On the Way to Artifical Intelligence

The Neuromorphic Survey

What is neuromorphic hardware?

Icon image - neuromorphic hardware
© zapp2photo - stock.adobe.com

When traditional computers (with von Neumann architectures) calculate Deep Neural Networks (DNNs), they suffer from the von Neumann bottleneck. This means that the computing performance of the computing systems is limited by the data rate which can be transferred between an external memory unit and the processing unit.

Neuromorphic hardware refers to brain-inspired computers or components modeling neurological or artificial neural networks consisting of highly connected parallel synthetic neurons and synapses. Current neural network architectures like DNNs require high computational complexity and power consumption. Efficient architectures for neuromorphic hardware with respect to computational performance, power consumption and chip area are therefore a key element for a widespread deployment of neural networks in embedded devices.

High-performance neuromorphic hardware architectures tailored for efficient computation of neural networks are applying massive parallel processing and colocation of memory and processing. By applying these approaches, calculations required by complex neural networks can be performed faster and with less power compared to von-Neumann architectures. As neural networks exhibit highly regular structures, massive parallel processing can be applied by using the same type of computational units/cells in parallel. Architectural approaches known from parallel computing architectures can therefore be applied:

  • Single-Instruction Multiple Data (SIMD): multiple parallel processing elements (e.g. MAC units) perform the same operation on different pieces of distributed data simultaneously (data-level parallelism).
  • Very Long Instruction Word (VLIW): several not necessarily equal instructions are performed in parallel (instruction-level parallelism).
  • Systolic arrays: dataflow architectures based on a network of tightly-coupled homogeneous processing elements. Computations are performed in a pipelined manner by passing data through the systolic array.

Overview of neuromorphic hardware

A taxonomy of neuromorphic hardware platforms is provided in the following table with their strengths and drawbacks with respect to neuromorphic computing.

PLATFORM STRENGTHS DRAWBACKS
General Purpose
CPU
(GP CPU)
  • Highly programmable
  • Low energy efficiency
  • Low computational throughput compared to other architectures
GP CPU with
accelerators
  • Accelerators can be tailored to a dedicated task
  • Computational throughput depends on number of attached accelerators
General Purpose
Graphics Pro-
cessing Unit

(GP-GPU)
  • Good for training large data sets on server-based DL
  • Highly parallel computational resources
  • Lack of efficiency for inference
  • Power consumption
Dedicated
Hardware

(Application
specific ICs, ASICs)
  • Low power
  • Highest performance for targeted applications / NN architectures / frameworks
  • Chip architecture possibly inflexible to adapt to rapid evolution of Deep Learning topologies/frameworks
  • In most cases restricted to inference-only

Concerning the ASIC manufacturer:

  • High costs for ASIC development and production
  • Large market volume required to justify development costs
  • Slow Time to Market (TTM)
FPGA
  • Reconfigurability allows adaptation to evolving NN architectures/frameworks
  • Custom NN architectures can be implemented
  • HW acceleration for specific operations on-chip (MAC) and on-chip memory (SRAM) available
  • TTM less restrictive than for ASICs as firmware can be altered
  • Not suitable for low power applications
  • Limited on-FPGA memory (SRAM)
  • Limited data rate to external memory (DDR)
DSPs
  • Acceleration of the most important operations (MAC)
  • Similar memory bottleneck as for CPUs due to von Neumann architecture
  • Typically higher performance as CPU but lower than GPU

GP CPU: General Purpose Central Processing Unit; GP-GPU: General Purpose Graphics Processing Unit; ASIC: Application Specific Integrated Circuit; FPGA: Field-Programmable Gate Array; DSP: Digital Signal Processor

Overview of deep
learning inference
accelerators

 

AI chips and IP cores

Source: Elektronik, 9/2019

Spiking Neural Networks

Spiking Neural Networks (SNN) are a form of brain-inspired neural networks where communication between the neurons is modeled in form of spikes or pulses similar to the communication in a real human brain. The computation in a neuron depends not only on the amplitude of the spikes but also on the time of arrival and the shape of the pulses. A simple spiking neuron model exhibiting these properties is the (leaky) integrate-and-fire neuron. Due to their brain-like mode of operation SNNs have the potential to be highly power efficient. However, still open issues for research and practical application of SNNs do exist (e.g. optimal network and neuron models, methods for training, input processing).

