Edge Computing Framework

Secure framework for your IoT-System

The framework for Industry 4.0, building and energy management

OGEMA was developed as a linkage platform for a variety of communication technologies, which also provides a runtime environment for local apps and can be run on a variety of edge controllers.

Around a core, the actual OGEMA framework, further, even complex interfaces and applications can be added, which can interact freely with each other.

Around a core, the actual OGEMA framework, further, even complex interfaces and applications can be added, which can interact freely with each other.

These individual small programs manage on-site all upcoming tasks. If required, OGEMA supports a secure and reliable connection to the cloud or even runs in the cloud. Specially created or already existing apps in a library can be installed during operation. One or more cooperative apps can easily solve more complex automation and monitoring tasks. The integrated security concept provides configurable access to local assets.

 

A large number of already existing interfaces facilitates a fast prototyping for the user. All data that a communications adapter receives or transmits is stored or read in a system-internal database. To ensure interoperability between the different interfaces and the apps, OGEMA maps the data to internal standardized data types. Other interfaces in the form of apps can be easily connected. Each app, but also the basic OGEMA system, has its own user interface in the form of optional web apps based on HTML 5 and JavaScript standards. Thus, without the installation of special software, mobile devices as well as standard computers can access the respective information.

 

The technological core is an integrated runtime environment for local apps that offer the highest level of flexibility. Applications such as condition monitoring, visualization and control of processes, but also energy and load management can be programmed in the form of local apps. These have standardized interfaces and can be operated without modification on various edge controllers as well as in the cloud. Specially created or already existing apps in a library can be installed during operation, if necessary via its own App Store. The integrated security concept provides configurable access to local assets.

 

Safety is very important to us.

Our platform includes a multi-level security concept. Depending on your needs, you can choose from three security levels. The definition of roles and the individual assignment of access rights and usage rights are intuitive.

The technical facts

Fraunhofer IIS offers with OGEMA a software framework that integrates any communication interface. The data of the connected devices are converted to standardized communication objects in OGEMA and stored in OGEMA's own internal resource database.

This is designed as a directed data graph and gives the user the opportunity to map the physical world behind the system in the data structure. Thus, a tree structure can depict a building in floors, apartments and rooms or the structure of a production hall. The data is kept persistent in the database so that it will be available again after the system is rebooted. For connected devices that send data cyclically, historical data can be stored in form of time series.

The app concept

On the OGEMA Framework individually created applications are installed in the form of apps. This installation can be done either with the help of a local server, an app store or, if desired, remotely with the help of an administrator. Apps access the database of the resource database and thus the stored communication objects. It is also possible to search for specific structures in the database and to register for specific events. In this case, the app is notified when certain data objects on the connected communication interfaces have changed and it can be reacts to it in a targeted manner.

 

Apps for complex exchange and synchronization options:

  • Bidirectional data synchronization with OPC UA servers
  • Node-RED plugin for interaction with graphically connected JavaScript modules for rapid application prototyping
  • Interface to the PLC OpenPCS software from infoteam Software AG for PLC controllers programmed to IEC61131
  • PFA (Portable Format for Analytics) interface for Data Analytics in preparation
  • Reload apps with PKI infrastructure from custom app stores

Security concept with different usage rights

Data Security
© Maksim Kabakou – Fotolia.com

We offer a framework that provides all the security mechanisms for optimal protection on the app page.

Safety already played an important role in the system design of OGEMA. Depending on the required security level, the integrated multi-level security concept allows targeted protection of the system. At the lowest level, the framework works as a single-user system. Further stages cover multi-user systems up to the construction of safety-critical systems. Different roles and users can be defined. Each app of a user can fine granular access rights to certain resources in the database. Since the communication adapters are also designed as apps, individual protection rights for each communication interface can only unlock the data objects relevant to them for access. All communication relationships with the Internet or a local WLAN are encrypted according to the state of the art. Special security measures ensure that the communication of apps on smartphones or tablets is sufficiently secured

Peter Heusinger talks about OGEMA

Note: When you start the video, data is transferred to YouTube.

