IoT-Systems

Research and development of systems and applications for the Internet of Things.

Research for IoT-Systems

Secure Internet of Things devices and applications

In the research area IoT-Systems, we combine interdisciplinary processes and developments in electrical engineering, computer science, mechanics and industrial design.

We offer you a technology-neutral one-stop shop for customer-specific planning and development of applications in the Internet of Things and their system integration in the sectors of industry, facility management, environmental technology, energy, logistics and transport.

Our focus is on the application-specific integration of wireless communication systems, localization systems, self-sufficient power supplies, Edge Computing platforms including Edge Analytics and application-specific sensor technology considering tailored IT security.

IoT-Systems – At a glance

 

Technologies

Learn more about our research and development results for the Internet of Things.

 

Services

We develop, implement and optimize processes, products and systems to application and market maturity. We align our research with the latest methods and findings.

Applications & Projects

Find out about the possibilities in your area of application with our developments and find out more about current projects in practice.

 

Highlight: Cyber Security

As part of a holistic approach, we focus our research on the secure integration of IoT devices. We pass on our knowledge in tools, methods and training courses.

Highlight: Energy Harvesting

In Energy Harvesting, we develop and investigate technologies and systems for generating energy from the environment to supply small electronic consumers.

Highlight: Wireless Sensors

We develop and realize energy-optimized, wirelessly communicating sensor modules, i.a. in the fields of environmental sensors, gas sensors and fill levels.

Current topics

Press releases

All press releases from the field of localization and networking can be found under Press from Fraunhofer IIS.

 

Fraunhofer IIS at electronica

The Fraunhofer Institute IIS will present technologies for cognitive sensors and electronic components in the Internet of Things (IoT) at the electronica from 13th to 16th November 2018. With live demonstrations, visitors can learn how processes and applications with localization, communication and power supply technologies can be made more effective in order to maintain competitive advantages.

 

EnABLES

The European Union H2020 «EnABLES» research infrastructure project has just launched its Transnational Access program, which offers free-of-charge access to equipment, tools and expertise related to «powering the Internet of Things (IoT)». The vision of EnABLES is to develop Energy Harvesting solutions and finding ways to reduce the power consumption of devices to eliminate the need for battery replacement.

 

Fraunhofer IIS at the Sensor + Test 2018

At the Sensor + Test 2018 from 26 to 28 June 2018 in Nuremberg, Fraunhofer IIS showed how production, logistics and transport processes can be optimized with the correct use of data. The tracking of goods was so far only with great effort, without digital proof and usually not completely possible. With the energy self-sufficient tracking system ENTRAS of Fraunhofer IIS, a low-installation, application-oriented and consistent localization is possible

 

Cyber Security for IoT applications

Meanwhile almost every area of daily life needs modern communication systems. Reliable communication systems are essential for a functioning economy and our closely networked society.

Our goal: To increase the safety awareness of all involved

 

Thermoelectric power supply for industrial applications

Digital networking of sensors is required in industrial companies. Not only communication but also energy supply challenges the industry in such environments. Fraunhofer IIS offers an attractive solution compared to batteries and wired power supply with Energy Harvesting technologies. The BlueTEG Pipe is a regenerative, maintenance-free and easy-to-install power supply for any wireless sensor in production.

 

Energy self-sufficient tracking

Together with the German Research Center for Artificial Intelligence (DFKI), Fraunhofer IIS developed a tracking system that monitors selected sensor data with energy self-sufficiency. With previous solutions, it is only possible to reliably locate rescue workers in hazardous environments or track containers in the industry with little effort. The results of the project were presented at the Hannover Messe 2017.

 

Edge Computing Platform OGEMA

Digital Industry 4.0 processes generate a multitude of data. Frequently, cloud communication is not quick and effective enough. The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS introduced OGEMA, an Edge Computing platform, at the Hannover Messe, which provides economical and secure data collection and processing of information directly in the application.

Fairs and Events

 

electronica 2018

Visit us from the 13th to the 16th of November 2018 in Munich at the electronica. Find out more about new products of Energy Harvesting at our Fraunhofer booth in Hall C5 / 426. We are looking forward to interesting discussions.

Contact

Jasmin Specht

Contact Press / Media

Jasmin Specht

Contact IoT-Systems

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nuremberg, Germany

Phone +49 911 58061-9335

Fax +49 911 58061-9399

IoT-Systeme

Forschung und Entwicklung von Systemen und Anwendungen für das Internet of Things

Forschung für IoT-Systeme

Sichere Internet of Things Devices und Anwendungen

Im Geschäftsfeld IoT-Systeme kombinieren wir interdisziplinäre Verfahren und Entwicklungen aus Elektrotechnik, Informatik, Mechanik und Industriedesign.

Wir bieten Ihnen einen technologieneutralen One-Stop-Shop für die kundenspezifische Planung und Entwicklung von Anwendungen im Internet of Things und deren Systemintegration in den Branchen Industrie, Facility-Management, Umwelttechnik, Energiewirtschaft, Logistik und Transport.

Dabei liegt unser Fokus auf der applikationsspezifischen Einbindung von drahtlosen Kommunikationssystemen, Lokalisierungssystemen, autarken Energieversorgungen, Edge Computing-Plattformen einschließlich Edge Analytics und applikationsspezifischer Sensorik unter Berücksichtigung von zugeschnittener IT-Sicherheit.

