Dual energy methods

Dual energy techniques are well-established in medical applications. Applying latest developments of Fraunhofer EZRT entirely new fields of application or the enhancement of existing applications become possible. Thus, in contrast to conventional X-ray techniques, quantitative information about e.g. density, mass percentages or other characteristics becomes available.

Dual energy techniques are employing the fact that the attenuation coefficient of a material is different for individual materials. This means that from energy resolving („spectral“) measurements the input data for a quantitative determination of material properties can be obtained.

In practice, this energy resolving measurement is usually conducted by acquiring two X-ray images using different X-ray spectra. Alternatively, a special dual energy detector can be applied. Due to its setup with two different energy channels only one measurement has to be conducted.

System solution 2XCT

In order to comply with the requirements of dual energy measurements Fraunhofer EZRT’s 2XCT device has several special properties. It is equipped with a revolver filter changer allowing the easy changing of pre-filters for dual energy measurements, thus enabling a manipulation of spectral parameters without manual intervention. The filter changer has six different filter chambers which can be individually loaded with different filter materials. Additionally, the device is equipped with a collimator unit. The collimator can be applied for the reduction of scattered radiation, thus enhancing analysis quality. In principle, however, Fraunhofer dual energy techniques can be ported and applied to conventional X-ray systems without constructional changes.

  • Safety and security technology: Testing luggage for dangerous substances or goods
  • Recycling: Separating materials in order to recover raw materials
  • Mining: Improved detection of diamonds in surrounding rock

X-ray tubes Closed system
Tube voltage

Max. 225 kV

Tube current Max. 3.5 mA or 8 mA
0.4 or 1.0 mm
switchable focal point
(EN 12543)
Detector Surface detector
(GOS scintillator on
amorphic silicon)
16-bit digitization depth
1024 x 1024 pixels
200 μm pixel spacing
Sample weight Max. 15 kg
Sample size Max. Ø 130 mm

Advantages and customer value

  • Mapping and quantification of distribution of various materials within the test object
  • Usable both for radiographic imaging (2D) as well as x-ray computer tomography (3D)
  • Higher contrast on materials with similar or very different weakening co-efficient
  • Correction of beam-hardening artifacts possible.

Dual Energy-Verfahren

Dual Energy-Verfahren sind in der Medizin seit langer Zeit etabliert. Mit den neuesten Entwicklungen des Fraunhofer EZRT ergibt sich neben völlig neuen Anwendungsgebieten auch die Weiterentwicklung bereits etablierter Applikationen. So können im Gegensatz zu herkömmlichen Röntgenverfahren quantitative Aussagen über Dichten, Gewichtsanteile oder andere physikalische Materialmerkmale getroffen werden.

Bei der Anwendung der Dual Energy-Verfahren wird ausgenutzt, dass die Energieabhängigkeit des sogenannten Schwächungskoeffizienten eines Materials für jedes Material unterschiedlich ist. Das heißt, aus energieaufgelösten (»spektralen«) Messungen können die Eingangsdaten zur quantitativen Berechnung der Materialeigenschaften gewonnen werden.

In der Praxis geschieht diese energieaufgelöste Messung üblicherweise durch Aufnahme zweier Röntgenbilder bei unterschiedlichen Röntgenspektren. Alternativ kann ein spezieller Dual Energy-Detektor verwendet werden. Durch dessen speziellen Aufbau mit zwei Energiekanälen ist hierbei nur eine Messung nötig.

Systemlösung 2XCT

Um den Anforderungen von Dual Energy Messungen gerecht zu werden, bietet die 2XCT Anlage am Fraunhofer EZRT im Vergleich zu standardisierten Computer Tomographie Anlagen einige bauliche Besonderheiten. Erstens verfügt Sie über einen Revolver-Filterwechsler, welcher es erlaubt Vorfilter für Dual Energy Messungen zu wechseln und somit eine Manipulation der spektralen Parameter, ohne händische Umbaumaßnahmen, ermöglicht. Die Wechselvorrichtung verfügt dabei über sechs verschiedene Filterkammern, welche individuell mit verschiedensten Filtermaterialien bestückt werden können. Zweitens verfügt die Anlage über eine Kollimatoreinheit. Diese erlaubt es die auftretende Streustrahlung zu reduzieren und somit die die Analyseergebnisse der EZRT Dual Energy-Verfahren weiter zu verbessern. Grundsätzlich können die Fraunhofer Dual-Energy Verfahren jedoch auch ohne bauliche Besonderheiten auf bestehende CT-Systeme angewendet und portiert werden.

  • Sicherheitstechnik: Prüfung von Gepäckstücken auf Gefahrstoffe oder -güter
  • Recycling: Trennung von Materialien zur Rohstoffrückgewinnung
  • Mining: Verbesserte Detektion von Diamanten im Umgebungsgestein

Röntgenröhre geschlossenes System
Röhrenspannung max. 225 kV
Röhrenstrom max. 3,5 mA bzw. 8 mA
0,4 bzw. 1,0 mm
umschaltbarer Brennfleck
(EN 12543)
Detektor
Flächendetektor
(GOS-Szintillator auf
amorphen Silizium)
16 Bit Digitalisierungstiefe
1024 x 1024 Pixel
200 μm Pixelabstand
Probengewicht max. 15 kg
Probengröße max. Ø 130 mm

Vorteile und Nutzen

  • Darstellung und Quantifizierung der Verteilung unterschiedlicher Materialien innerhalb des Prüfobjekts
  • Anwendbar sowohl für Durchstrahlungsaufnahmen (2D) als auch Röntgen-Computertomographie (3D)
  • Höherer Kontrast bei Materialien mit ähnlichen oder stark unterschiedlichen Abschwächungskoeffizienten
  • Korrektur von Strahlaufhärtungsartefakten möglich