Volkswagen is testing Fraunhofer IIS’s innovative Pick-by-Local-Light order picking system in Dresden

/ 23.4.2018

Nürnberg/Dresden: In 2016, the Pick-by-Local-Light (PbLL) system was selected as one of 18 innovations for the Volkswagen Logistics Innovation Day in Wolfsburg. An initial test system has been in operation at Volkswagen’s “Gläserne Manufaktur” assembly and exhibition center in Dresden since March 2018. Its purpose is to evaluate PbLL’s basic functions and the value it adds: quick installation and easy rearrangement of shelving makes order picking flexible and efficient. Results of the first tests indicate that with the new system, orders can be processed twice as fast as before.

© Volkswagen

Pick-by-Local-Light being tested at Volkswagen: PbLL guides pickers through the order picking process and shows the required quantity on a display.

To locate the order items, traditional picking systems rely on hand scanners to read barcodes on picking lists and warehouse bays. Pickers have to print these lists out and carry them around throughout the process. Any errors, for instance when the wrong barcode is scanned or when the barcodes themselves are dirty or unreadable, cost time and lead to delays in filling orders.

More efficient order picking processes with PbLL

By way of contrast, the new PbLL system requires human pickers to do far less work. The individual displays at each bay compartment are controlled using Fraunhofer’s s-net® technology. This is tailored to each order, using multicolored LEDs to guide pickers through the picking process. Pickers see the quantity ordered on the compartment displays, confirm picking at the push of a button and move on to the next item. In a direct comparison with traditional systems, it took half the time to fill orders using the new PbLL system. The new system has gone over well within the Volkswagen Group, so much so that plants all over Germany – including the main plant in Wolfsburg – have expressed an interest.

Pick-by-Local-Light at Hannover Messe 2018

From April 23 to 27, 2018, visitors to Hannover Messe can drop by the Fraunhofer IIS booth (Hall 2, Booth C22) and experience the wireless order picking system and the underlying s-net® technology for themselves.

Volkswagen erprobt in Dresden neuartiges Kommissioniersystem Pick-by-Local-Light des Fraunhofer IIS

/ 23.4.2018

Nürnberg/Dresden: 2016 wurde das Pick-by-Local-Light System (PbLL) für den »Volkswagen Innovationstag Logistik« in Wolfsburg als eine von 18 Innovationen ausgewählt. Seit März 2018 läuft in der Gläsernen Manufaktur von Volkswagen in Dresden ein erstes Testsystem, das die grundsätzliche Funktionalität und den Mehrwert des drahtlosen PbLL evaluiert: schnelle Installation und einfache Umgestaltung von Regalen für die Realisierung einer flexiblen und aufwandsarmen Kommissionierung. Erste Tests haben gezeigt, dass Aufträge durch das neue System doppelt so schnell abgearbeitet werden können.

© Volkswagen

Pick-by-Local-Light in der Erprobung bei Volkswagen: Das PbLL führt den Mitarbeiter visuell durch den Kommissionierungsprozess und zeigt auf einem Display die zu entnehmende Menge an.

Im derzeit genutzten Kommissioniersystem kommen Barcodes zum Einsatz, die von Auftragslisten und Stellplätzen der erforderlichen Artikel mit Hilfe eines Handscanners abgescannt werden. Die Auftragslisten werden dabei in Papierform ausgedruckt und vom Mitarbeiter während des kompletten Prozesses mitgeführt. Dabei kann es durch Abscannen des falschen Barcodes oder Fehllesung durch verschmutzte oder unleserliche Etiketten zu höherem Zeitaufwand und Verzögerungen in der Kommissionierung kommen.

Höhere Effizienz für Kommissionierprozesse mit PbLL

Das neue PbLL-System benötigt hingegen deutlich weniger Interaktion des Mitarbeiters: Die einzelnen Fachanzeigen an den Stellplätzen werden auftragsgenau über die Fraunhofer s-net®-Technologie angesteuert, um den Mitarbeiter über mehrfarbige LEDs visuell durch den Kommissionierungsprozess zu führen. Dem Kommissionier wird auf einem Display die zu entnehmende Menge angezeigt, die Entnahme wird nach Betätigen der Quittierungstaste bestätigt und der Mitarbeiter kann zum nächsten Artikel weitergehen. Im direkten Vergleich konnten die Aufträge, die mit Hilfe des neuen PbLL-Systems kommissioniert wurden, doppelt so schnell abgearbeitet werden. Das System hat innerhalb des Volkswagen-Konzerns hohen Anklang gefunden, so dass inzwischen deutschlandweit Werke, darunter auch das Hauptwerk in Wolfsburg, Interesse am System bekundet haben.

Pick-by-Local-Light auf der Hannover Messe 2018

Vom 23. bis 27. April  2018 können Besucherinnen und Besucher der Hannover Messe am Stand des Fraunhofer IIS in Halle 2, C22 die Vorteile des drahtlosen Kommissioniersystem auf Basis der s-net®-Technologie live erleben.