ASIC Foundry Services

The Fraunhofer IIS has specialized in offering ASICs in small volume. Packaged and tested ASICs are available in quantities of a few hundred.
We are the interface to foundries and your supply chain partner from design to production.
We offer: IC specification, complete design flow (implementation of design concept), design of analog/digital systems and mixed signal applications, layout and verification (synthesis, place & route).

In the business field ASIC Foundry Services we handle volumes from 25/50 samples up to fabrication lots.
We offer: ASIC prototypes, ASICs in a low number of pieces (small volume), assembly, transfer to production, support for series test and full supply chain service.

 

Europractice

The European Commission launched the EUROPRACTICE initiative in October 1995 with the goal of helping companies to become more globally competitive through the availability of cost-effective ASICs, multichip modules (MCM) or microsystem solutions. The EUROPRACTICE IC Service furthermore offers European industry and academic institutions a safe path towards ASICs with following benefits:

  • Completely supported low-cost prototype production
  • Small-volume production
  • Fast production schedules
  • Wide selection of technologies
  • Supply chain services

Small-Volume Projects

EUROPRACTICE/Fraunhofer IIS initiates hundreds of small-volume projects, delivering some million ASICs. Customer demand ranges from 200 chips up to one million ICs. The average project volume is around 50,000 chips. For manufacturers however, 50,000 ASICs equate to an insignificant number of wafers, as it takes only 25 twelve-inch wafers to manufacture 250,000 chips with an area of 7 mm².

Prototyping and small volume IC Services

By using a Multi-Project Wafer (MPW) approach individual customer designs are pooled together for manufacturing, in order to share production costs. Each customer receives samples of its own prototype and has to pay only according to a fixed price list. In addition, we offer ASICs in small-volume batches and provide services for engineering runs and fabrication lots.
 

Prototypes Small-volume Batches Engineering Run Fabrication support

MPW

MPW with additional volume

Single-tooling with own mask set

Up to 50 Samples

100 – 1k

Approx. 6 Wafer

Lots of 25 Wafer

DRC (design rule check); ERC (electrical rule check); DfM (Design for Manufacturing)

Optional prototype assembly/packaging

Optional Assembly, Test, Qualification, Supply Chain Management

price list

on request

Request template

Foundries supported by Fraunhofer IIS

Multi-Project-Wafer- and Small-Volume-Logistics:

© EUROPRACTICE
EUROPRACTICE Technology Trends in the period 2009-2019
© Fraunhofer IIS
Technology Nodes via Fraunhofer IIS 2018-2019

We have longstanding partnerships with various semiconductor manufacturers as part of the EUROPACTICE program. We offer customers cost-effective access to current technologies through our foundries at ams AG, GLOBALFOUNDRIES, IHP, X-FAB:

  • CMOS
    ams: 350 nm - 180 nm
    GLO
    BALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm - 22 nm
    X-FAB: 180 nm – 130 nm
  • High Voltage CMOS
    ams: 350 nm - 180 nm
    GLOB
    ALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm
    X-FAB: 350 nm – 180 nm
  • High Speed SiGe
    ams: 350 nm
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm
    IHP: 250 nm - 130 nm
  • RF-SOI
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 45 nm
    X-FAB: 130 nm
  • Silicon Photonics
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 90 nm
    IHP: 250 nm

ams 0.35 μm
PROTOTYPING AND VOLUME PRODUCTION

 

Through EUROPRACTICE-IC, customers from academia and industry can gain access to Multi-Project-Wafer runs and Volume Production services of ams.

 

The ams state-of-the-art 8-inch fab is offering high-performance process technologies with more than 30 years of experience in wafer processing. The PDK (Process Design Kit) provides all building blocks required to create complex analog mixed-signal designs.

The ams 0.35 µm technologies with standard CMOS, HV, SiGe and Opto Process, fabricated in Austria, offer affordable and easy access to prototyping and small volume services for academia and industry.

 

GLOBALFOUNDRIES 130, 90, 55, 45, 40, 28, 22 nm
PROTOTYPING AND VOLUME PRODUCTION

 

Through EUROPRACTICE-IC, customers from both academic and private sectors can access Multi-Project-Wafer and Volume Production services of GLOBALFOUNDRIES.