SNN chips are not yet commercially available but research and test chips have been implemented by companies as well as in public research projects.

Consulting, design and implementation

Fraunhofer IIS has long-standing experience in the application of Machine Learning to various use cases. Our experts employ neuromorphic hardware to speed up the computation in embedded devices.

Our offer includes consulting for your Machine Learning use case and suitable neuromorphic hardware as well as the design and implementation of modules for your devices that employ neuromorphic hardware.

Further information

 

Embedded Machine Learning

Implementation and integration of machine learning algorithms on embedded devices

 

Machine Learning at Fraunhofer IIS

Overview of the topic "Machine Learning" at Fraunhofer IIS

Auf dem Weg zur künstlichen Intelligenz

Neuromorphe Hardware

Was ist neuromorphe Hardware?

Symbolbild - Neuromorphe Hardware
© zapp2photo - stock.adobe.com

Wenn klassische Computer mit einer Von-Neumann-Architektur tiefe neuronale Netze (DNN, Deep Neural Networks) rechnen, wird der Von-Neumann-Flaschenhals zum Problem. Die Rechenleistung der Computersysteme wird durch die Datentransferrate zwischen Prozessor und Speicher begrenzt.

Neuromorphe Hardware bezeichnet Computer oder Komponenten, die aus hochgradig vernetzten parallelen synthetischen Neuronen und Synapsen dem Gehirn nachempfundene neurologische oder künstliche neuronale Netze nachbilden. Bisherige neuronale Netzwerkarchitekturen wie Deep Neural Networks erfordern komplexe Rechenleistungen und verzeichnen einen hohen Energieverbrauch. Effiziente Architekturen für neuromorphe Hardware sind daher mit Hinblick auf Rechenleistung, Energieverbrauch und Chipfläche ein entscheidender Faktor für einen breiten Einsatz neuronaler Netze in Embedded-Produkten.

Leistungsfähige neuromorphe Hardware-Architekturen für die Berechnung neuronaler Netze setzen auf massive Parallelverarbeitung und verteilte gekoppelte Speicherung und Verarbeitung. Mit diesen Konzepten können die für komplexe neuronale Netze notwendigen Berechnungen schneller und energiesparender durchgeführt werden als mit Von-Neumann-Architekturen. Da neuronale Netze sehr regelmäßige Strukturen aufweisen, ist eine massive Parallelverarbeitung möglich, indem die gleiche Art von Recheneinheiten/Zellen parallel verwendet wird. Daher eignen sich Architekturkonzepte, wie sie aus Architekturen mit parallelen Rechnern bekannt sind:

  • Single Instruction Multiple Data (SIMD): Mehrere parallele Prozessoren (z. B. MAC-Einheiten) führen eine bestimmte Rechenoperation für verschiedene Elemente eines verteilten Datensatzes gleichzeitig durch (Parallelisierung auf Datenebene).
  • Very Long Instruction Word (VLIW): Mehrere nicht notwendigerweise gleiche Befehle werden parallel abgearbeitet (Parallelisierung auf Befehlsebene).
  • Systolische Arrays: Datenflussarchitekturen, die auf einem Netzwerk eng gekoppelter, gleichartiger Verarbeitungselemente basieren. Berechnungen erfolgen pipelineartig, indem die Daten durch den systolischen Array geleitet werden.

Überblick über neuromorphe Hardware

Die folgende Tabelle stellt eine Taxonomie neuromorpher Hardware-Plattformen dar mit den jeweiligen Vor- und Nachteilen in Bezug auf die neuromorphe Datenverarbeitung.

