Cyber Security in the IoT

Data security is playing an increasingly important role in many fields. The security mechanisms at interfaces to industrial plants, residential buildings and people must be adapted to the latest requirements as needed.

more info

Edge Computing

Our framework collects all data and stores it securely internally. It then pre-processes the data and sends the relevant information for further processing to local servers or, if necessary, to the cloud.

more info

Energy Harvesting

Fraunhofer IIS investigates and develops microelectronic circuits, energy converters, and systems for using energy from the environment to supply small electronic consumers in a self-sufficient manner.

more info

Wireless Sensors

Wireless data transmission systems are increasingly finding applications in the context of the Internet of Things. Our wireless solutions help you to gain and evaluate this data.

more info

IoT-COMMs

The research center IoT-COMMs combines basic technologies and application know-how in the fields of industrial production, logistics and smart cities.

more info

Technologies for IoT-Systems

Overview of our technologies

The IoT Systems research area combines many years of experience and expertise at Fraunhofer IIS. With our new technologies, we can assist you with getting fit for the Internet of Things.

 

Cyber Security

The progressive digitization in the industrial sector requires the development of new security concepts to meet changing needs. In the M2M communication, we deal with device-to-device authentication, context-aware authentication, life-cycle management, and key management.

 

Edge Computing

For many applications it becomes clear that data processing only in the cloud is not the optimal solution. There are currently two complementary approaches to data storage and processing: cloud and Edge Computing. Our Edge Computing platform ensures the economical and secure handling of information in the vicinity of the application.

 

Wireless Sensors

Together with industrial partners, we develop wireless sensors for different application scenarios. Our goal is to create a modular hardware and software system that can collect different environmental metrics. Afterwards, they are simply integrated into an IoT platform so that they are individually available for each target group.

 

Energy Harvesting

Self-powered, maintenance-free and wireless systems with unlimited uptime – that's the goal of our Energy Harvesting technologies. Available energy sources from the environment such as light, heat, or motion serve as an energy source for wireless sensors, displays and other small consumers.

 

IoT-COMMs

The research center IoT-COMMs aims with its work to bundle the competences of different Fraunhofer institutes. The focus here is on IoT basic technologies, information security and application know-how. Cognitive IoT-Systems provide a large contribution in the areas of industrial production, logistics and smart cities. These three areas are currently in a constant state of change due to digitization and service orientation.

Cybersicherheit im IoT

Datensicherheit spielt in vielen Feldern eine immer größere Rolle. Die Sicherheitsmechanismen bei Schnittstellen zu Industriebetrieben, Wohngebäuden und Menschen müssen an die neuesten Anforderungen je nach Bedarf angepasst werden.

mehr Info

Edge Computing Plattform

Unser Framework sammelt alle Daten und speichert diese sicher intern ab. Anschließend verarbeitet es die Daten vor und sendet die relevanten Informationen zur Weiterverarbeitung an lokale Server oder wenn nötig in die Cloud.

mehr Info

Energy Harvesting

Das Fraunhofer IIS untersucht und entwickelt mikroelektronische Schaltungen, Energiewandler und Systeme zur Nutzung von Energie aus der Umgebung, um kleine elektronische Verbraucher autark zu versorgen.

mehr Info

Drahtlose Sensoren

Funksysteme zur drahtlosen Datenübertragung finden vermehrt Anwendungen im Rahmen des Internet of Things. Unsere drahtlosen Lösungen helfen Ihnen diese Daten zu gewinnen und auszuwerten.

mehr Info

IoT-COMMs

Das Forschungszentrum IoT-COMMs kombiniert Basistechnologien und Anwendungs-Know-how in den Bereichen industrielle Produktion, Logistik und Smart-Cities.

mehr Info

Technologien für IoT-Systeme

Übersicht unserer Technologien

Im Geschäftsfeld IoT-Systeme werden langjährige Erfahrung und Kompetenzen am Fraunhofer IIS gebündelt. Dank unserer neuartigen Technologien können wir Ihnen helfen, fit für das Internet der Dinge zu werden.

 

Cybersicherheit

Die fortschreitende Digitalisierung im Industriesektor erfordert die Entwicklung neuer Sicherheitskonzepte, um den sich ändernden Anforderungen gerecht zu werden. Wir beschäftigen uns bei der M2M-Kommunikation mit der Authentifizierung zwischen den Geräten, Context-Aware Authentication, Life-Cycle Management und Key Management.

 

Edge Computing

Für viele Anwendungen wird deutlich, dass eine Datenverarbeitung nur in der Cloud nicht die optimale Lösung ist. Derzeit ergänzen sich zwei Verfahren bei der Datenspeicherung und -verarbeitung: Cloud und Edge Computing. Unsere Edge Computing Plattform sorgt für einen sparsamen und sicheren Umgang von Informationen in der Nähe der Anwendung.

 

Drahtlose Sensoren

Wir entwickeln zusammen mit Industriepartnern drahtlose Sensoren für verschiedene Anwendungsszenarien. Unser Ziel ist es, ein auf Hard- und Softwareebene modulares System zu schaffen, mit dessen Hilfe unterschiedliche Umweltmesswerte gesammelt werden können. Anschließend werden sie einfach in eine IoT-Plattform eingebunden, so dass sie für jede Zielgruppe individuell zur Verfügung stehen.

 

Energy Harvesting

Energieautarke, wartungsfreie und kabellose Systeme mit unbegrenzter Betriebszeit – das ist das Ziel unserer Energy Harvesting Technologien. Verfügbare Energiequellen aus der Umgebung wie Licht, Wärme oder Bewegung dienen dabei als Energielieferant für Funksensoren, Displays und andere Kleinverbraucher.

 

IoT-COMMs

Das Forschungszentrum IoT-COMMs zielt mit seiner Arbeit darauf ab, die Kompetenzen verschiedener Fraunhofer Institute zu bündeln. Im Fokus steht hierbei IoT-Basistechnologien, Informationssicherheit und Anwendungs-Know-how. Kognitive IoT-Systeme liefern einen großen Betrag in den Bereichen der industriellen Produktion, Logistik und Smart-Cities. Diese drei Bereich befinden sich aktuell aufgrund der Digitalisierung und Dienstleistungsorientierung in einem stetigen Wandel.