GLOBALFOUNDRIES, is a leading specialty foundry with a broad range of platforms and features, such as RF CMOS, FDSOI, RFSOI, SiGe, FinFET, SiPhotonics. Technology nodes are ranging from 350 nm down to 12 nm. Globalfoundries’ 22nm and 28nm nodes are fabricated in Dresden, Germany.

The GLOBALFOUNDRIES 22FDX® employs 22 nm Fully Depleted Silicon-On-Insulator (FD-SOI) technology that delivers outstanding performance at extremely low power with the ability to operate at 0.4V ultra-low power and at 1pA per micron for ultra-low standby leakage.

 

IHP 0.25 and 0.13 μm
PROTOTYPING AND VOLUME PRODUCTION

 

EUROPRACTICE-IC provides access to IHP SiGe:C BiCMOS Technologies for Multi-Project-Wafer Prototyping and Small Volume Production.

IHP offers research partners and industrial customers worldwide access to its powerful SiGe:C BiCMOS technologies. Several generations of high-speed SiGe Hetero-junction Bipolar Transistors (HBT) have been developed and integrated in 0.25 μm and 0.13 μm BiCMOS technologies.

The 0.13 μm BiCMOS process SG13G2 represents the fastest currently available SiGe HBT technology featuring peak fT / fmax values of 300 GHz / 500 GHz. These IHP technologies are especially suited for applications in the higher GHz bands, e.g. for telecommunications & broadband, radar and more.  

G25H5_EPIC is the monolithic integration of photonic devices, such as detectors and modulators, in the frontend of a Si-based integrated circuit technology that allows shortest interconnects between photonics and electronics, from which high-speed performance of Electronic-Photonic Integrated Circuits (EPIC) greatly benefit. This technology is especially suited for Optical Transceivers for 100G / 200G / 400 GHz applications.

X-FAB 0.35, 0.18, 0.13 μm
PROTOTYPING AND VOLUME PRODUCTION

 

EUROPRACTICE-IC offers Multi-Project-Wafer and Volume Production services of X-FAB to academic institutions togetherwith small and medium-sized enterprises.

X-Fab is a leading foundry group for analog/mixed-signal semiconductor applications, with six manufacturing sites in Germany, France, Malaysia and the USA. X-FAB has a combined capacity of around 94,000 eight-inch equivalent wafer starts per month.

Technologies are ranging from 1.0 to 0.13 µm mixed-signal CMOS, special SOI and MEMS long lifetime processes for automotive, industrial, medical and other applications

 

More Information

Schedule and Prices of MPW-Runs

Schedule and Prices of Mini@sic-Runs

Europe secures Europractice services to European academia and industry until end 2021

Imec, the world-leading research and innovation hub in nanoelectronics and digital technologies and its partners STFC-UKRI, Fraunhofer IIS, CMP and Tyndall announced today that Europractice was selected and granted European funding as a H2020 project.

Press release imec

ASIC Foundry Services

Das Fraunhofer IIS hat sich darauf spezialisiert ASICs in geringer Anzahl anzubieten. Getestete ASICs sind in verschiedenen Packages in kleinen Stückzahlen von einigen hundert erhältlich. Wir sind die Schnittstelle zu Foundries und Ihr Supply-Chain-Partner in der gesamten Wertschöpfungskette vom Design bis zur Produktion. Wir bieten: IC-Spezifikation, vollständigen Entwurfsablauf (Umsetzung des Entwurfskonzepts), Entwurf von analogen / digitalen Systemen und Mixed-Signal-Anwendungen, Layout und Verifikation (Synthese, Place & Route).
Im Geschäftsfeld ASIC Foundry Services bieten wir Volumina von 40/50 Samples bis hin zu Fertigungslosen. Wir bieten: ASIC-Prototypen, ASICs in geringen Stückzahlen, Assembly, Transfer in die Produktion, Unterstützung für Serientests und vollständige Supply-Chain-Services.