USPs

  • Easy expandability through flexible app concept
    Download apps from a server or app store without interrupting system operation, remote administration possible

  • Interoperability through variable resource database
    Persistent resource graph recreates system structure and uses standardized data objects

  • Fast extension of further communication interfaces
    System can be extended by special adapter apps during operation with new interfaces

  • Variety of interfaces already available
    Offer covers the area of energy management, smart metering, building, Industry 4.0 and cloud connectivity

  • Multi-level security concept
    Supports single-user and multi-user operation, encryption of communication to the internet and protection of access via web apps

  • Hardware independence
    OGEMA and apps created for it are executable without changes on different processors

  • Run on commercial industrial hardware
    OGEMA supports the revolution PI from Kunbus and OnRISC Alekto 2, further implementations on request

Application scenarios

The system integration mechanisms of the Fraunhofer IIS Edge Computing platform can be used in a variety of application scenarios.

Edge Computing for Industry 4.0

Comprehensive Communication for Individual Production with OGEMA
© zapp2photo – Fotolia.com

Comprehensive Communication for Individual Production with OGEMA

Industry 4.0 is now used in many places and ensures that the production of products as well as the transport logistics can be made more individual, cheaper and faster in terms of time. Individual production up to batch size 1 but also the cloud connection plays a major role here. According to your requirements and wishes, we can develop individual applications for machine control in connection with the integrated software SPS.

Further information about Industry 4.0

Edge Computing framework for building management

Manage energy with OGEMA intelligently and flexibly in buildings.

If you follow current trends in development, you can see how buildings today are increasingly equipped with intelligence to optimize their operation, increase energy efficiency and improve substance conservation. In the private sector, buildings and apartments are turning into smart homes. These offer residents an increase in comfort, more safety and the opportunity to save energy without sacrificing comfort.

Further information about building management

Edge Computing framework for energy management

OGEMA 2.0 Energy Management System
© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Convenient, smart and mobile control with OGEMA

The certification of energy-intensive production companies to ISO 50.001, the rollout of smart meters, the nationwide reorganization of energy generation through the use of renewable energy sources combined with the significant increase in the burden on electrical distribution grids define today the priorities of flexible energy management.

Further information about energy mangement

OGEMA is an open source framework

The source code of the framework and a preconfigured demo kit are available through the Github hosting service at github.com/ogema.

We are happy to customize OGEMA for you according to your wishes and requirements. For commercial use, OGEMA licenses can be purchased.

As an independent research institute, we help you find the best solution to your problems. With existing devices, components and technologies, we develop new, tailor-made applications. With partners from the industry we explore the optimal, application-oriented solution.

History of OGEMA

OGEMA was created in the project »OGEMA 2.0«. As part of this project, the Fraunhofer Institutes for Integrated Circuits IIS, Solar Energy Systems ISE, and Wind Energy and Energy System Technology IWES worked together with industry partners on an open energy management gateway as an interface between »Smart Building« and »Smart Grid«. The project objective was an open communication system for optimal energy use of various energy producers, storage and consumers. This goal was realized and we were able to make a valuable contribution in communicating the supply stability of network operators.

After completion of the project, Fraunhofer IIS intensified its use of its own developments OGEMA for the application scenarios Industry 4.0 and Buildings.

Funded by

 

Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy

 

Further information about the project OGEMA

Free download

The source code of the framework and a pre-configured demo kit are now available through the hosting service Github.

Edge Computing Framework

Sicheres Framework für Ihr IoT-System

Das Framework für Industrie 4.0, Gebäude- und Energiemanagement

OGEMA wurde als Verknüpfungsplattform verschiedenster Kommunikationstechnologien entwickelt, die darüber hinaus eine Laufzeitumgebung für lokale Apps zur Verfügung stellt und auf verschiedensten Edge Controllern betrieben werden kann.

Um einen Kern herum, dem eigentlichen OGEMA Framework, können weitere, auch komplexe Interfaces und Anwendungen ergänzt werden, die beliebig miteinander agieren können.

Um einen Kern herum, dem eigentlichen OGEMA Framework, können weitere, auch komplexe Interfaces und Anwendungen ergänzt werden, die beliebig miteinander agieren können.

