Smart RFID Antenna

for the whole process chain

Multibeam Antenna

Detecting and reading RFID tags precisely

In the future, the use of RFID technology will continue to increase and it should be possible to read more and more RFID tags simultaneously. Currently, this development is presenting commercially available reader systems and their antennas with almost insurmountable challenges.

The multibeam antenna from Fraunhofer IIS, on the other hand, can read all RFID chips securely and reliably. Its areas of application lie in industry, logistics and retail, where it can be used to support transport and manufacturing processes or electronic article surveillance (EAS).

High reading rates

The multibeam antenna is a programmable 2x2 group antenna with a feed network for RFID applications. The multibeam antenna is so innovatively designed that it offers a higher reading rate than conventional reader antennas. The directional beam of the antenna can be adjusted individually in up to nine directions. This allows RFID transponders to be addressed and read in a targeted manner, also reducing collisions. The reading rate becomes faster and the probability of intercept becomes greater. This guarantees reliable reading of all transponders.

Test measurement of the multibeam antenna
© Fraunhofer IIS/Sabine Metzger

Innovative antenna design

The 2x2 group antenna with integrated feed network allows up to nine beam alignments. The multibeam antenna is comprised of four emitters, which are right-handed circularly polarized. The associated feed network that actuates the four individual antennas is based on the principle of the 4x4 butler matrix. The complete system is built with microstrip lines and the network comprises Wilkinson power splitters, squaring hybrids, rat-race hybrids, and delay lines. The larger visible area and the option of synchronizing the nine active beams with the position of the pallet to the reading gate guarantee maximum reading rates with a low number of antennas.

Multibeam-Antenne
© Fraunhofer IIS/Thomas Endres

Flexible use in industry, logistics and retail

Wherever reliable and secure reading of RFID chips is needed, the multibeam antenna is suitable for enhancing the performance of RFID systems with little effort.

In the area of gateway passages, in particular, high reading rates and strong reading reliability are of great importance. Products in various quantities and designs that are fitted with RFID transponders can thus be counted immediately and precisely identified. Furthermore, the multibeam antenna captures movements and changes of direction in order to differentiate between incoming and outgoing goods. Such additional information generated through the antenna results in enormous time savings for several applications in industry and logistics. The antenna can also be easily deployed in electronic article surveillance (EAS) systems, thus ensuring intelligent and reliable theft protection in retail.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Video

Multibeam antenna for RFID applications

Expert consultancy and development

Together with you and taking well-founded scientific methods as our basis, we determine your requirements, advise you individually, and support you with technical and economic feasibility analyses. We are also happy to help you embed the antenna into your system or with commissioning.

As an independent development facility, we are able to offer you an established hardware design flow from simulation to the end product. We can offer you modern simulation tools, measuring instruments and techniques, and our own antenna measuring chamber.

More information

 

Flyer

Multibeam Antenna for RFID Applications in the UHF Range

 

Antenna Measurement Hall

Measuring antennas and antenna systems in an anechoic environment

 

Smart Antenna Systems

The ideal antenna solution for any application

Multibeam-Antenne
© Fraunhofer IIS/Thomas Endres

Intelligente RFID-Antenne

mit Blick auf die gesamte Prozesskette

Multibeam-Antenne

RFID-Tags präzise erkennen und auslesen


Zukünftig wird der Einsatz von RFID-Technologie noch weiter zunehmen, dabei sollen immer mehr RFID-Tags gleichzeitig ausgelesen werden. Dies stellt handelsübliche Lesesysteme und ihre Antennen aktuell vor nahezu unlösbare Herausforderungen.

Die Multibeam-Antenne des Fraunhofer IIS hingegen liest RFID-Chips sicher und zuverlässig aus. In Industrie, Logistik und Handel kann sie beispielsweise zur Unterstützung von Transport- und Fertigungsprozessen oder zur elektronischen Warensicherung (EAS) eingesetzt werden.

