Indoor Positioning: easy - safe - accurate!

awiloc® Indoor Positioning, Tracking and Navigation

 

Whether at work or at leisure, people are more mobile today than ever before. At the same time, production and processes in the industrial environment are increasingly digitized and mobile in the course of industry 4.0. This means that real-time position information for location-based services (LBS) is gaining in importance. However, common localization technologies, such as GPS systems, are reaching their limits, especially in buildings or industrial sites, as the satellite signal is easily shielded. To ensure that localization does not end at the building door, an Indoor Positioning System (IPS) must resort to other localization methods.

 

awiloc - autarke Indoor Positioning

Fraunhofer IIS offers with awiloc® a positioning software solution specially developed for indoor localization. awiloc® does not require its own signal network because it uses the characteristic field strength distribution of existing radio networks (e.g. WLAN or BLE). Based on field strength measurements (fingerprinting), the Fraunhofer IIS solution enables mobile devices to determine their position independently. Seamless localization achieves an accuracy of a few meters and is thus a perfect complement to the established satellite-based Global Positioning System (GPS).

The characteristic signal strength distribution of existing wireless networks, such as WLAN stations or Bluetooth beacons, awiloc® serves as the basis for the position calculation according to the so-called fingerprinting method. Each position has a unique "fingerprint" that serves as the basis for localization. On the mobile device, the position is autarkic calculated down to a few meters by matching the signal strength distribution at the current position with the stored "fingerprints" on a virtual map.

 

The advantages of awiloc® technology at a glace:

 

Continunous positioning

Positioning in buildings as well as entire inner cities and plant areas possible.

Use of standard infrastructure

Recognition of standard WLAN or BLE stations, also works without intervention in the IT landscape.

Context-conscious positioning

allows determination of logical positions e.g. in multi-story buildings, as well as floor, room.

Cost-efficient

awiloc® does not require expensive or complex hardware and is suitable for temorary installations.

 

Neither communication with the existing radio networks nor with a server takes place. Personal data is not collected or processed by awiloc®. An own infrastructure is not required, because existing radio networks can be used. An installation is therefore not only simple, but also efficient. awiloc® runs on popular smartphones, tablets and wearables and supports both Android and iOS.

In coordination with the supervisory authorities responsible for data protection, awiloc® technology was developed with special emphasis on compliance with legal requirements. This enables a broad and simple use for location-dependent applications.

 

Possibilities of applications with awiloc®

In buildings or indoor and outdoor combined, awiloc technology creates interesting applications that rely on knowledge of one's own position or that of another person or object. An industry- and environment-oriented adaptation of our solution is possible through various algorithms and configurations. The location information can be the basis for any location and context dependent application, such as:

  • Industrial applications (e.g., forklift tracking, passenger tracking systems)
  • Indoor & Outdoor navigation systems (e.g., museum guidance systems, navigation in public transport)
  • Location-based services (e.g., location-based services, LBS)
 

Museum & Fairs

 

Multimedia guides with awiloc® positioning give museum visits a new quality. They offer visitors additional content exactly where they want it - in the right location, multi-layered and convenient.

 

 

Industry 4.0

Especially in the industrial environment, production and processes are increasingly digitized and mobile in the course of industry 4.0. Real-time position information for location-based services (LBS) thus provides the basis for the implementation of location-based applications. With the awiloc® localization technology, these requirements can also be realized in the indoor area.

 

 

Smart City

 

With the awiloc® technology, the location in inner cities can be improved. Because the traditional GPS tracking system works poorly or not at all in densely populated city centers and in buildings, WLAN localization is a perfect complement to the established, satellite-based GPS.

Join the awiloc® alliance

 

awiloc® alliance

Fraunhofer IIS offers with its awiloc® alliance since 2008 the possibility for manufacturers, users and research institutions to join forces to realize innovative localization and navigation solutions in cities, buildings and industrial areas.

JOIN US!

 

Locadis®

Precise positioning for IoT networks

Locadis® is a field strength-based localization technology for cellular communication networks. The patent-protected process is used as a software-based solution in many environments.

Events

Meet us at the following events to experience the awiloc® technology live:

embedded world February 25-27, 2020

Hanover Fair 20 - 24 April 2020

We are happy to put your ideas into practice and, if necessary, adapt the system to your requirements. Realize your individual ideas with awiloc localization by Fraunhofer IIS. Interested? Please feel free to contact us!

Indoor Ortung: einfach - sicher - genau!

awiloc® Indoor Lokalisierung, Tracking und Navigation

Egal ob im Berufsalltag oder in der Freizeit, Menschen sind heute mobiler denn je. Zeitgleich werden im industriellen Umfeld Produktion und Prozesse im Zuge der Industrie 4.0 zunehmend digitalisiert und mobil. Damit gewinnen Echtzeitpositionsinformationen für Location-base Services (LBS) an Bedeutung. Gängige Lokalisierungstechnologien, wie GPS-Systeme, stoßen jedoch insbesondere in Gebäuden oder Industriegeländen, an ihre Grenzen, da das Satellitensignal leicht abgeschirmt wird. Damit die Lokalisierung nicht an der Gebäudetür endet, muss ein Indoor Positioning System (IPS) auf andere Ortungsmethoden zurückgreifen.
 

awiloc - autarke Indoor Lokalisierung

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet daher mit awiloc® eine Lokalisierungs-Softwarelösung, die speziell für die Indoor-Lokalisierung entwickelt ist. awiloc® benötigt kein eigenes Signalnetz, da sie die charakteristische Feldstärkenverteilung vorhandener Funknetzwerke nutzt (z.B. WLAN oder BLE). Auf Basis von Feldstärkemessungen (Fingerprinting) können mobile Endgeräte mit der Lösung des Fraunhofer IIS ihre Position selbstständig bestimmen. Die nahtlose Lokalisierung erreicht dabei eine Genauigkeit von wenigen Metern und stellt somit eine perfekte Ergänzung zum etablierten, satellitengestützten Global Positioning System (GPS) dar.