Diese individuellen kleinen Programme managen vor Ort alle anstehenden Aufgaben. Bei Bedarf unterstützt OGEMA eine sichere und zuverlässige Anbindung in die Cloud oder läuft sogar in der Cloud. Spezifisch erstellte oder bereits in einer Bibliothek vorhandene Apps können während des Betriebs installiert werden. Eine oder mehrere kooperativ agierende Apps können problemlos auch komplexere Automatisierungs- und Überwachungsaufgaben lösen. Das integrierte Sicherheitskonzept sorgt für einen konfigurierbaren Zugriff auf lokale Assets.

 

Eine Vielzahl bereits vorhandener Interfaces erleichtert dem Anwender ein schnelles Prototyping. Alle Daten, die ein Kommunikationsadapter empfängt bzw. sendet, werden in einer systeminternen Datenbank gespeichert oder ausgelesen. Um Interoperabilität zwischen den unterschiedlichen Schnittstellen und den Apps sicherzustellen, bildet OGEMA die Daten auf interne standardisierte Datentypen ab. Weitere Interfaces in Form von Apps können einfach angebunden werden. Jede App, aber auch das OGEMA Basissystem, bietet seine eigene Benutzeroberfläche in Form von optionalen Web-Apps, die auf den Standards HTML 5 und Javascript basieren. So können ohne Installation von spezieller Software, mobile Endgeräte aber auch Standardrechner auf die jeweiligen Informationen zugreifen.

 

Der technologische Kern ist eine integrierte Laufzeitumgebung für lokale Apps, welche ein Höchstmaß an Flexibilität bietet. Anwendungen wie Condition Monitoring, Visualisierung und Steuerung von Prozessen, aber auch Energie- und Lastmanagement können in Form lokaler Apps programmiert werden. Diese besitzen standardisierte Schnittstellen und können ohne Änderung auf verschiedensten Edge Controllern sowie in der Cloud betrieben werden. Spezifisch erstellte oder bereits in einer Bibliothek vorhandene Apps können während des Betriebs installiert werden, bei Bedarf über einen eigenen App-Store. Das integrierte Sicherheitskonzept sorgt für einen konfigurierbaren Zugriff auf lokale Assets.

 

Bei uns wird Sicherheit groß geschrieben.

 

Unsere Plattform beinhaltet ein mehrstufiges Sicherheitskonzept. Je nach Bedarf kann aus drei Sicherheitslevels gewählt werden. Die Definition von Rollen und die individuelle Vergabe von Zugriffsrechten sowie Nutzungsrechten erfolgt intuitiv.

Die technischen Fakten

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet mit OGEMA ein Software Framework an, das beliebige Kommunikationsschnittstellen einbindet. Die Daten der angeschlossenen Geräte werden in OGEMA auf standardisierte Kommunikationsobjekte konvertiert und in der OGEMA eigenen internen Ressourcen-Datenbank abgelegt.

Diese ist als gerichteter Datengraph ausgelegt und gibt dem Nutzer die Möglichkeit, die hinter dem System stehende physikalische Welt in der Datenstruktur abzubilden. So kann eine Baumstruktur ein Gebäude in Stockwerke, Wohnungen und Zimmer abbilden oder die Struktur einer Produktionshalle. Die Daten werden in der Datenbank persistent gehalten, so dass sie nach einem Neustart des Systems wieder zur Verfügung stehen. Für angeschlossene Geräte, die zyklisch Daten senden, können historische Daten in Form von Zeitreihen abgespeichert werden.

Das Appkonzept

Auf dem OGEMA Framework werden individuell erstellte Applikationen in Form von Apps installiert. Diese Installation kann wahlweise mit Hilfe eines lokalen Servers, einem App-Store oder bei Wunsch remote mit Hilfe eines Administrators erfolgen. Apps greifen auf den Datenbestand der Ressource-Datenbank und damit auf die gespeicherten Kommunikationsobjekte zu. Weiterhin besteht die Möglichkeit, nach bestimmten Strukturen in der Datenbank zu suchen und sich für bestimmte Events zu registrieren. In diesem Fall erfolgt eine Benachrichtigung der App, wenn sich bestimmte Datenobjekte auf den angeschlossenen Kommunikationsschnittstellen geändert haben und es kann gezielt darauf reagiert werden.

