Edge Computing

The future of the cloud lies in the Edge – in a secure way!

Secure Edge Computing for IoT-Systems

Reliable Edge Computing systems

Digital processes generate a large amount of data. Often, communication via the cloud is not fast enough and effective enough. Reliable Edge Computing systems are needed to enable system integration and upgrading to Industry 4.0 capability to manage a large number of different interfaces, network different isolated solutions, integrate new application programs and take IT security in systems into account.

For many applications it becomes clear that data collection in the cloud is not the optimal solution. There are currently two competing approaches to data storage and processing: Cloud and Edge Computing. Digital applications, in particular, generate large amounts of data that are usually not actually needed to this extent. In addition, some processes require real-time information so that they can respond quickly to various events. When applications need data on an economical scale immediately and above all securely, it is questionable whether data storage in the cloud is the most suitable solution.

What is Edge Computing?

Edge Computing is a process in which data, services and application information are shifted directly to the logical «edge» of a network. The costly route to and from the cloud, which is often the bottleneck for fast and effective communication, is eliminated.

How does Edge Computing work?

Edge Computing only transfers data that is actually needed in the cloud to optimize processes. This architecture makes it easier to meet security requirements and the desire for data economy. The availability of systems, low latency times as well as data backup and encryption are easier to implement.

A gateway collects all incoming data and stores it internally. It then selects the data and sends the relevant information according to individual specifications for storage on local servers or, if necessary, in the cloud. Services with analysis functionality prepare this data for further processing.

Challenges of Edge Computing

System integration and upgrading to Industry 4.0 capability with Edge Computing components always leads to the same questions:

  • How do I manage the multitude of different interfaces?
  • How do I link the different island solutions with each other?
  • How do I integrate new application programs?
  • How do I take IT security into account in my system?

 

Challenge when using an AI (e.g. for predictive maintenance)

 

Accurate data is needed so that subsequent processes can be executed correctly. Incorrect or inaccurate data leads to wrong decisions. Companies therefore ask themselves the question when using cognitive intelligence: How do I get the right data?

 

What data is actually required?

 

In many applications, the machine control data is often not sufficient to assess the quality of a produced product. With additional information, scrap can be reduced and the life of equipment can be extended.

 

A suitable information architecture is often required in real time

 

An optimized data management which brings together different sources, stores the data centrally and can process structured and unstructured data, is required in the IoT. Metadata management, which provides proof of data origin, storage location and system status, is also necessary.

Functionality of Edge Computing

 

Data Management

Only on the basis of data can states of systems be analysed, visualised and controlled in a suitable way. Our know-how puts us in a position to extract relevant data from any systems on site, to link them with each other and on this basis to implement novel services, among other things.

 

Edge Analytics

As soon as relevant data is available on site via data management, it can be analyzed with Edge Analytics algorithms. With these analyses and evaluations, processes can be checked and optimized.

 

Edge Framework

Linking platforms should be designed for various communication technologies and should also provide a runtime environment for local apps as well as be able to run on various edge controllers. Individual programs manage all upcoming tasks on site.

Our service portfolio

The complete chain from one source:

  • Data acquisition and management with Edge Computing
    Our know-how enables us to extract relevant data from any systems on site, to link them with each other as required and, on this basis, to implement innovative services.
  • Edge Analytics
    We draw the right conclusions on site from the relevant data.
  • Data security
    We know how to secure systems, defend against attacks, and protect data ownership.
  • System integration
    We are able to integrate new technologies into our customers' existing systems and make them fit for the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT).

Typical Edge Computing applications

  • Retrofitting of existing plants for Industry 4.0 suitability
  • Data Analytics
  • Predictive maintenance
  • Anomaly detection and energy management for life cycle management and production optimization

Edge Computing

Die Zukunft der Cloud liegt in der Edge – und zwar sicher!

Sicheres Edge Computing für IoT-Systeme

Zuverlässige Edge Computing Systeme

In digitalen Prozessen fallen eine Vielzahl von Daten an. Häufig ist hier eine Kommunikation über die Cloud nicht schnell und effektiv genug. Damit bei der Systemintegration und der Aufrüstung auf Industrie 4.0-Fähigkeit die Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Schnittstellen gemanagt, verschiedene Insellösungen miteinander vernetzt, neue Anwendungsprogramme integriert sowie die IT-Sicherheit in Anlagen berücksichtigt werden können, werden zuverlässige Edge Computing Systeme benötigt.

Für viele Anwendungen wird deutlich, dass eine Datensammlung in der Cloud nicht die optimale Lösung ist. Derzeit konkurrieren daher zwei Wege bei der Datenspeicherung und -verarbeitung: Cloud und Edge Computing. Besonders bei digitalen Anwendungen fallen große Datenmengen an, die tatsächlich in diesem Umfang meist nicht benötigt werden. Außerdem werden für manche Prozesse die Informationen in Echtzeit benötigt, sodass schnell auf verschiedene Ereignisse reagiert werden kann. Wenn Anwendungen Daten in sparsamen Umfang sofort und vor allem sicher benötigten, ist es fraglich, ob eine Datenspeicherung in der Cloud die geeignetste Lösung ist.

