Continuous energy monitoring supports load management and condition monitoring

With the measuring system for performance monitoring, Fraunhofer IIS supports energy management according to ISO 50001 regulations.

Performance Monitoring System

Load management and condition monitoring in production

The consumption values of a plant during the manufacturing process are known through measurements with our performance monitoring system, so the energy logistics can be optimized. In addition, the load threshold can be pressed and the energy purchase price lowered.

Goals of the energy monitoring are:

  • Reduction of power consumption
  • Analysis and optimization of production facilities
  • Comparison of production-related plants
  • Cost accounting or costing
  • Controlling
  • Optimization of energy purchasing

By means of energy monitoring, we are continuing to develop the subject »condition monitoring« for industrial applications. From the recorded current and voltage curves, features can be extracted with newly developed algorithms that give indications of imminent defects or malfunctions. A downstream evaluation with the help of these criteria informs the operators of possible problems in the production. The goal is to perform condition-based maintenance with this information, rather than working on a rigid schedule that does not take into account the real state of the machine. This should minimize downtimes in the production area, plant repairs or rejects of the produced goods.

 

Certification according to ISO 50001

Many energy-intensive companies must be certified to the ISO 50001 energy management standard and demonstrate continued savings to continue to receive tax relief on energy purchases. For existing systems, retrofitting with measuring equipment is very difficult to perform due to space constraints. It lends itself to a mounting in the electrical distribution cabinets. Current solutions which are mostly based on magnetoresistive measuring methods are relatively expensive, large, have no integrated evaluation and output the measured values ​​by means of interference-prone analog signals.

The energy measuring system developed by Fraunhofer IIS together with an industrial user and marketer offers a variety of unique selling points as a flexible monitoring system. It consists of bus-capable measuring sensors and an evaluation unit. All components are designed to save space and can be installed in existing distribution cabinets without interrupting ongoing operation. The integration of voltage measurement and current measurement simplifies the installation effort. The assembly is carried out by pressing the measuring sensor onto the line to be monitored.

The core component of the system is the measuring sensor:

  • Board consists of a rigid part and a flexible conductor
  • Flip-chip mounting of the sensors
  • Plastic housing
  • Mandrel for contacting the conductor
  • Spring for the long-term stability of the connection
  • VDE certification

The voltage is measured by direct contact with the conductor during assembly. The voltage values ​​are picked off via a pin and digitized and further processed using the analog-to-digital converter of the microcontroller on the measuring sensor. The current measurement is performed contactless by highly integrated Hall sensors, which are arranged in a ring around the current-carrying conductor. The individual measuring sensors are connected to an evaluation unit via a bus cabling. It has the task of combining several sensors into a 3-phase measurement and logically assigning the sensors to a system. A higher-level automation or evaluation unit can query all system-related measured values ​​to the second via an Ethernet interface or a Modbus RTU interface. In addition, the evaluation unit stores historical measurement data in its internal FLASH memory. For example, the measured data is available decentrally for up to three days and can be queried via the integrated FTP server.

Technical data of the smallest version for the lowest measuring range:

Current Prototype with VDE Certification
© Fraunhofer IIS

Current Prototype with VDE Certification

  • Measurements from 20 ms time resolution
  • RMS current up to 80 amps, accuracy 0.5%
  • RMS voltage up to 600 volts, accuracy 0.5%
  • Power frequency
  • Calculation of power factor, active and apparent power

Unique features of the energy measurement:

  • High dynamic range
  • Little need for space
  • Reduction of installation costs
  • Designed for the retrofit area
  • Installation under voltage possible – No machine downtime
  • Communication via standardized interfaces
  • Open system – Individual adaptation possible
  • Overload – After a possible overload, no decalibration occurs

Successful usage in a production plant

After the VDE certification, the performance monitoring system was successfully used in a production company in Thuringia. More than 500 measuring terminals and 15-20 gateways have been installed on the systems and on other devices with high energy consumption such as in the canteen. Their goal was to determine and optimize the current energy demand. Within just a few weeks of using our energy metering system, we were able to identify significant energy-saving potential and take further measures.

 

Downloads

Kontinuierliches Energiemonitoring unterstützt Lastmanagement und Zustandsüberwachung

Mit dem Messsystem für Leistungsmonitoring unterstützt das Fraunhofer IIS ein Energiemanagement nach ISO 50001 Vorschriften.

Leistungsmonitoringsystem

Lastmanagement und Zustandsüberwachung in der Produktion

Die Verbrauchswerte einer Anlage während des Fertigungsprozesses sind durch Messungen mit unserem Leistungsmonitoringsystem bekannt, somit kann die Energielogistik optimiert werden. Außerdem kann die Lastschwelle gedrückt und der Energiebezugspreis gesenkt werden.

Ziele des Energiemonitorings sind:

  • Reduzierung des Stromverbrauchs
  • Analyse und Optimierung der Fertigungsanlagen
  • Vergleich fertigungstechnisch ähnlicher Anlagen
  • Kostenrechnung bzw. -kalkulationen
  • Controlling
  • Optimierung beim Energieeinkauf

Mittels Energiemonitoring entwickeln wir das Thema »Condition Monitoring« für industrielle Anwendungen weiter. Aus den erfassten Strom- und Spannungsverläufen können mit neu zu entwickelnden Algorithmen Merkmale extrahiert werden, die Hinweise auf sich anbahnende Defekte oder Fehlfunktionen geben. Eine nachgeschaltete Auswertung mit Hilfe dieser Kriterien meldet den Betreibern Anzeichen auf mögliche Probleme in der Fertigung. Ziel ist es, mit diesen Informationen eine zustandsbasierte Wartung durchzuführen, statt Arbeiten nach einem starren Zeitplan, der den wirklichen Zustand der Maschine in keiner Weise berücksichtigt. Damit sollen Stillstandszeiten im Produktionsbereich, Anlagenreparaturen oder Ausschuss der produzierten Ware minimiert werden.