IoT-Systeme – Auf einen Blick

 

Technologien

Erfahren Sie mehr über unsere Ergebnisse aus Forschung und Entwicklung für das Internet of Things.

 

Leistungen

Wir entwickeln, realisieren und optimieren Verfahren, Produkte und Anlagen bis zur Einsatz- und Marktreife. Wir richten unsere Forschung nach den neuesten Verfahren und Erkenntnissen aus.

Anwendungen & Projekte

Informieren Sie sich über die Möglichkeiten in Ihrem Anwendungsgebiet mit unseren Entwicklungen und erfahren Sie mehr über laufende Projekte in der Praxis.

Highlight: Cybersicherheit

Im Rahmen eines ganzheitlichen Ansatzes fokussieren wir unsere Forschung auf die sichere Einbindung von IoT-Devices. Unser Wissen geben wir in Werkzeugen, Methoden und Schulungen weiter.

Highlight: Energy Harvesting

Im Energy Harvesting entwickeln und untersuchen wir Technologien und Systeme zur Energiegewinnung aus der Umgebung, um kleine elektronische Verbraucher zu versorgen.

Highlight: Drahtlose Sensoren

Wir entwickeln und realisieren energieoptimierte, drahtlos kommunizierende Sensormodule, u.a. in den Bereichen Umweltsensorik, Gassensorik und Füllstände.

Aktuelles

Presseinformationen

Alle Presseinformationen aus dem Bereich Lokalisierung und Vernetzung finden Sie unter Presse vom Fraunhofer IIS.

 

Fraunhofer IIS auf der electronica

Das Fraunhofer IIS stellt auf der electronica vom 13. bis 16. November 2018 Technologien für kognitive Sensoren und elektronische Komponenten im IoT vor. Mit Live-Demonstrationen können Besucher erfahren, wie Prozesse und Anwendungen mit Lokalisierungs-, Kommunikations- und Energieversorgungstechnologien effektiver gestaltet werden können, um weiterhin Wettbewerbsvorteile zu halten.

 

Fraunhofer IIS auf der Sensor+Test 2018

Das Fraunhofer IIS zeigte auf der Sensor+Test 2018, wie mit der richtigen Nutzung von Daten Produktions-, Logistik- und Transportprozesse optimiert werden können. Die Nachverfolgung von Waren war bislang nur mit hohem Aufwand, ohne digitalen Nachweis und meistens nicht lückenlos möglich. Mit dem energieautarken Trackingsystem ENTRAS vom Fraunhofer IIS ist eine installationsarme, anwendungsorientierte und durchgängige Lokalisierung möglich.

 

Cybersicherheit für IoT-Anwendungen

Mittlerweile benötigt fast jeder Bereich des täglichen Lebens moderne Kommunikationssysteme. Für eine funktionierende Wirtschaft und unsere eng vernetzte Gesellschaft sind zuverlässige Kommunikationssysteme essentiell.

Unser Ziel: Schärfung des Sicherheitsbewusstseins aller Beteiligten

 

Thermoelektrische Energieversorgung für Industrieanwendungen

Eine digitale Vernetzung von Sensoren wird in Industriebetrieben gefordert. Nicht nur die Kommunikation sondern auch die Energieversorgung stellt die Industrie in solchen Umgebungen vor Herausforderungen. Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet mit Energy Harvesting-Technologien eine attraktive Lösung im Vergleich zu Batterien und kabelgebundener Stromversorgung an. Das BlueTEG Pipe stellt eine regenerative, wartungsfreie und einfach zu installierende Energieversorgung für beliebige drahtlose Sensoren innerhalb der Produktion dar.

 

Edge Computing Plattform OGEMA

In digitalen Industrie 4.0-Prozessen fallen eine Vielzahl von Daten an. Häufig ist hier eine Kommunikation über die Cloud nicht schnell und effektiv genug. Das Fraunhofer Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS stellte mit OGEMA eine Edge Computing-Plattform auf der Hannover Messe vor, die für eine sparsame und sichere Datensammlung und Verarbeitung von Informationen direkt in der Anwendung sorgt.

 

Energieautarkes Tracking

Das Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte gemeinsam mit dem Deutschen Forschungszentrum für Künstliche Intelligenz (DFKI) ein Trackingsystem, das ausgewählte Sensordaten energieautark überwacht. Mit bisherigen Lösungen ist es nur eingeschränkt möglich, Rettungskräfte in gefährlichen Umgebungen zuverlässig zu lokalisieren oder Container in der Industrie mit wenig Aufwand nachzuverfolgen. Die Ergebnisse des Projekts wurden auf der Hannover Messe 2017 vorgestellt.

Messen und Veranstaltungen

 

electronica 2018

Besuchen Sie uns vom 13. - 16. November in München auf der electronica. Erfahren Sie auf unserem Fraunhofer-Gemeinschaftsstand in Halle C5 / 426 mehr über Neuheiten von Energy Harvesting. Wir freuen uns auf interessante Gespräche.

Kontakt

Jasmin Specht

Contact Press / Media

Jasmin Specht

Kontakt IoT-Systeme

Fraunhofer IIS
Nordostpark 84
90411 Nürnberg

Telefon +49 911 58061-9335

Fax +49 911 58061-9399