EnABLES

A research infrastructure program to power the Internet of Things funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme.

EnABLES – European infrastructure powering the Internet of Things

What is the EnABLES project?

EnABLES – European Infrastructure Powering the Internet of Things
© EnABLES

A research infrastructure program to promote the Internet of Things, funded under the Horizon 2020 research and innovation program of the European Union.

By 2025, there will be an estimated one billion IoT devices worldwide, all of which need to be powered. The project aims to eliminate the need for battery replacement wherever possible through the use of Energy Harvesting solutions and to find ways to significantly reduce device power consumption. The EnABLES project involves hundreds of researchers and developers working to advance Energy Harvesting, storage and micro-power management solutions for the integrated design and deployment of miniaturized autonomous sensors. The EnABLES offer ranges from technologies and simulation models to the design of devices and systems. The EnABLES institutes support stakeholders and IoT developers and manufacturers to accelerate the adoption of this technology in real-world applications.

The institutes offer their know-how and infrastructure for the development of »self-sufficient« sensor solutions. Based on the areas of Energy Harvesting, energy storage, micro-power design, power management and system integration, the project will provide free access to simulations, laboratories and expertise (e.g. in concept and feasibility studies). Through the so-called Transnational Access (TA) program, which was published in July 2018, cooperation between interested companies and the EnABLES institutes will take place in a simple and fast way.

Who are the partners of the project?

The TA providers are the Tyndall National Institute (Coordinator, Ireland), CEA (Leti & Liten), Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer IMS (Germany) and imec (Netherlands). In addition, the universities of Southampton and Perugia offer virtual access to databases of vibration data from real applications. EnABLES also finances joint research activities (JRAs) between the above-mentioned partners together with the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, the Politecnico di Torino and the University of Bologna. It is foreseen that JRAs will lead to future TA offerings.

What are the objectives of EnABLES?

EnABLES will bring together key European research infrastructures to power the Internet of Things (IoT):

  1. Providing access infrastructure to six world-leading research and technology centers, complemented by five interdisciplinary knowledge centers for excellence in pioneering research that integrate and foster the growth of an IoT energy community.
  2. Leveraging Europe's unique leadership in Energy Harvesting, energy storage and micro-power management to enable the development and deployment of miniaturized autonomous sensors.
  3. Accelerating the development of cross-sectional solutions that bridge the gap between the power requirements of typical applications and Energy Harvesting to realize autonomous wireless devices.
  4. Accelerating the innovation of IoT devices and extract the value of the resulting autonomous sensors through implementation and use in real world conditions.
  5. Capturing the innovation potential of miniaturized autonomous sensors in various IoT applications and services by developing a community to support the integration and positioning of European communities in powering IoT devices.

Challenges and opportunities of the IoT

By 2025, there will be one billion IoT devices worldwide that require power. The challenge is to eliminate (or significantly reduce) the need for battery replacement by developing Energy Harvesting and energy storage solutions while reducing the power consumption of the IoT device. With easy access to key infrastructure and know-how, EnABLES will bring together researchers and industry users to develop application-centric solutions for IoT devices and systems.

Fraunhofer IIS provides access to Energy Harvesting systems and labs

Fraunhofer IIS offers laboratories with various devices, generators and power management test kits
© Fraunhofer IIS

Fraunhofer IIS offers laboratories with various devices, generators and power management test kits

By designing, characterizing and optimizing Energy Harvesting systems, Fraunhofer IIS provides access to labs with different measurement devices, generators and power management test-kits as well as platforms for the EnABLES project.

Typical applications are the development of harvesting systems with available building blocks such as thermoelectric generators, vibration transducers or solar modules, voltage converters and storage devices for specific use-cases.

The labs of Fraunhofer IIS provide the following equipment and technical offers:

 

Main Equipment Technical offering
  • Tira electrodynamic shaker S 52110
  • dSPACE DS1104 R&D controller board
  • Autolab PGSTAT302N and FRA32M module: Impedance spectroscopy in the range of 10 µ; Hz – 1 MHz
  • Existing scripts to obtain 3D plots of the characterized harvester
  • Agilent DC Power Analyzer N6705A
  • Laser sensor for exact amplitude measurement of mechanical harvester
  • Thermographic camera VarioCAM high resolution (640×480 pixel, accuracy of ± 1.5 K)
  • Digital resistor board
  • Heating plate
  • Measurement and recording of power output of Energy Harvesting systems (like solar cells, thermoelectric generators, vibration harvesters)
  • Design and implementation of micro power management and Energy Harvesting systems
  • Samples and materials of different harvesters available
  • Power management test-kits available

How to gain access?