 

Apps für komplexe Austausch- und Synchronisationsmöglichkeiten:

 

  • Bidirektionale Datensynchronisation mit OPC-UA Servern
  • Node-RED Plugin zur Interaktion mit graphisch verbundenen JavaScript Modulen für Rapid Prototyping von Applikationen
  • Interface zur Software SPS OpenPCS der Firma infoteam Software AG für SPS Steuerungen, die nach IEC61131 programmiert sind
  • PFA-Interface (Portable Format for Analytics) für Data Analytics in Vorbereitung
  • Nachladen von Apps mit PKI Infrastruktur von kundenspezifischen App Stores

Sicherheitskonzept mit unterschiedlichen Nutzungsrechten

Datensicherheit Security Sicherheit
© Maksim Kabakou – Fotolia.com

Wir bieten Ihnen ein Framework an, das alle Sicherheitsmechanismen für einen optimalen Schutz auf der App-Seite bietet.

Bereits bei der Systemkonzeption von OGEMA spielte Sicherheit eine wichtige Rolle. Je nach geforderter Sicherheitsstufe ermöglicht das integrierte mehrstufige Sicherheitskonzept eine gezielte Absicherung des Systems. Im niedrigsten Level arbeitet das Framework als Einzelnutzersystem. Weitere Stufen decken Mehrnutzersysteme bis zum Aufbau von sicherheitskritischen Systemen ab. Es können verschiedene Rollen und Nutzer definiert werden. Jede App eines Nutzers kann feingranular Zugriffsrechte für bestimmte Ressourcen in der Datenbank erhalten. Da auch die Kommunikations-Adapter als Apps ausgelegt sind, können  individuelle Schutzrechte für jede Kommunikationsschnittstelle nur die für sie relevanten Datenobjekte für einen Zugriff freischalten. Alle Kommunikationsbeziehungen mit dem Internet oder einem lokalen WLAN sind nach Stand der Technik verschlüsselt. Spezielle Sicherungsmaßnahmen sorgen dafür, dass auch die Kommunikation von Web-Apps auf Smartphones oder Tablets ausreichend abgesichert sind

Peter Heusinger spricht über OGEMA

Hinweis: Mit dem Starten des Videos werden Daten an YouTube übertragen.

Alleinstellungsmerkmale

  • Leichte Erweiterbarkeit durch flexibles App-Konzept
    Laden der Apps von einem Server oder App-Store ohne Unterbrechung des Systembetriebs, Fernadministration möglich

  • Interoperabilität durch variable Ressourcen-Datenbank
    Persistenter Ressourcen-Graph bildet Systemstruktur nach und nutzt standardisierte Datenobjekte

  • Schnelle Erweiterung von weiteren Kommunikationsschnittstellen
    System kann durch spezielle Adapter-Apps während des Betriebs mit neuen Schnittstellen erweitert werden

  • Vielzahl von Schnittstellen bereits verfügbar
    Angebot deckt die Bereiche Energie Management, Smart Metering, Gebäude, Industrie 4.0 und Cloud-Anbindung ab

  • Mehrstufiges Sicherheitskonzept
    Unterstützt Einzelnutzer- und Mehrnutzerbetrieb, Verschlüsselung der Kommunikation ins Internet und Schutz des Zugriffs über Web-Apps

  • Hardwareunabhängigkeit
    OGEMA und dafür erstellte Apps sind ohne Änderungen auf unterschiedlichen Prozessoren lauffähig

  • Auf kommerzieller industrieller Hardware lauffähig
    OGEMA unterstützt den Revolution PI der Firma Kunbus und OnRISC Alekto 2, weitere Implementierungen auf Anfrage

Anwendungsszenarien

Die Systemintegrationsmechanismen der Fraunhofer IIS Edge Computing Plattform können in einer Vielzahl von Anwendungsszenarien eingesetzt werden.

