Integration of RFID-Tags in various materials

RFID Tag on Metal

At a glance

The RFID tags for applications on metal developed by Fraunhofer IIS allow data to be written to and read from chips in environments that are unfavorable for radio communication. The design and technology of the compact RFID transponders are particularly insensitive to radio interference resulting from scattering and reflection effects produced by metallic objects.

In principle, RFID offers a level of flexibility that cannot be guaranteed by other forms of labeling in logistics. Not only is it possible to detect several hundred transponders simultaneously without the need for visual contact, RFID tags are rewriteable, meaning they can remain on the object and be used continuously.

The antenna design of the RFID tags combines low size and weight, robustness and reliable range on metallic substrates. Manufacturing and distribution are handled by the company HARTING Electric GmbH & Co KG.

Technical description

RFID Tags on Metal are adapted for environments that are unfavorable for radio communication
RFID-Tag on metal

The RFID tag for applications on metal satisfies for the first time all requirements across the entire storage and transport chain to ensure reliable and, above all, economically feasible data transmission. At just 41 x 11 x 5 mm, the transponder can carry 512 bits of identification and additional information that is protected against chemical influences.

On metal, the passive UHF transponder permits communication ranges of 3 to 5 m in narrowband and up to 1 to 2 m in broadband applications. However, the usable frequency spectrum differs in Europe and the USA, and the respective ranges determine which and how many frequency bands the sensors are designed for. With broadband UHF tags the size of a type plate, ranges of over 2.5 m have been achieved both for European and American standards. Narrow-band transponders that are designed only for a single national standard can make achieve up to twice the range. Fraunhofer IIS therefore offers RFID transponders with the best range/volume ratio in the world.

Application

There are many possible applications for RFID technology on or in metallic environments. For example, production processes can be documented on electronic labels, with updating of the transponders at every production step. This allows seamless tracking of goods in logistics, precise recording of the production path taken by parts and protection against knock-offs thanks to unique identification. Internationally applicable standards also ensure the long-term, manufacturer-independent and, above all, inexpensive availability of our technology.

A concrete application of the RFID technology has already been implemented by Lufthansa Technik Logistik in cooperation with Fraunhofer IIS on a project for permanent labeling of replacement parts. The goal was to establish Lufthansa Technik Logistik as an industry benchmark in the field of permanent parts marking and to advance the RFID technology such that logistics and maintenance processes at the global level could be supported. Working together with HARTING Technologie, the project group achieved a critical breakthrough in April 2010, when RFID tags satisfying the strict requirements of aviation were installed across the entire spectrum of aircraft replacement parts. These now deliver reliable data over the entire service life of the replacement parts.

Offer

RFID at Fraunhofer IIS

The distribution partner and manufacturer of the passive RFID transponders for applications on metal is HARTING Electric GmbH & Co KG. In addition to this already existing product, Fraunhofer IIS can develop a product based on your individual needs. Take advantage of our full offering or select individual services:

  • RFID evaluation: We offer you precise analysis of the technical feasibility in advance. Fraunhofer IIS evaluates existing RFID systems with regard to their reliability and performance or develops entirely new solutions, if desired.
  • Cost-benefit analyses: We determine which solution is not only technically but also economically right for you.
  • Risk analysis: In addition to the right technology and high efficiency, your ideal tag must offer absolute data security, which we can test for you.
  • RFID development: If the solution you need cannot be found on the market, we will assist you with individually coordinated development work.
  • System design: Together with our strong partners, we can also design a complete RFID-based information system for you.
  • Implementation support: We ensure that your implementation phase is concluded quickly and reliably.
  • Service engineering: We plan new, additional RFID services for your internal and external customers based on your implemented system.

RFID Tag auf Metall

Auf einen Blick

Die im Fraunhofer IIS entwickelten RFID-Tags für Anwendungen auf Metall ermöglichen, dass in funktechnisch ungünstigen Umgebungen Daten auf Chips geschrieben und ausgelesen werden können. Das Design und die Technologie der kompakten RFID Transponder sind besonders unempfindlich gegenüber Störungen des Funksignals, welche durch Streuung und Reflektionen an metallischen Gegenständen entstehen.

Grundsätzlich bietet RFID die Flexibilität, die andere Kennzeichnungen in der Logistik nicht gewährleisten können. Zum einen ist es möglich, mehrere hundert Transponder gleichzeitig von einer Lesestation zu erfassen, ohne dass ein Sichtkontakt nötig wäre. Zum anderen sind die RFID-Tags wiederbeschreibbar und können dadurch am Objekt verbleiben und fortwährend genutzt werden. Das Antennendesign der RFID-Tags kombiniert geringe Größe und Gewicht, Robustheit und zuverlässige Reichweite auf metallischen Untergründen. Herstellung und Vertrieb übernimmt die Firma HARTING Electric GmbH & Co KG.