Hohe Leseraten

Bei der Multibeam-Antenne handelt es sich um eine programmierbare 2x2-Gruppenantenne mit Speisenetzwerk für RFID-Anwendungen. Die Multibeam-Antenne ist so konzipiert, dass sie eine höhere Leserate als herkömmliche Lese-Antennen erreicht. Die Richtkeule der Antenne lässt sich individuell in bis zu neun Richtungen verstellen. Dadurch können RFID-Transponder gezielt angesprochen und ausgelesen, sowie Kollisionen verringert werden. Dies führt zu einer höheren Leserate und somit zu einer größeren Erfassungswahrscheinlichkeit. Ein verlässliches Auslesen aller Transponder kann somit gewährleistet werden.

Test-Messung der Multibeam-Antenne
© Fraunhofer IIS/Sabine Metzger

Innovatives Antennendesign

Durch die 2x2-Gruppenantenne mit integriertem Speisenetzwerk können bis zu neun Keulenausprägungen erzielt werden. Die Mehrkeulenantenne besteht aus vier Einzelstrahlern. Die Einzelstrahler sind rechtsdrehend zirkular polarisiert. Das zugehörige Speisenetzwerk zur Ansteuerung der vier Einzelantennen basiert auf dem Prinzip der 4x4-Butler-Matrix. Das komplette System ist mit Mikrostreifenleitungen aufgebaut und das Netzwerk setzt sich aus Wilkinson-Leistungsteilern, Quadratur-Hybriden, Ratrace-Hybriden und Verzögerungsleitungen zusammen. Der größere Sichtbereich und die Möglichkeit zur Synchronisation der neun aktiven Keulen mit der Position der Palette zum Lesetor garantieren maximale Leseraten bei einer geringen Anzahl an Antennen.

Multibeam-Antenne
© Fraunhofer IIS/Thomas Endres

Flexibler Einsatz in Industrie, Logistik und Handel

Überall dort, wo ein zuverlässiges und sicheres Auslesen von RFID-Chips gefragt ist, eignet sich die Multibeam-Antenne, um die Leistungsfähigkeit von RFID-Systemen mit wenig Aufwand auszubauen.

Insbesondere im Bereich von Tordurchfahrten sind hohe Leseraten und eine starke Lesesicherheit von enormer Bedeutung: Waren mit angebrachten RFID-Transpondern müssen in verschiedenen Mengen und Ausführungen unmittelbar gezählt und eindeutig identifiziert werden. Die Multibeam-Antenne erfasst zudem Richtungsinformationen und -änderungen und unterscheidet dadurch zum Beispiel automatisch zwischen Wareneingang und -ausgang. Diese durch die Antenne erzeugten Zusatzinformationen können bei verschiedensten Anwendungen in Industrie und Logistik zu enormen Zeitersparnissen führen. Die Multibeam-Antenne eignet sich zudem für eine einfache Realisierung von Systemen zur elektronischen Warensicherung (EAS) und gewährleistet damit im Handel einen intelligenten und zuverlässigen Diebstahlschutz.

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Video

Multibeam-Antenne für RFID-Anwendungen

Kompetente Beratung und Entwicklung

Gemeinsam mit Ihnen und auf der Basis von fundierten wissenschaftlichen Methoden ermitteln wir Ihren Bedarf, beraten Sie individuell und unterstützen Sie zusätzlich bei technisch-wirtschaftlichen Machbarkeitsanalysen. Gerne helfen wir Ihnen auch bei der Einbettung der Antenne in Ihr System oder der Inbetriebnahme.

Als unabhängiger Entwicklungspartner bieten wir Ihnen einen etablierten Hardware-Design-Flow von der Simulation bis zum Endprodukt. Hierfür stehen moderne Simulationswerkzeuge, Messinstrumente und -techniken sowie eine eigene Antennenmesshalle zu Ihrer Verfügung.

Mehr Informationen

 

Flyer

Multibeam-Antenne für RFID-Anwendungen im UHF-Bereich

 

Antennenmesshalle

Antennen und Antennensysteme in störungsfreier Umgebung testen

 

Intelligente Antennensysteme

Für jede Anwendung die ideale Antennenlösung