IndLoc®#

Inductive near-field positioning

IndLoc® - Inductive near-field positioning

At a glance#

The need to identify and locate objects exists in a whole host of different areas of life. Whether in an industrial or recreational setting, knowing where different objects or people are and being able to tell them apart is hugely important in all kinds of scenarios. In state-of-the-art production facilities, for instance, the localization and classification of objects on the shop floor is essential as it enables a flexible, comprehensive response to the situation at any given moment and prevents errors. At the other end of the spectrum, in the world of soccer, determining the exact position of the ball can decide the outcome of the game.

Although a variety of localization systems are already commercially available, these usually require complex sensor technology and consume a lot of energy, not to mention being very costly. In addition, unfavorable lighting conditions or metallic objects in production facilities can impair the technology’s functionality. This is what led Fraunhofer IIS to develop IndLoc® positioning technology, which can prevent such situations. Based on a weak alternating magnetic field, it enables centimeter-precise positioning of various objects as well as precise object detection and communication. IndLoc® can be used where radio-based systems fall short to provide highly precise real-time information on the position, type and quantity of a target object, and if it crosses a boundary. The technology is suitable for a wide range of use cases thanks to its robustness in difficult environments, its simple implementation and its low energy consumption. 

Technological features#

IndLoc® localization and object detection technology, developed at the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, is a highly accurate, cost-effective solution for three-dimensional real-time localization, object detection and communication with passive targets in a defined volume. It works by using a current-carrying conductor to surround a defined area of variable size and generate a weak alternating magnetic field in this area. The target contains conductive elements that generate a secondary magnetic field in the monitored volume. Sensor antennas detect this field and transmit the data to a reader. A connected back-end system then evaluates and interprets the data.

 

This makes it possible to determine the exact position of objects or even people, and if they cross any boundaries in place. Moreover, the technology can distinguish between individual objects in terms of their type and quantity, even when they are in packaging. It works without the target requiring any complex, integrated sensor technology with an additional battery or other energy sources. In addition, the technology can tolerate metallic interference, offers multipath propagation and has the advantage that it does not require a line of sight for the positioning, thus allowing concealed objects to be detected in difficult environments.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Research & Development #

Your R&D partner

At Fraunhofer IIS, we would be delighted to assist you with the implementation of your IndLoc® system. To this end, we develop a prototype tailored to your use case, carry out feasibility studies on your behalf and support you throughout as an impartial research partner. Let us know your problem and together we’ll find a solution!

Test environment

We have access to state-of-the-art measuring techniques and methods, to conveyor technology, as well as to an entire test center for simulating real application scenarios. Our L.I.N.K. Testing and Application Center offers you a test environment in which a wide range of scenarios can be tested realistically.

IndLoc® technology options#

The components of the IndLoc® basic technology can be adapted and optimized for different applications, making it suitable for use in a wide variety of fields. Depending on the requirements of the respective application, the IndLoc® platform offers various types of detection. Inductive near-field positioning can be used to enable multidimensional localization as well as object detection and even communication applications.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Possible applications#

IndLoc® technology is open to a whole range of further possible applications and developments. To further advance the state of research, Fraunhofer IIS is focusing on developments in various areas of application. These include use cases in medical engineering, the smart workbench, digital collaboration methods and the localization of standard transponders within logistics processes. In more in-depth research, scientists at Fraunhofer IIS are also exploring ways to detect objects and distinguish between materials, including for electronic components. In addition to direct contracts for research and development projects, the institute is open to pilot applications or new application and research ideas for funding projects.

 

IndLoc® for material detection

The intelligent object and fill-level monitoring functionality can detect various metallic objects, accurately telling them apart without the need for visual contact. In addition, it can display the fill level of individual containers and distinguish electronic components from one another.  

 

IndLoc® for 3D positioning

 

Inductive near-field positioning enables the precise position of various objects to be determined in three dimensions. For this purpose, objects or people are equipped with passive coils (e.g. in the form of bracelets – known as wearables) to track their movements.