Technische Details

RFID-Tags auf Metall sind geeignet für funktechnisch ungünstige Umgebungen
RFID-Tag auf Metall

Der RFID-Tag für die Anwendung auf Metall erfüllt erstmals alle Anforderungen, die über die gesamte Lager- und Transportzeit hinweg eine zuverlässige und vor allem wirtschaftlich darstellbare Datenübertragung gewährleistet. Gegen chemische Einflüsse geschützt, kann der Sender mit einer Größe von nur 41 x 11 x 5 mm bis zu 512 Bit an Identifikations- und Zusatzinformationen tragen.

Auf Metall erlaubt der passive UHF-Transponder Kommunikationsreichweiten von 3 bis 5 m bei schmalbandiger und bis zu 2 m bei breitbandiger Anwendung. Das nutzbare Frequenzspektrum ist in Europa und den USA jedoch unterschiedlich belegt und die Reichweite davon bestimmt, auf welche und wieviele Frequenzbereiche der Sender ausgelegt wird. Mit den typenschildgroßen, breitbandigen UHF Tags sind Reichweiten von über 2,5 m sowohl für europäische als auch für US-amerikanische Standards erzielt worden. Schmalbandige Sender, die für lediglich einen Länderstandard konzipiert sind, können allerdings bis zu doppelt so große Reichweiten nutzen. Damit bietet das Fraunhofer IIS den RFID-Transponder mit dem besten Reichweite/Volumen-Verhältnis weltweit.

Anwendung

Die Einsatzgebiete für RFID-Technologie auf oder in metallischer Umgebung sind vielfältig. So können Produktionsprozesse auf den elektronischen Etiketten festgehalten werden, wobei die Transponder bei jedem einzelnen Arbeitsschritt aktualisiert werden. Dadurch ist eine lückenlose Verfolgung von Waren in der Logistik, die präzise Zuordnung von Bauteilen auf ihrem Produktionsweg und Plagiatschutz durch die eindeutige Identifizierung möglich. Zudem sichern international geltende Standards eine langfristige, herstellerunabhängige und vor allem kostengünstige Verfügbarkeit unserer Technologie.

Konkrete Anwendung fand die RFID-Technologie bereits in dem Projekt der Lufthansa Technik Logistik in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Fraunhofer IIS zur permanenten Kennzeichnung von Ersatzteilen. Zielsetzung war es, Lufthansa Technik Logistik zum Industriebenchmark im Bereich des Permanent Parts Marking zu etablieren und die RFID-Technologie so weiterzuentwickeln, dass Logistik- und Wartungsprozesse auf globaler Ebene unterstützt werden können. Im April 2010 erzielte die Projektgruppe gemeinsam mit der HARTING Technologie den entscheidenden Durchbruch, als erstmals quer durch das gesamte Spektrum der Flugzeugersatzteile RFID-Tags angebracht wurden, die den strengen Anforderungen der Luftfahrt entsprechen. Diese liefern nun über die gesamte Lebenszeit der Ersatzteile hinweg zuverlässige Daten.

Angebot

RFID am Fraunhofer IIS

Der Vertriebspartner und Hersteller der passiven RFID Transponder für Anwendungen auf Metall ist die Firma HARTING Electric GmbH & Co KG. Neben diesem bereits existierenden Produkt, kann das Fraunhofer IIS Ihren individuellen Wünschen entsprechend für Sie entwickeln. Wählen Sie aus unserem Komplettangebot, welches in Gänze oder in Komponenten genutzt werden kann:

  • RFID-Evaluierung: Wir bieten Ihnen eine genaue Untersuchung der technischen Machbarkeit im Vorfeld. Das Fraunhofer IIS evaluiert bestehende RFID-Systeme hinsichtlich ihrer Zuverlässigkeit und Leistung oder entwickelt auf Ihren Wunsch komplett neue Lösungen.
  • Kosten-Nutzen-Analysen: Wir ermitteln, welche Lösung für Sie nicht nur technisch, sondern auch wirtschaftlich optimal ist.
  • Risiko-Analyse: Neben passender Technik und Wirtschaftlichkeit muss Ihr idealer Tag absolute Datensicherheit gewährleisten, welche wir für Sie prüfen.
  • RFID-Entwicklung: Bietet der Markt für Sie keine hinreichende Lösung, helfen wir Ihnen durch individuell abgestimmte Entwicklungen weiter.
  • Systemdesign: Wir entwerfen zusammen mit starken Partnern auch ein komplett RFID-basiertes Informationssystem für Sie.
  • Implementierungs-Support: Wir sorgen dafür, dass Ihre Implementierungsphase schnell und sicher abgeschlossen wird.
  • Service Engineering: Auf Basis Ihres implementierten Systems erarbeiten wir zusätzliche neue RFID-Services für Ihre internen und externen Kunden.