 

© Fraunhofer IIS/Syndia Ioannidou

Europractice

Die Europäische Kommission startete im Oktober 1995 die EUROPRACTICE-Initiative mit dem Ziel, Unternehmen durch die Verfügbarkeit kostengünstiger ASICs, Multichip-Module (MCM) oder Mikrosystemlösungen zu einer globaleren Wettbewerbsfähigkeit zu verhelfen. Darüber hinaus bietet der EUROPRACTICE IC Service der europäischen Industrie und akademischen Institutionen einen sicheren Weg zu ASICs mit folgenden Vorteilen:

  • Vollständig unterstützte kostengünstige Prototypenproduktion
  • Kleinserienfertigung
  • Schnelle Produktionspläne
  • Große Auswahl an Technologien
  • Supply Chain Services


Projekte mit kleinem Volumen

EUROPRACTICE/Fraunhofer IIS initiiert Hunderte Projekte mit kleinen Stückzahlen und liefert rund eine Million ASICs. Die Nachfrage unserer Kunden reicht von 200 Chips bis zu 1 Million ICs. Das durchschnittliche Projektvolumen liegt bei rund 50.000 Chips. Für Hersteller entsprechen 50.000 ASICs jedoch einer unbedeutenden Anzahl an Wafern, da für die Herstellung von 250.000 Chips mit einer Fläche von 7 mm² nur 25 12-Zoll-Wafer erforderlich sind.

Prototyping & IC-Services für kleine Volumina

Durch die Verwendung eines MPW-Ansatzes (Multi-Project Wafer) werden einzelne Kunden-designs für die Herstellung zusammengefasst und somit die Produktionskosten geteilt. Jeder Kunde erhält Muster seines eigenen Prototyps und muss nur nach einer festen Preisliste bezahlen. Darüber hinaus bieten wir ASICs in kleinen Mengen sowie Dienstleistungen für Engineering-Runs und Fertigungslose.

Prototypes Small-volume Batches Engineering Run Fabrication support

MPW

MPW with additional volume

Single-tooling with own mask set

Up to 50 Samples

100 – 1k

Approx. 6 Wafer

Lots of 25 Wafer

DRC (design rule check); ERC (electrical rule check); DfM (Design for Manufacturing)

Optional prototype assembly/packaging

Optional Assembly, Test, Qualification, Supply Chain Management

price list

on request

Request template

Fraunhofer IIS Partner Foundries

Multi-Project-Wafer- und Small-Volume-Logistik:

© EUROPRACTICE
EUROPRACTICE Technologie-Trends im Zeitraum 2009-2019
© Fraunhofer IIS
Technologieknoten Designs über Fraunhofer IIS 2018 - 2019

Im Rahmen des EUROPACTICE-Programms haben wir langjährige Partnerschaften mit verschiedenen Halbleiterherstellern. Wir bieten unseren Kunden über die Foundries bei ams, GLOBALFOUNDRIES, IHP, X-FAB kostengünstigen Zugang zu aktuellen Technologien:

  • CMOS
    ams: 350 nm - 180 nm
    GLO
    BALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm - 22 nm
    X-FAB: 180 nm – 130 nm
  • High Voltage CMOS
    ams: 350 nm - 180 nm
    GLOB
    ALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm
    X-FAB: 350 nm – 180 nm
  • High Speed SiGe
    ams: 350 nm
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 130 nm
    IHP: 250 nm - 130 nm
  • RF-SOI
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 45 nm
    X-FAB: 130 nm
  • Silicon Photonics
    GLOBALFOUNDRIES: 90 nm
    IHP: 250 nm

ams 0.35 μm
PROTOTYPEN UND SERIENFERTIGUNG

 

Über EUROPRACTICE-IC erhalten Kunden aus Wissenschaft und Industrie Zugang zu Multi-Project-Wafer-Runs und Serienfertigungs-Services von ams.
 
Die ams State-of-the-art 8-Zoll-Fab bietet leistungsstarke Prozesstechnologien mit mehr als 30 Jahren Wafer Processing Erfahrung. Das PDK (Process Design Kit) bietet alle Blöcke, die für die Erstellung komplexer analoger Mixed-Signal-Designs erforderlich sind.

Die in Österreich hergestellten ams 0,35-µm-Technologien mit Standard-CMOS-, HV-, SiGe- und Opto-Prozess bieten Wissenschaft und Industrie einen erschwinglichen und einfachen Zugang zu Prototyping- und Small-Volume-Services.