PLATTFORM VORTEILE NACHTEILE
Mehrzweck-
prozessor

(GP CPU)
  • Hochgradig programmierbar
  • Geringe Energieeffizienz
  • Geringer Datendurchsatz verglichen mit anderen Architekturen
GP CPU mit
Beschleunigern
  • Beschleuniger können auf bestimmte Aufgaben zugeschnitten werden
  • Datendurchsatz hängt von der Anzahl eingebauter Beschleuniger ab
Grafikprozessor
(GP GPU)
  • Gut zum Training großer Datenmengen mit serverbasiertem Deep Learning (DL)
  • Hochparallele Rechnerressourcen
  • Mangelnde Effizienz für Inferenz
  • Energieverbrauch
Spezielle Hardware
(Anwendungs-
spezifische Chips, ASICs)
  • Energiesparend
  • Höchste Leistung für spezifische Anwendungen / NN-Architekturen / Frameworks
  • Möglicherweise zu unflexible Chip-Architektur, um sich an schnell wandelnde Deep-Learning-Topologien/-Frameworks anzupassen
  • Meistens ausschließlich auf Inferenz beschränkt

Bezüglich der ASIC-Hersteller:

  • Hohe Kosten für ASIC-Entwicklung und -Produktion
  • Großes Marktvolumen zur Rechtfertigung der Entwicklungskosten erforderlich
  • Lange Markteinführungszeiten
FPGA
  • Neukonfigurierbarkeit ermöglicht Anpassung an sich entwickelnde NN-Architekturen/-Frameworks
  • Maßgeschneiderte NN-Architekturen sind implementierbar
  • HW-Beschleunigung für spezifische On-Chip-Operationen (MAC) und On-Chip-Speicher (SRAM) verfügbar
  • Weniger restriktive Markteinführungszeit als für ASICs, da Firmware veränderbar ist
  • Für Low-Power-Anwendungen ungeeignet
  • Geringer On-FPGA-Speicher (SRAM)
  • Geringe Speichertransferrate (DDR)
DSPs
  • Beschleunigung der wichtigsten Rechenoperationen (MAC)
  • Ähnlicher Speicher-Flaschenhals wie bei CPUs wegen von-Neumann-Architektur
  • Typischerweise höhere Leistung als CPU, aber geringer als GPU

GP CPU: General Purpose Central Processing Unit; GP-GPU: General Purpose Graphics Processing Unit; ASIC: Application Specific Integrated Circuit; FPGA: Field-Programmable Gate Array; DSP: Digital Signal Processor

Überblick über Deep-Learning-Inference-Beschleuniger und deren Einsatz in Embedded-Geräten

 

Fachartikel
Elektronenhirn 4.0

Quelle: Elektronik, 9/2019

Spiking Neural Networks

Spiking Neural Networks (SNN) sind eine dem Gehirn nachempfundene Art neuronaler Netze, in denen die Informationen zwischen den Neuronen, ähnlich wie im menschlichen Gehirn, in Form von Pulsen weitergeleitet werden. Die Verarbeitung in einem Neuron hängt nicht nur von der Amplitude der Pulse ab, sondern auch von der Ankunftszeit und der Form des Pulses. Ein einfaches gepulstes neuronales Netzmodell, das diese Eigenschaften aufweist, ist das (Leaky) Integrate-and-Fire-Neuronenmodell. Aufgrund der gehirnähnlichen Funktionsweise können SNNs extrem energieeffizient sein. Dennoch bleiben noch einige offene Fragen und praktische Anwendungen von SNNs zu erforschen (z. B. optimale Netz- und Neuronenmodelle, Trainingsmethoden, Inputverarbeitung).

SNN-Chips sind bislang noch nicht käuflich erwerbbar. Forschungs- und Test-Chips wurden jedoch bereits von verschiedenen Unternehmen und in öffentlichen Forschungsprojekten implementiert.

Beratung, Design und Implementierung

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS hat langjährige Erfahrungen mit maschinellem Lernen in verschiedenen Anwendungsgebieten. Unsere Experten verwenden neuromorphe Hardware, um die Rechenvorgänge in Embedded-Produkten zu beschleunigen.

Wir beraten Sie gerne zum Thema maschinelles Lernen und geeignete neuromorphe Hardware speziell in Ihrem Anwendungsfall, aber auch zum Design und der Implementierung von Modulen für Ihre Geräte, die neuromorphe Hardware nutzen.

Weitere Informationen

 

Embedded Machine Learning

Implementierung und Integration von Machine Learning auf Embedded-Geräten

 

Machine Learning am Fraunhofer IIS

Übersicht zum Thema Maschinelles Lernen am Fraunhofer IIS