Examples of offers can be viewed on the EnABLES website and an online request form is available at www.enables-project.eu. All results of EnABLES Transnational Access (TA) and Virtual Access (VA) activities will be made publicly available as part of EnABLES' goal to build a collaborative ecosystem that generates miniaturized and autonomous sensors. EnABLES is already bringing together a consortium of 130 researchers, providing access to a research infrastructure of more than € 2 billion.

You might also be interested in:

EnABLES – Homepage

EnABLES – EU-Project

EnABLES is funded by the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under Grant Agreement No 730957.

EnABLES

Ein Forschungsinfrastrukturprogramm zur Förderung des Internets der Dinge, das im Rahmen des Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramms Horizont 2020 der Europäischen Union finanziert wird.

EnABLES – European Infrastructure Powering the Internet of Things

Was ist das EnABLES-Projekt?

European Infrastructure Powering the Internet of Things
© EnABLES

European Infrastructure Powering the Internet of Things

Bis 2025 wird es weltweit geschätzt eine Milliarde IoT-Geräte geben, die alle mit Energie versorgt werden müssen. Das Projekt zielt darauf ab, die Notwendigkeit eines Batteriewechsels, wo immer möglich, durch den Einsatz von Energy Harvesting-Lösungen zu eliminieren und Wege zu finden, den Stromverbrauch von Geräten signifikant zu reduzieren. Im EnABLES-Projekt arbeiten mehrere hundert Forscher und Entwickler, um Energy Harvesting-, Speicher- und Micro-Power-Management-Lösungen für das integrierte Design und den Einsatz miniaturisierter autonomer Sensoren voranzutreiben. Das EnABLES-Angebot reicht von Technologien und Simulationsmodellen bis hin zum Design von Geräten und Systemen. Die EnABLES-Institute unterstützen die Interessengruppen bzw. IoT-Entwickler und -Hersteller, um die Einführung dieser Technologie in realen Anwendungen zu beschleunigen.

Die Institute bieten ihr Know-how und ihre Infrastruktur für die Entwicklung von »selbstversorgenden« Sensorlösungen an. Basierend auf den Teilbereichen Energy Harvesting, Energiespeicherung, Micro-Power-Design, Power- Management und Systemintegration wird im Rahmen des Projekts kostenloser Zugang zu Simulationen, Laboren sowie aber auch zu Fachkenntnissen, z. B. in Konzept- und Machbarkeitsstudien, angeboten. Über das sogenannte Transnational Access (TA)-Programm, das im Juli 2018 veröffentlicht wird, erfolgt auf einfache und schnelle Weise die Kooperation zwischen interessierten Firmen und den EnABLES-Instituten.

Wer sind die Partner des Projekts?

Die TA-Anbieter sind das Tyndall National Institute (Koordinator; Irland), CEA (Leti & Liten), Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer IMS (Deutschland) und imec (Niederlande). Darüber hinaus wird von den Universitäten von Southampton und Perugia ein virtueller Zugang zu Datenbanken mit Schwingungsdaten aus realen Anwendungen angeboten. EnABLES finanziert auch gemeinsame Forschungsaktivitäten (Joint Research Activities JRAs) zwischen den oben genannten Partnern zusammen mit dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie, dem Politecnico di Torino und der Universität Bologna. Es ist vorgesehen, dass die JRA zu künftigen TA-Angeboten führen werden.

Was sind die Ziele von EnABLES?

EnABLES wird die wichtigsten europäischen Forschungsinfrastrukturen zusammenbringen, um das Internet der Dinge (IoT) mit Energie zu versorgen:

