Fraunhofer IIS Brings Immersive Sound to Consumers’ Homes through MPEG-H Enabled 3D Soundbar

/ 4.1.2017

ERLANGEN, Germany/LAS VEGAS, Nevada – Fraunhofer IIS, main inventor of the mp3 and AAC audio codecs, uses Texas Instruments (TI’s) 66AK2G02 DSP + ARM System on Chip (SoC) to transform the consumers’ audio experience. In early 2017, Fraunhofer IIS will introduce an MPEG-H enabled immersive soundbar and audio video receiver (AVR) reference design allowing convenient delivery of 3D sound into consumers’ homes, bringing audio quality to new levels.

Referenzdesign der MPEG-H-fähigen Soundbar.
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS / Valentin Schilling

Reference design of MPEG-H enabled immersive soundbar.

In Spring 2017, the MPEG-H TV Audio system will officially be on the air in South Korea’s new terrestrial UHD TV system based on ATSC 3.0. MPEG-H, now also part of the DVB standard, is intended to push television broadcasting globally to new heights with its interactive, immersive features, and universal delivery to a multitude of consumer devices.

 

In an effort to make the AVR reference design available to original equipment manufacturers, Fraunhofer is implementing MPEG-H and Fraunhofer’s 3D soundbar processing technology on TI’s 66AK2G02 SoC, an industry-leading platform for AVRs and soundbars.

 

The MPEG-H system offers a wide range of benefits to consumers, including:

  • Immersive Sound: MPEG-H adds 3D audio components to deliver a truly immersive experience;
  • Interactive Audio: Consumers will have the ability to adjust the sound mix to their preferences, for example, choosing between different commentators in a sporting event;
  • Universal Delivery: MPEG-H will tailor playback to sound best on a range of devices and environments.

 

The advanced capabilities of the MPEG-H system enable the delivery of streaming and television audio content at comparably low bit rates, which provides a cost-effective benefit for broadcasters and streaming services.

 

“Our 66AK2G02 SoC featuring ARM® Cortex®-A15 core and C66x DSP is a great balance and match for the feature-rich MPEG-H system. Leveraging TI’s Processor SDK based framework for audio, Fraunhofer is able to bring up MPEG-H and Fraunhofer 3D soundbar processing technology on the platform quickly,” said John Smrstik, marketing manager, TI processors. “Our 66AK2G02 SoC is well positioned for 3D audio applications found in soundbars and AV receivers where performance, flexibility and ease of development need to be top of mind.”

 

“The combination of MPEG-H and our soundbar processing in one device brings true immersive sound conveniently into the living room. This will support manufacturers with making MPEG-H enabled devices widely available,” said Jan Nordmann, Senior Director, New Media at Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies.

 

Invited guests will have the opportunity to experience MPEG-H and the soundbar reference design at Fraunhofer’s booth 20944 in South Upper Hall during CES 2017 from January 5 – 8, 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Fraunhofer IIS bringt mit MPEG-H-fähiger 3D-Soundbar umhüllenden Klang in die heimischen Wohnzimmer

/ 4.1.2017

ERLANGEN / LAS VEGAS – Das Fraunhofer IIS, Hauptentwickler der mp3- und AAC-Audiocodecs nutzt das DSP + ARM System on Chip (SoC) 66AK2G02 von Texas Instruments (TI), um das Hörerlebnis von Soundbar-Nutzern auf ein neues Niveau zu heben. Im Frühjahr 2017 wird Fraunhofer ein MPEG-H-fähiges Soundbar- und Audio-Video-Receiver (AVR)-Referenzdesign vorstellen, das umhüllenden Klang ganz bequem in die heimischen Wohnzimmer bringt und die Soundqualität weiter steigert.

Referenzdesign der MPEG-H-fähigen Soundbar.
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS / Valentin Schilling

Referenzdesign der MPEG-H-fähigen Soundbar.

Das MPEG-H-TV-Audio-System wird im neuen terrestrischen UHD-Fernsehen, das auf ATSC 3.0 basiert, ab dem Frühjahr 2017 offiziell in Südkorea auf Sendung gehen. MPEG-H, jetzt auch Teil des DVB-Standards, punktet mit interaktivem 3D-Sound sowie der flexiblen Anpassung der Wiedergabe an verschiedenste Hörsituationen und Endgeräte.

 

Um das Referenzdesign den Unterhaltungselektronikherstellern zugänglich zu machen, implementiert Fraunhofer MPEG-H und die Fraunhofer 3D-Soundbar-Processing-Technologie auf dem SoC 66AK2G02 von TI, einer industrieweit führenden Plattform für AVR und Soundbars.

 

Das MPEG-H-TV-Audio-System bietet Nutzern zahlreiche Verbesserungen im Audio-Bereich, wie:

  • Umhüllender Klang: MPEG-H fügt 3D-Audio-Komponenten hinzu, um ein realistisches, umhüllendes Klangerlebnis zu liefern;
  • Interaktiver Sound: Nutzer können den Sound-Mix auf ihre Vorlieben anpassen – beispielsweise durch die Auswahl eines bestimmten Kommentators bei einer Sportübertragung;
  • Umfassende Übertragung: Die Wiedergabe wird von MPEG-H maßgeschneidert, um den besten Sound auf den verschiedenen Endgeräten und in verschiedenen Umgebungen zu ermöglichen.

Die fortschrittlichen Fähigkeiten des MPEG-H-Systems ermöglichen die Übertragung von Streaming- und TV-Audio-Inhalten bei vergleichbar niedrigen Bitraten. Rundfunk- und Streaminganbieter können somit Kosten sparen.

 

»Unser SoC 66AK2G02 mit ARM®-Cortex®-A15-Core und C66x-DSP passt sehr gut zum MPEG-H-System mit seinen zahlreichen Features. Mit der Nutzung des Processor-SDK-basierten Frameworks für Audio von TI kann Fraunhofer die MPEG-H- und Fraunhofer 3D-Soundbar-Processing-Technologien rasch auf die Plattform bringen«, sagt John Smrstik, Marketing Manager TI Processors. »Unser 66AK2G02-SoC eignet sich gut für 3D-Audio-Anwendungen, wie sie sich in Soundbars und AV-Receivern finden, und bei denen Leistung, Flexibilität und eine einfache Entwicklung wichtig sind.«

 

»Wenn MPEG-H und unser Soundbar-Processing auf einer Plattform vereint werden, kommt umhüllender Klang ganz bequem und einfach in das heimische Wohnzimmer. Diese Kombination wird die Hersteller dabei unterstützen, MPEG-H-fähige Endgeräte breit verfügbar zu machen«, sagt Jan Nordmann, Senior Director New Media bei Fraunhofer USA Digital Media Technologies.

 

Geladene Gäste können MPEG-H und das Soundbar-Referenzdesign am Fraunhofer-Stand 20944 in der South Upper Hall während der CES 2017 vom 5. bis 8. Januar 2017 in Las Vegas, Nevada, erleben.