 

IndLoc® for area monitoring

Area monitoring makes it possible to selectively detect the crossing of boundaries. By establishing a geofence, specific areas can thus be demarcated and controlled, providing effective protection for employees and objects.

 

 

IndLoc® – GoalRef goal-line technology

 

GoalRef goal-line technology detects exactly when a soccer ball completely crosses the goal line and the goal is valid. In this use case, the soccer ball is equipped with a passive coil that enables precise localization of the ball. The data is evaluated in fractions of a second and sent to the referee’s watch.

IndLoc®

Induktive Nahfeldortung

IndLoc® - Induktive Nahfeldortung

Auf einen Blick

Die Notwendigkeit der präzisen Objekterkennung besteht in den verschiedensten Lebensbereichen. Ob in Industrie oder Freizeit - der Standort, sowie die Differenzierung verschiedener Objekte oder Personen ist in diversen Situationen von enormer Bedeutung. So ist in modernen Industriehallen die Lokalisierung und Klassifizierung von Objekten essentiell, um flexibel und ganzheitlich auf den Momentzustand reagieren zu können und Fehler zu vermeiden. Doch auch beispielsweise im Fußball, kann die Bestimmung der exakten Ballposition über den Ausgang des Spiels entscheiden.

 

Während bereits eine Vielzahl an Lokalisierungssystemen kommerziell erhältlich ist, so erfordern diese meist komplexe Sensorik, haben einen hohen Energieaufwand und hohe Kosten. Darüber hinaus kann der Einsatz dieser Technologien durch ungünstige Lichtverhältnisse oder metallische Objekte in Produktionsstätten beeinträchtigt werden. Diese Ausgangssituation bildet die Grundlage für die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte Technologie IndLoc®, welche solchen Situationen vorbeugen kann. Sie basiert auf einem schwachen magnetischen Wechselfeld und ermöglicht sowohl die zentimetergenaue Ortung verschiedener Objekte als auch präzise Objekterkennung und Kommunikation. Sie lässt sich einsetzen, wo funkbasierte Systeme an ihre Grenzen stoßen und liefert Angaben zu Position, Grenzüberschreitung, Objektart und -menge eines Zielobjektes mit hoher Präzision und in Echtzeit. Durch die Robustheit der Technologie in schwierigen Umgebungen, sowie der einfachen und energiesparenden Implementierung, ist ein Einsatz von IndLoc® in verschiedensten Anwendungsszenarien möglich. 

Technologische Merkmale

Die am Fraunhofer-Institut für integrierte Schaltungen IIS entwickelte Lokalisierungs- und Objekterkennungstechnologie IndLoc® ist eine kostengünstige Lösung zur dreidimensionalen Echtzeitlokalisierung, Objekterkennung und Kommunikation mit passiven Zielobjekten in einem definierten Volumen bei hoher Genauigkeit. Dazu umschließt ein stromdurchflossener Leiter ein definiertes Areal variabler Größe und erzeugt in diesem Bereich ein schwaches magnetisches Wechselfeld. Das zu erkennende Objekt enthält dabei leitfähige Elemente, welche in dem beobachteten Volumen ein magnetisches Sekundärfeld erzeugen. Dieses wird von Sensorantennen erfasst, welche die Daten an einen Reader weitergeben. Diese werden schließlich mithilfe eines angeschlossenen Back-End-Systems ausgewertet und interpretiert.

 

Dadurch können exakte Grenzüberschreitungen und Positionen von Objekten oder auch Personen bestimmt werden, sowie einzelne Objekte voneinander auch in verpacktem Zustand in Art und Menge unterschieden werden. Dabei gibt es keine Notwendigkeit einer komplexen, integrierten Sensorik mit zusätzlicher Batterie oder anderer Energiequellen am georteten Objekt. Auch die Toleranz gegenüber metallischen Störern, Mehrwegeausbreitungen und der Vorteil, dass keine "Line of Sight" für die Ortung erforderlich ist, ermöglichen die Detektion von verdeckten Objekten in schwierigen Umgebungen.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Forschung & Entwicklung

Ihr F&E Partner

Gerne begleiten wir, das Fraunhofer IIS, Sie bei der Implementierung Ihres IndLoc® Systems. Hierfür entwickeln wir angepasst an Ihren Anwendungsfall einen Prototyp, führen Machbarkeitsstudien für Sie durch und begleiten Sie durchgehend als neutraler Forschungspartner. Schildern Sie uns Ihr Problem - Gemeinsam finden wir die Lösung!