Was ist Edge Computing?

Edge Computing ist ein Verfahren, bei dem Daten, Services und Anwendungsinformationen unmittelbar an die logische »Randstelle« (Edge) eines Netzwerks verlagert werden. Der aufwendige Weg zur und von der Cloud, der häufig den »Flaschenhals« für eine schnelle und effektive Kommunikation bildet, entfällt.

Wie funktioniert Edge Computing?

Beim Edge Computing werden nur Daten übertragen, die tatsächlich in der Cloud für die Optimierung von Prozessen benötigt werden. Mit dieser Architektur können Sicherheitsanforderungen und der Wunsch nach Datensparsamkeit leichter eingehalten werden. Die Verfügbarkeit von Systemen, geringe Latzenzzeiten sowie Datensicherung und Verschlüsselung sind einfacher umsetzbar.

Ein Gateway sammelt alle eingehenden Daten und speichert diese intern ab. Anschließend selektiert es die Daten und sendet die relevanten Informationen nach individuellen Vorgaben zur Speicherung an lokale Server oder wenn nötig in die Cloud. Services mit Analysefunktionalität bereiten diese Daten für die weitere Verarbeitung auf.

Herausforderungen von Edge Computing

Systemintegration und Aufrüstung auf Industrie 4.0-Fähigkeit mit Edge Computing-Komponenten führt immer wieder zu den gleichen Fragenstellungen:

  • Wie manage ich die Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Schnittstellen?
  • Wie vernetze ich die verschiedenen Insellösungen miteinander?
  • Wie integriere ich neue Anwendungsprogramme?
  • Wie berücksichtige ich IT-Sicherheit in meiner Anlage?

 

Herausforderung beim Einsatz einer KI (z. B. für Predictive Maintenance)

 

Damit nachfolgende Prozesse richtig ausgeführt werden können, werden genaue Daten benötigt. Fehlerhafte oder ungenaue Daten führen zu falschen Entscheidungen. Unternehmen stellen sich deshalb die Frage beim Einsatz von Kognitiver Intelligenz: Wie komme ich an die richtigen Daten?

 

Welche Daten werden tatsächlich benötigt?

 

Bei vielen Anwendungen reichen oft die Maschinensteuerdaten nicht aus, um die Qualität eines produzierten Produktes zu beurteilen. Mit zusätzlichen Informationen können die Ausschüsse reduziert werden und die Lebensdauer von Anlagen erhört sich. 

 

Eine geeignete Informationsarchitektur wird häufig in Echtzeit benötigt

 

Ein optimiertes Datenmanagement, das verschiedene Quellen zusammenführt, die Daten zentral speichert sowie strukturierte und unstrukturierte Daten verarbeiten kann, ist im IoT gefragt. Auch eine Metadaten-Verwaltung, die einen Nachweis der Datenherkunft, Speicherort sowie Systemzustand bereitstellt, ist hierbei notwendig.

Funktionsweise von Edge Computing

 

Datenmanagement

Nur auf Basis von Daten können Zustände von Systemen analysiert, visualisiert und in geeigneter Art und Weise gesteuert werden. Unser Know-how versetzt uns in die Lage, aus beliebigen Systemen vor Ort relevante Daten herauszuziehen, miteinander zu verknüpfen und auf dieser Basis unter anderem neuartige Services zu realisieren.

 

Edge Analytics

Sobald über das Datenmanagement relevante Daten vor Ort zur Verfügung stehen, können diese mit Edge Analytics Algorithmen analysiert werden. Mit diesen Analysen und Auswertungen können Prozesse überprüft und optimiert werden.

 

Edge Framework

Verknüpfungsplattformen sollten für verschiedenste Kommunikationstechnologien ausgerichtet sein, und darüber hinaus eine Laufzeitumgebung für lokale Apps zur Verfügung stellen sowie auf verschiedensten Edge Controllern betrieben werden können. Individuelle Programme managen vor Ort alle anstehenden Aufgaben.

Unser Leistungsportfolio

Die komplette Kette aus einer Hand:

  • Datenakquisition und -management mit Edge Computing
    Unser Know-how versetzt uns in die Lage, aus beliebigen Systemen vor Ort relevante Daten herauszuziehen, bei Bedarf miteinander zu verknüpfen und auf dieser Basis unter anderem neuartige Services zu realisieren.
  • Edge Analytics
    Wir ziehen vor Ort aus den relevanten Daten die richtigen Schlüsse.
  • Datensicherheit
    Wir wissen, wie man Systeme sicher gestaltet, Angriffe abwehrt und das Eigentum an Daten schützt.
  • Systemintegration
    Wir sind in der Lage, neue Technologien in die bestehenden Systeme unserer Kunden zu integrieren und sie damit fit für das industrielle Internet der Dinge (IIoT) zu machen.

Typische Anwendungen von Edge Computing

  • Retrofitting von Bestandsanlagen für Industrie 4.0-Tauglichkeit
  • Data Analytics
  • Predictive Maintenance
  • Anomalie-Erkennung und Energiemanagement für Life Cycle Management und Produktionsoptimierung