichend zu überwachen.

Eine schnelle Erkennung von externen Faktoren wie Wetterumschwüngen ist hierbei sehr hilfreich: Mit Hilfe von Sensoren und der drahtlosen Übertragungstechnologie mioty® werden Umgebungsparameter erfasst und somit Störungen frühzeitig erkannt. Die Daten werden direkt ausgelesen und analysiert, was ein schnelles Handeln ermöglicht.

Ausgangssituation

Das BMW-Werk in Dingolfing erstreckt sich über mehrere hundert Quadratmeter. Ziel war es, einen ganzen Produktionsbereich energieeffizient und stabil abzudecken, um mögliche Lösungen für auftretende Probleme zu finden. Dies waren beispielsweise Ursachen für die Expansion/Kontraktion von Gasen, Flüssigkeiten oder Gummi sowie der mögliche Einfluss der Umwelt auf die Erschöpfung von Mitarbeitern und Problemen an Maschinen. Zuerst wurden SPS-Daten zur Hilfe genommen. Da diese enorme Mengen an Informationen umfassten und einige Parameter nicht sinnvoll auszuwerten waren, wurde eine andere Methode gesucht. Diese Methode sollte zudem Langzeitstabilität und große Reichweiten bei geringem Stromverbrauch bieten.

 

Lösung

Im BMW-Werk wurden schließlich über einen längeren Zeitraum Temperatur, Luftfeuchtigkeit sowie Luftdruck mithilfe von mioty® als Übertragungstechnologie gemessen.

Die Produktionsanlage führt diverse Maschinen mit vielen Metallteilen und besteht aus zahlreichen metallischen Hindernissen und ist umgeben von (Stahl-)Beton. Für diese schwierigen Umgebungsverhältnisse eignet sich mioty® ausgezeichnet, da es eine große Tiefendurchdringung und zugleich extrem robust gegen Fremd- und Eigenstörung ist. Auch der Aufbau und die Installation in der vorhandenen Infrastruktur gestalteten sich unproblematisch.

 

Nutzen

Die Auswertungen der Ergebnisse von Luftdruck, -feuchtigkeit sowie -temperatur im Vergleich zu Störereignissen der Maschinen ergaben eine Korrelation von erhöhter Fehleranzahl und niedriger Luftfeuchtigkeit sowie erhöhter Fehlerzahl und sprunghaftem Luftdruckänderungen. Am höchsten korreliert hat die Fehleranzahl mit niedriger Luftfeuchtigkeit in Verbindung mit niedriger Temperatur.

Außerdem wurde herausgefunden, dass Umgebungsdaten für den Außenbereich teilweise wichtiger waren, als Umgebungsdaten innerhalb der Gebäude.

 

Anhand dieser durch mioty® sehr einfach generierten Ergebnisse konnten Möglichkeiten zur Verbesserung der Produktionsumgebung umgesetzt werden. Überdies können durch die hohe Skalierbarkeit von mioty® unkompliziert weitere Sensoren eingebunden und damit zusätzliche Messungen in die Lösungsfindung eingezogen werden. Somit wird die Produktivität gesteigert und die Kosten werden gesenkt.

Kontakt

René Dünkler

Contact Press / Media

René Dünkler

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nürnberg

Telefon +49 911 58061-3203

Fax +49 911 58061-3299