Edge Computing für Industrie 4.0

Übergreifende Kommunikation bei individueller Produktion mit OGEMA
© zapp2photo – Fotolia.com

Übergreifende Kommunikation bei individueller Produktion mit OGEMA

Industrie 4.0 wird inzwischen an vielen Stellen eingesetzt und sorgt dafür, dass die Herstellung von Produkten und auch die Transportlogistik individueller, kostengünstiger und zeitlich schneller erfolgen können. Dabei spielt die individuelle Produktion bis zur Losgröße 1 aber auch die Cloud-Anbindung eine große Rolle. Nach Ihren Anforderungen und Wünschen können wir in Verbindung mit der integrierten Software SPS individuelle Applikationen zur Maschinensteuerung entwickeln.

Weitere Informationen zu Industrie 4.0

Edge Computing Framework für Gebäudemanagement

Energie mit OGEMA intelligent und flexibel in Gebäuden steuern.

Verfolgt man aktuelle Entwicklungstrends, erkennt man, wie Gebäude heute verstärkt mit Intelligenz ausgerüstet werden, um ihren Betrieb zu optimieren, die Energieeffizienz zu steigern und die Substanzerhaltung zu verbessern. Im privaten Bereich entwickeln sich Gebäude und Wohnungen zu Smart Homes. Diese bieten Bewohnern eine Komfortsteigerung, mehr Sicherheit und die Möglichkeit Energie einzusparen ohne Komfort einzubüßen.

Weitere Informationen zu Gebäudemanagement

Edge Computing Framework für Energiemanagement

OGEMA 2.0 Energiemanagement System
© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs

Bequem, smart und mobil steuern mit OGEMA

Die Zertifizierung von energieintensiven Produktionsunternehmen nach ISO 50.001, der Rollout von Smart Metern, der flächendeckende Umbau der Energieerzeugung durch Nutzung regenerativer Energieträger verbunden mit der deutlich gestiegenen Belastung der elektrischen Verteilnetze definieren heute die Schwerpunkaufgaben eines flexiblen Energiemanagements.

Weitere Informationen zu Energiemanagement

OGEMA ist ein Open Source Framework

Der Quellcode des Frameworks und ein vorkonfiguriertes Demo-Kit stehen über den Hosting-Dienst Github unter github.com/ogema zur Verfügung.

Gerne passen wir für Sie OGEMA nach Ihren Wünschen und Anforderungen an. Für die kommerzielle Nutzung können OGEMA-Lizenzen erworben werden.

Als unabhängiges Forschungsinstitut unterstützen wir Sie, die beste Lösung für Ihre Probleme zu finden. Mit vorhandenen Geräten, Komponenten und Technologien entwickeln wir neue, passgenaue Anwendungen. Mit Partnern aus der Industrie erforschen wir die optimale, anwendungsorientierte Lösung.

Historie von OGEMA

OGEMA entstand im Projekt »OGEMA 2.0«. Im Rahmen dieses Projekts arbeiteten die Fraunhofer-Institute für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, für Solare Energiesysteme ISE und für Windenergie und Energiesystemtechnik IWES gemeinsam mit Partnern aus der Industrie an einem offenen Energiemanagement-Gateway als Schnittstelle zwischen »Smart Building« und »Smart Grid«. Das Projektziel war ein offenes Kommunikationssystem zur optimalen Energienutzung verschiedenster Energieerzeuger, -speicher und –verbraucher. Dieses Ziel wurde realisiert und so konnten wir einen wertvollen Beitrag bei der Kommunikation zur Versorgungsstabilität der Netzbetreiber leisten.

Nach Projektende hat das Fraunhofer IIS durch Eigenentwicklungen OGEMA verstärkt für die Anwendungsszenarien Industrie 4.0 und Gebäude fit gemacht.

Gefördert durch

 

Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie

 

Weitere Informationen zum Projekt OGEMA

Kostenloser Download

Der Quellcode des Frameworks und ein vorkonfiguriertes Demo-Kit stehen ab sofort über den Hosting-Dienst Github zur Verfügung.