 

GLOBALFOUNDRIES 130, 90, 55, 45, 40, 28, 22 nm
PROTOTYPEN UND SERIENFERTIGUNG

 

Über EUROPRACTICE-IC können Kunden aus dem akademischen und privaten Sektor auf die Multi-Project-Wafer- und Serienfertigungs-Services von GLOBALFOUNDRIES zugreifen.

GLOBALFOUNDRIES ist eine führende Spezial-Foundry mit einem breiten Angebot an Plattformen und Features wie RF CMOS, FDSOI, RFSOI, SiGe, FinFET und SiPhotonics. Die Technologieknoten reichen von 350 nm bis 12 nm. Die 22 nm und 28 nm Knoten von Globalfoundries werden in Dresden hergestellt.

GLOBALFOUNDRIES 22FDX® verwendet die 22-nm Fully Depleted Silicon-On-Insulator (FD-SOI) Technologie, die eine herausragende Performance bei extrem niedriger Leistungsaufnahme bietet und bei 0,4 V Low-power sowie mit 1 pA pro Mikron für extrem niedrige Standby-Leakage arbeiten kann.

IHP 0.25 and 0.13 μm
PROTOTYPEN UND SERIENFERTIGUNG

 

EUROPRACTICE-IC bietet Zugang zu IHP SiGe:C BiCMOS-Technologien für Prototyping und die Produktion kleiner Stückzahlen.

IHP bietet Forschungspartnern und Industriekunden weltweit Zugang zu seinen leistungsstarken SiGe:C BiCMOS-Technologien. Mehrere Generationen von High-Speed SiGe Heterojunction Bipolartransistoren (HBT) wurden entwickelt und in 0,25 μm und 0,13 μm BiCMOS-Technologien integriert. Der 0,13 μm BiCMOS-Prozess SG13G2 ist die schnellste derzeit verfügbare SiGe HBT-Technologie mit Spitzen-fT / fmax-Werten von 300 GHz / 500 GHz. Diese IHP-Technologien eignen sich besonders für Anwendungen in den höheren GHz-Bändern, z. B. für Telekommunikation und Breitband, Radar und mehr.
G25H5_EPIC ist die monolithische Integration von photonischen Bauelementen wie Detektoren und Modulatoren in das Frontend einer Si-basierten integrierten Schaltungstechnologie, die kürzeste Verbindungen zwischen Photonik und Elektronik ermöglicht, von denen die Hochgeschwindigkeitsleistung von elektronisch-photonischen integrierten Schaltkreisen (EPIC) stark profitieren. Diese Technologie eignet sich besonders für optische Transceiver für 100G / 200G / 400 GHz-Anwendungen.

X-FAB 0.35, 0.18, 0.13 μm
PROTOTYPEN UND SERIENFERTIGUNG

 

EUROPRACTICE-IC bietet akademischen Institutionen sowie kleinen und mittelständischen Unternehmen Multi-Project-Wafer- und Fertigungsdienstleistungen von X-FAB an.

X-Fab ist eine führende Foundry-Gruppe für Analog- / Mixed-Signal-Halbleiteranwendungen mit sechs Produktionsstandorten in Deutschland, Frankreich, Malaysia und den USA. X-FAB hat eine Gesamtkapazität von rund 94.000 äquivalenten 8-Zoll-Wafer-Starts pro Monat.

Die Technologien reichen von 1,0 bis 0,13 µm Mixed-Signal-CMOS, speziellen SOI- und MEMS-Prozessen mit langer Lebensdauer für Automobil-, Industrie-, Medizin- und weitere Anwendungen.

 

Weitere Informationen

Zeitplan und Preise der MPW-Runs

Zeitplan und Preise der Mini@sic-Runs

Europa sichert bis Ende 2021 Europractice-Dienste für die europäische Wissenschaft und Industrie

Imec, das weltweit führende Forschungs- und Innovationszentrum für Nanoelektronik und digitale Technologien, und seine Partner STFC-UKRI, Fraunhofer IIS, CMP und Tyndall gaben bekannt, dass Europractice als H2020-Projekt ausgewählt und mit europäischen Mitteln ausgestattet wurde.

Pressemitteilung imec