Micro- and Nano Computed Tomography

Micro Computed Tomography (µCT) designs scans with a measured spatial resolution (BSR, MTF or LSF) between 2 µm and 50 µm. Many µCT scanners are operated at Fraunhofer EZRT for materials characterization and/or for CT metrology. They all include micro-focal anodes, typically with variable high voltage and spot size. Scan times range between 1 min and 2 h are typical. Geometric magnification is adjusted continuously between 50x and 2x. Flatpanel detectors (FPDs) with pixel sizes between 50 µm and 200 µm are routinely used; some scanners comprise CCD detectors with even smaller pixels (e.g. 9 µm or 24 µm).

Sub-Micrometer Computed Tomography (subµ CT) designs scans with a measured spatial resolution between 0.3 µm and 3 µm. Fraunhofer EZRT operates a detector-based subµ CT scanner: The Click-CT prototype employs a microscope X-ray detector, which resolves 0.5 µm details while using a standard micro-focal anode. Typical scan times range between 3 h and 12 h.

Nano Computed Tomography (nanoCT) is capable of resolving details below 300 nm size. Fraunhofer EZRT employs the XRM-II prototype, as well as the ntCT. The latter realizes a focal spot size down to 150 nm at 60 kV (i.e. geometric magnification up to 1000x), whereas the former integrates nanoCT with 50 nm resolving power at 30 kV inside a scanning electron microscope (SEM). Geometric magnification is variable for both systems. The XRM-II comprises a variety of target sizes and materials (Cu, W, Ag, Mo) which can be changed quickly. Typical scan times are 3 h for the ntCT and 12 h for the XRM-II.

© Fraunhofer IIS
Siemens Star Test Chart. Smallest features of 150 nm lines and spaces

Scanner Classes

Because of the strongly different parameters and X-ray components, different scanners are developed to meet different needs.

Typical parameters for the three high-resolution CT scanner classes:

Scanner /Parameter

µCT

Subµ CT

NanoCT

Max. High Voltage /kV

90 – 300

60 – 160

30

Emission Power /W

1 – 1200

0.06 – 0.4

<0.01

Max. object size /mm

250

2 – 5

0.06

Min. detail res. /µm

2 – 50

0.3 – 3

0.03 – 0.3

Geom. Magnification

2 – 50

25 – 250 (except for detector-based subµ)

250 – 10000

Scan times /h

0.01 – 3

3 – 12

8 – 16

 

© Fraunhofer IIS
Fig. Object size vs. detail resolution for the different scanner classes.

Hochauflösende Computertomographie

Mikro-Computertomographie (µCT): Scans haben eine gemessene (MTF, BSR oder LSF) räumliche Auflösung zwischen 2 µm (250 lp/mm) und 50 µm (10 lp/mm). Das Fraunhofer EZRT betreibt viele µCT Scanner, v.a. für Anwendungen in der Materialcharakterisierung und Metrologie. Jeder Scanner besitzt eine Mikrofokus-Röntgenquelle mit variabler Spannung und Spotgröße. Typische Scanzeiten reichen von einer Minute bis zu 2 Stunden. Die geometrische Objektvergrößerung ist kontinuierlich zwischen 2x und 50x einstellbar. Flatpanel Detektoren (FPDs) dienen als Standard-Detektor (50 µm bis 200 µm Pixelkante), manche Scanner nutzen CCD Detektoren mit kleineren Pixeln (9 – 24 µm).

Sub-Mikrometer Computertomographie (subµ CT): Scans haben eine gemessene räumliche Auflösung von 0.3 µm bis 3 µm. Das Fraunhofer EZRT entwickelt ein Detektor-basiertes subµ CT System, die Click-CT. Diese kombiniert eine Standard-Mikrofokus Quelle, eine Mikroskop-Optik und eine sCMOS Kamera, und erreicht damit 0,5 µm Detailauflösung. Scans dauern zwischen 3 und 12 Stunden.

Nano-Computertomographie (nanoCT): Details <300 nm Größe werden in den Scans erfasst. Das Fraunhofer EZRT entwickelt zwei nanoCT Geräte: das XRM-II und den ntCT Scanner. Letzterer erreicht 150 nm Spotgröße bei 60 kV Beschleunigungsspannung, ein Weltrekord (die geometrische Vergrößerung beträgt bis zu 1000x). Der XRM-II nanoCT Scanner hingegen schafft 50 nm Ortsauflösung bei 30 kV, die XRM-II Technologie baut auf einem Raster-Elektronenmikroskop auf. Beide Scanner erlauben variable geometrische Vergrößerung, Das XRM-II erlaubt den schnellen Wechsel der Anode (verschiedene Formen und Materialien, z.B. Kupfer, Molybdän und Wolfram). Scans dauern typischerweise 3 Stunden in der ntCT, 12 Stunden, oder länger, am XRM-II.

Siemens Star Test Chart. Smallest features of 150 nm lines and spaces

Scanner Klassen

Wegen der großen Spreizung der Parameter (i.e., der System-Komponenten) liegt es nahe, verschiedene Scanner-Typen für verschiedene Anforderungen zu entwickeln. Ein Überblick:

Scanner /Parameter

µCT

subµ CT

nanoCT

Max. Anodenspannung /kV

90 – 300

60 – 160

30

Emissionsleistung /W

1 – 1200

0.06 – 0.4

<0.01

Max. Objektgröße /mm

250

2 – 5

0.06

Min. Detailauflösung /µm

2 – 50

0.3 – 3

0.03 – 0.3

Geom. Vergrößerung

2 – 50

25 – 250 (außer für Detektor-basierte subµ)

250 – 10000

Scan-Dauer /h

0.01 – 3

3 – 12

8 – 16

Different scanner classes