Zertifizierung nach ISO 50001

Viele energieintensive Unternehmen müssen eine Zertifizierung gemäß der Energiemanagement-Norm ISO 50001 durchführen und kontinuierliche Einsparungen nachweisen, um weiterhin steuerliche Erleichterungen beim Energiebezug zu erhalten. Bei existierenden Anlagen ist eine Nachrüstung mit Messeinrichtungen aufgrund von Platzbeschränkungen nur sehr schwierig durchzuführen. Es bietet sich eine Montage in den elektrischen Verteilerschränken an. Derzeitige Lösungen, die meist auf magnetoresistiven Messverfahren beruhen, sind relativ teuer, groß, haben keine integrierte Auswertung und geben die Messwerte mittels störanfälliger Analogsignale aus.

Das zusammen mit einem industriellen Anwender und Vermarkter entwickelte Energiemesssystem des Fraunhofer IIS bietet als flexibles Monitoringsystem verschiedene Alleinstellungsmerkmale. Es besteht aus busfähigen Messsensoren und einer Auswerteeinheit. Alle Komponenten sind platzsparend ausgelegt und können in vorhandene Verteilerschränke eingebaut werden, ohne den laufenden Betrieb zu unterbrechen. Durch die Integration von Spannungsmessung und Strommessung vereinfacht sich der Installationsaufwand. Die Montage erfolgt durch Aufpressen des Messsensors auf die zu überwachende Leitung.

Kernkomponente des Systems ist der Messsensor:

  • Platine besteht aus einem Starrteil und einem Flexleiter
  • Flipchip-Montage der Sensoren
  • Gehäuse aus Kunststoff
  • Dorn zur Kontaktierung des Leiters
  • Feder für die Langzeitstabilität der Verbindung
  • VDE-Zertifizierung

Die Spannungsmessung erfolgt über eine direkte Kontaktierung des Stromleiters während der Montage. Über einen Dorn werden die Spannungswerte abgegriffen und mit dem Analog-Digital-Umsetzer des Mikrocontrollers auf dem Messsensor digitalisiert und weiterverarbeitet. Die Strommessung wird von hochintegrierten Hallsensoren kontaktlos durchgeführt, welche ringförmig um den stromführenden Leiter angeordnet sind. Die einzelnen Messsensoren werden über eine Busverkabelung mit einer Auswerteeinheit verbunden. Diese hat die Aufgabe, mehrere Sensoren zu einer 3-Phasenmessung zusammenzufassen und die Sensoren logisch einer Anlage zuzuordnen. Eine übergeordnete Automatisierungs- oder Auswerteeinheit kann über eine Ethernetschnittstelle oder eine Modbus RTU-Schnittstelle alle anlagenbezogenen Messwerte sekundengenau abfragen. Zusätzlich speichert die Auswerteeinheit historische Messdaten in ihrem internen FLASH-Speicher. So stehen die Messdaten noch bis zu drei Tage dezentral zur Verfügung und können über den integrierten FTP-Server abgefragt werden.

Technische Daten der kleinsten Variante für den niedrigsten Messbereich:

Aktueller Prototyp mit VDE-Zertifizierung ©Fraunhofer IIS
© Fraunhofer IIS

Aktueller Prototyp mit VDE-Zertifizierung

  • Messungen ab 20 ms Zeitauflösung  
  • Effektivstrom bis 80 Ampere, Genauigkeit 0,5%
  • Effektivspannung bis 600 Volt, Genauigkeit 0,5%
  • Netzfrequenz
  • Berechnung von Leistungsfaktor, Wirk- und Scheinleistung

Alleinstellungsmerkmale der Energiemessung:

  • Hoher Dynamikbereich
  • Geringer Platzbedarf
  • Reduktion der Installationskosten
  • Konzipiert für den Nachrüstbereich
  • Einbau unter Spannung möglich – Keine Maschinenstillstandszeiten
  • Kommunikation über genormte Schnittstellen
  • Offenes System – Individuelle Anpassung möglich
  • Überlastsicher – Nach einer möglichen Überlastung erfolgt keine Dekalibrierung

Erfolgreicher Einsatz in einem Produktionsbetrieb

Nach der VDE-Zertifizierung wurde das Leistungsmonitoringsystem erfolgreich in einem produzierenden Betrieb in Thüringen eingesetzt. Es wurden über 500 Messklemmen und 15-20 Gateways an den Anlagen sowie an weiteren Geräten mit hohem Energieverbrauch wie beispielsweise in der Kantine installiert. Ihr Ziel war es den aktuellen Energiebedarf festzustellen und zu optimieren. Schon nach wenigen Wochen im Einsatz unseres Energiemesssystems konnten erhebliche Energieeinsparungspotenziale erkannt und weitere Maßnahmen ergriffen werden.

 

Gefördert durch:

 VDI | VDE | IT

 

Download