Die charakteristische Signalstärkenverteilung von vorhandenen Funknetzen, wie WLAN-Stationen oder Bluetooth Beacons, dient awiloc® als Basis für die Positionsberechnung nach dem sogenannten Fingerprinting-Verfahren. Für jede Position existiert ein einzigartiger »Fingerabdruck«, der als Basis für die Lokalisierung dient. Auf dem mobilen Endgerät wird bis auf wenige Meter genau die Position autark berechnet, indem die Signalstärkenverteilung an der aktuellen Position mit den hinterlegten »Fingerabdrücken« auf einer virtuellen Karte abgeglichen wird.  

 

Die Vorteile der awiloc®-Technologie auf einen Blick:

 

Kontinuierliche Positionierung

Lokalisierung in Gebäuden sowie gesamten Innenstädten und Werksarealen möglich.

Nutzung einer Standard-Infrastruktur

Erkennung von Standard-WLAN- oder BLE-Stationen, funktioniert auch ohne Eingriffe in die IT-Landschaft.

Kontextbewusste Lokalisierung

erlaubt Bestimmung logischer Positionen z. B. in mehrstöckigen Gebäuden, sowie Etage, Raum.

Kosteneffizient

awiloc® benötigt keine kostspielige oder komplexe Hardware und ist für temporäre Aufbauten geeignet.

 

Es findet weder eine Kommunikation mit den vorhandenen Funknetzen noch mit einem Server statt. Personenbezogene Daten werden von awiloc® nicht erfasst oder verarbeitet. Eine eigene Infrastruktur wird nicht benötigt, da vorhandene Funknetze verwendet werden können. Eine Installation ist somit nicht nur einfach, sondern auch effizient.awiloc® läuft auf gängigen Smartphones, Tablets und Wearables und unterstützt sowohl Android als auch iOS.

In Abstimmung mit den für Datenschutz zuständigen Aufsichtsbehörden wurde bei der Entwicklung der awiloc®-Technologie besonderer Wert auf die Einhaltung rechtlicher Vorgaben gelegt. Damit ist ein breiter und einfacher Einsatz für ortsabhängige Anwendungen möglich.

 
 

Möglichkeiten der Anwendungen mit awiloc®

In Gebäuden oder im kombinierten Innen- und Außenbereich ergeben sich durch die awiloc-Technologie interessante Anwendungen, die sich auf die Kenntnis der eigenen Position oder der eines anderen Menschen oder Objekts stützen. Eine branchen- und umgebungsorientierte Anpassung unserer Lösung ist durch verschiedene Algorithmen und Konfigurationen möglich. Grundsätzlich können die Ortsinformationen die Basis für jegliche orts- und kontextabhängige Anwendung sein, wie etwa:

  • Industrieanwendungen (z.B. Gabelstaplerortung, Personenortungssysteme)
  • Navigationsysteme Indoor & Outdoor (z.B. Museumleitsysteme, Navigation im ÖPNV)
  • Standortbezogene Dienste (z.B. Location-based Services, LBS)

 

Museum & Messen

Multimedia-Guides mit der awiloc® Lokalisierung geben Museumsbesuchen eine neue Qualität. Sie bieten dem Besucher genau dort Zusatzinhalte, wo er sie sich wünscht – standortgenau, vielschichtig und komfortabel.

 

Industrie 4.0

Besonders im industriellen Umfeld werden Produktion und Prozesse im Zuge der Industrie 4.0 zunehmend digitalisiert und mobil. Damit bieten Echtzeitpositionsinformationen für Location-based Services (LBS) die Grundlage für die Realisierung von ortsbezogenen Anwendungen. Mit der awiloc® Lokalisierungstechnologie lassen sich diese Anforderungen auch im Indoor-Bereich realisieren.

 

Smart City

Mit der awiloc®-Technologie lässt sich die Ortung in Innenstädten verbessern. Da das herkömmliche System der GPS-Ortung in dicht bebauten Innenstädten und in Gebäuden schlecht bis gar nicht funktioniert, stellt  die WLAN-Lokalisierung eine perfekte Ergänzung zum etablierten, satellitengestützten GPS dar.

Join the awiloc® alliance

 

awiloc® alliance

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet mit seiner awiloc® alliance seit 2008 für Hersteller, Anwender und Forschungseinrichtungen die Möglichkeit sich zusammenzuschließen, um innovative Lokalisierungs- und Navigationslösungen in Städten, Gebäuden und Industriegeländen zu realisieren.

JOIN US!

 

awiloc® Indoor Lokalisierung

Flyer

Events

Treffen Sie uns auf folgenden Veranstaltungen, um die awiloc® Technologie live zu erleben:

embedded world 25.-27. Februar 2020

Hannover Messe 20.- 24. April 2020

Gerne bringen wir Ihre Ideen in die Anwendung und stimmen bei Bedarf das System auf Ihre Anforderungen ab. Realisieren Sie Ihre individuellen Ideen mit der awiloc Lokalisierung des Fraunhofer IIS. Interesse? Kontaktieren Sie uns gerne!