  1. Bereitstellung einer Zugangsinfrastruktur zu sechs weltweit führenden Forschungs- und Technologiezentren, ergänzt durch fünf interdisziplinäre Wissenszentren für Exzellenz in der Pionierforschung, die das Wachstum einer Gemeinschaft im IoT-Energiebereich integrieren und fördern.
  2. Nutzung des einzigartigen Vorsprungs Europas im Bereich Energy Harvesting, Energiespeicher- und Micro-Power-Management, um die Entwicklung und den Einsatz von miniaturisierten, autonomen Sensoren zu ermöglichen.
  3. Beschleunigung der Entwicklung von Querschnittslösungen, die die Lücke zwischen den Energieanforderungen typischer Anwendungen und der Energieversorgung aus Energy Harvesting schließen, um autonome, drahtlose Geräte zu realisieren.
  4. Beschleunigung der Innovation bei IoT-Geräten und Extrahierung des Werts der entstehenden autonomen Sensoren durch Implementierung und Einsatz unter realen Bedingungen.
  5. Erfassung des Innovationspotenzials miniaturisierter autonomer Sensoren in verschiedenen IoT-Anwendungen und -Diensten durch Entwicklung einer Community zur Unterstützung der Integration und Positionierung der europäischen Gemeinschaften bei der Stromversorgung von IoT-Geräten.

Herausforderungen und Chancen des IoT

Bis zum Jahr 2025 wird es weltweit eine Milliarde IoT-Geräte geben, die Strom benötigen. Die Herausforderung besteht darin, die Notwendigkeit eines Batteriewechsels durch die Entwicklung von Energy Harvesting und Energiespeicherlösungen zu beseitigen (oder deutlich zu reduzieren) und gleichzeitig den Energieverbrauch des IoT-Geräts zu reduzieren. Durch den einfachen Zugang zu Schlüsselinfrastruktur und Know-how wird EnABLES Forscher und Anwender aus der Industrie zusammenbringen, um anwendungsorientierte Lösungen für IoT-Geräte und -Systeme zu entwickeln.

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Zugang zu Energy Harvesting Systemen und Laboren

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Labore mit verschiedenen Geräten, Generatoren und Energiemanagement-Testkits an.
© Fraunhofer IIS

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Labore mit verschiedenen Geräten, Generatoren und Energiemanagement-Testkits an.

Durch die Gestaltung, Charakterisierung und Optimierung von Energy Harvesting Systemen bietet das Fraunhofer IIS Zugang zu Laboren mit verschiedenen Messgeräten, Generatoren und Energiemanagement-Testkits sowie Plattformen für das Projekt EnABLES.

Typische Anwendungen sind die Entwicklung von Energy Harvesting Systemen mit verfügbaren Bausteinen wie thermoelektrischen Generatoren, Vibrationswandlern oder Solarmodulen, Spannungswandlern und Speichergeräten für spezielle Anwendungsfälle.

Die Labore des Fraunhofer IIS bieten folgende Ausstattung und technische Angebote:

 

Hauptausstattung Technisches Angebot
  • Tira elektrodynamischer Shaker S 52110
  • dSPACE DS1104 R&D Controllerplatine
  • Autolab PGSTAT302N und FRA32M-Modul: Impedanzspektroskopie im Bereich von 10 µ; Hz – 1 MHz
  • Vorhandene Skripte zur Erlangung von 3D-Plots der charakterisierten Harvester
  • Agilent DC Power Analyzer N6705A
  • Lasersensor zur exakten Amplitudenmessung von mechanischen Harvestern
  • Wärmebildkamera VarioCAM hochauflösend (640×480 Pixel, Genauigkeit von ± 1.5 K)
  • Digitale Widerstandskarte
  • Heizplatte
  • Messung und Aufzeichnung der Leistungsabgabe von Energy Harvesting Systemen (wie Solarzellen, thermoelektrische Generatoren, Vibrationswandlern)
  • Design und Implementierung von Mikropowermanagement und Energy Harvesting Systemen
  • Muster und Materialien verschiedener Harvester
  • Powermanagement-Testkits  

Wie erhalte ich Zugang?

Beispiele für Angebote können auf der Website von EnABLES eingesehen werden und ein Online-Anfrageformular ist unter www.enables-project.eu verfügbar. Alle Ergebnisse der Transnational Access (TA)- und Virtual Access (VA)-Aktivitäten von EnABLES werden im Rahmen des Ziels von EnABLES öffentlich zugänglich gemacht, um ein kollaboratives Ökosystem aufzubauen, das miniaturisierte und autonome Sensoren erzeugt. EnABLES bringt bereits ein Konsortium von 130 Forschern zusammen, die Zugang zu einer Forschungsinfrastruktur von mehr als 2 Milliarden Euro ermöglichen.

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

Energy Harvesting

EnABLES – Homepage

EnABLES – EU-Projekt

ENABLES wird durch das Forschungs- und Innovationsprogramm Horizont 2020 der Europäischen Union im Rahmen der Finanzhilfevereinbarung Nr. 730957 finanziert.