Testumgebung

Wir haben Zugang zu hochmodernen Messtechniken und -methoden, zu Fördertechnologie, sowie zu einem kompletten Testzentrum für die Simulation realer Einsatzszenarien. Dafür bieten wir Ihnen mit unserem L.I.N.K Test- und Anwendungszentrum eine Testumgebung, in welcher diverse Szenarien anwendungsnah getestet werden können.

Möglichkeiten der IndLoc® Technologie

Die IndLoc® Basistechnologie lässt sich mit ihren Komponenten für unterschiedliche Anwendungen anpassen und optimieren, sodass ein Einsatz in verschiedensten Bereichen möglich ist. Die IndLoc® Plattform unterscheidet sich hierbei je nach Anforderungen der jeweiligen Anwendung in verschiedene Detektionsarten. Dabei können anhand von induktiver Nahfeldortung sowohl mehrdimensionale Lokalisierungen als auch Objekterkennungen bis hin zu Kommunikationsanwendungen ermöglicht werden.

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Anwendungsmöglichkeiten

Der IndLoc®-Technik stehen noch diverse Anwendungsmöglichkeiten und Weiterentwicklungen offen. Um den Forschungsstand weiter voranzubringen, setzt das Fraunhofer IIS den Schwerpunkt auf weitere Entwicklungen in verschiedenen Anwendungsbereichen. Hierunter zählen Anwendungen in der Medizintechnik, der smarten Werkbank, digitale Kooperationsmethoden oder die Lokalisierung von Standardtranspondern innerhalb von Logistikprozessen. In der tiefergehenden Forschung befassen sich Wissenschaftler beim Fraunhofer IIS außerdem mit der Erforschung von Möglichkeiten zur Objekterkennung und Materialunterscheidung, beispielsweise auch für elektronische Komponenten. Neben direkten Aufträgen für Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekte, ist das Institut offen für Pilotanwendungen oder neuen Anwendungs- und Forschungsideen für Förderprojekte.

 

IndLoc® in der Materialerkennung

Die intelligente Objekt- und Füllstandsüberwachung erkennt diverse metallische Objekte. Diese können ohne Sichtkontakt präzise voneinander unterschieden werden, sowie der Füllstand einzelner Behälter angezeigt werden oder auch elektronische Komponenten differenziert werden.  

 

IndLoc® zur 3D-Ortung

 

Mittels induktiver Nahfeldortung kann die Position diverser Gegenstände präzise, sowie dreidimensional ermittelt werden. Hierfür werden Objekte, sowie Personen mit passiven Spulen (z.B. als Armband, sog. Wearables) ausgestattet, sodass deren Bewegungen verfolgt werden können.

 

IndLoc® in der Arealüberwachung

In der Arealüberwachung wird eine trennscharfe Detektion von Grenzüberschreitungen ermöglicht. Areale lassen sich somit gezielt im Sinne eines "Geofencing" abgrenzen und kontrollieren, wodurch Mitarbeiter und Objekte effizient geschützt werden können.

 

IndLoc® - GoalRef die Torlinientechnologie

 

Die Torlinientechnologie GoalRef erkennt genau wann ein Fußball die Torlinie komplett überschreitet und das Tor gültig ist. Der Fußball wird hierbei mit einer passiven Spule ausgestattet, welche eine präszise Lokalisierung des Balles ermöglicht. Die Daten werden hierbei in Sekundenbruchteilen ausgewertet und an die Schiedsrichter-Uhr gesendet.