Photo of the ball that flies into a goal on a professional soccer stadium while it's snowing. Stadium and crowd are made in 3D.

GoalRef

Goal Detection System

GoalRef – Goal Detection System

At a glance

For a sport to be enjoyable, it has to be fair. This means making the correct decisions when assessing crucial moments during a game or match — something that it is difficult for human judgment to do all by itself. Often, the naked eye simply fails to catch what happens during these all-important points during play, running the risk of an unfair outcome for both sides.

Soccer is one example of a sport that can be affected by decisions like this. FIFA Law 10 states: “A goal is scored when the whole of the ball passes over the goal line, between the goalposts and under the crossbar […]”

However, many refereeing decisions in the past have failed to uphold this rule because the only judge of the situation has been a mistaken human eye.

This is why GoalRef was developed. The technology uses a magnetic field around the goal to detect with precision whether the ball has crossed the line — and it is making incorrect refereeing decisions a thing of the past.

 

The technology can easily be adapted to suit other ball sports and deployed in a range of industrial applications.

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Technological features

The GoalRef system is based on IndLoc® technology, which has been adapted and developed to suit sports applications and enables precise localization of significant objects during play. In the case of soccer, an exciter loop is installed around the goal and generates a weak primary magnetic field, defining the monitoring range. The inside of the ball is fitted with imperceptible coils that use induction to generate their own magnetic field when they approach the goal area. Sensor antennas detect the change in the magnetic field and send a signal to the reader, which processes this and returns data to a connected back-end system. Finally, the information on whether or not a goal has been scored reaches the device that the referee is using (a watch or cell phone, for instance), allowing the referee to make the call.

Situation 1: The ball is outside the goal area

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Situation 2: The ball is near the goal

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Situation 3: The ball is in the goal

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Unser Angebot

Your R&D partner

Here at Fraunhofer IIS, we would be delighted to help you set up your own GoalRef system. We are able to tailor the system to a range of ball sports – just let us know what you have in mind. Some additional research will be required to get your system up and running successfully.

Testumgebung

We have access to state-of-the-art measurement technology and methods, to conveying technology and to a full test center: our Test and Application Center L.I.N.K., which we use to simulate real-life scenarios. Here, we can also give you access to our GoalRef demonstrator so you can see it in action for yourself.

History

2003

  • The initial concept behind GoalRef is developed and a vision of improved fairness in sport is born

2008

  • The technology is used for the first time at the Women’s Junior World Handball Championship in Macedonia

2010

  • The International Handball Federation (IHF) approves the GoalRef technology for the World Handball Championship

2011

  • GoalRef undergoes further development with soccer in mind
  • FIFA begins testing nine goal-line technology systems. Only two of them pass, one of which is GoalRef

2012

  • GoalRef is evaluated at the Club World Cup in Japan, with positive results
  • The International Football Association Board (IFAB) approves the GoalRef technology on July 5, 2012
  • The GoalRef system also passes extensive tests conducted by independent testers from EMPA (the Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology) in a range of environments and with over 1000 shots at goal

2013

  • GoalRef is deployed in all 19 Copa Amsterdam matches
  • Referees are free to decide whether they want to use the GoalRef technology, and unanimously choose to do so

2014–2015

  • Camera-based goal-line technology is introduced in the German Bundesliga

Since 2014

  • IndLoc technology undergoes further development for industrial applications

Photo of the ball that flies into a goal on a professional soccer stadium while it's snowing. Stadium and crowd are made in 3D.

GoalRef

Die Torlinientechnologie

GoalRef – Die Torlinientechnik

Auf einen Blick

Guter Sport zeichnet sich durch ein hohes Maß an Fairness aus. Hierfür ist es besonders wichtig entscheidende Spielsituationen richtig zu werten. Der Mensch alleine kann jedoch nicht jede Situation korrekt einschätzen und beurteilen. Oft sind diese mit bloßem Auge nicht zu erkennen und veranlassen einen unfairen Ausgang eines Sportwettbewerbs.

Nimmt man hierbei den Fußball als Beispiel, so steht in Regel 10 der FIFA geschrieben: „Ein erzieltes Tor ist gültig, wenn der Ball die Torlinie zwischen den Torpfosten und unterhalb der Querlatte in vollem Umfang überquert […]“

Viele Schiedsrichterentscheidungen in der Vergangenheit berücksichtigten diese Regel allerdings nicht, weil die Situation mit menschlichem Auge falsch eingeschätzt wurde.

Hierfür wurde die GoalRef Technologie entwickelt, welche mithilfe eines Magnetfeldes um das Tor exakt detektiert, ob der Ball die Linie tatsächlich überquert hat. Falsche Schiedsrichterentscheidungen gehören durch GoalRef der Vergangenheit an.

 

Die Technologie kann problemlos auf andere Ballsportarten adaptiert sowie für verschiedene industrielle Anwendungen genutzt werden.

 

 

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Technologische Merkmale

Das GoalRef System orientiert sich technologisch an der Basistechnologie IndLoc®.  Diese wurde auf Sportanwendungen angepasst und weiterentwickelt und bietet damit eine präzise Lokalisierung von entscheidenden Objekten im Sport. Im Fußball-Beispiel wird eine Exciterspule rund um das Tor gelegt, welche ein schwaches magnetisches Primärfeld erzeugt und den zu überwachenden Raum um das Tor definiert. Der verwendete Fußball wird im Inneren mit nicht bemerkbaren Spulen ausgestattet, welche mittels Induktion ein eigenes Magnetfeld in Tornähe aufbauen. Die Magnetfeldänderung wird durch die angebrachten Sensorantennen detektiert. Diese senden dann ein Signal an den Reader, welcher das Signal verarbeitet und in Echtzeit an ein angeschlossenes Back-End-System sendet. Das Ergebnis, ob ein Tor erzielt wurde, wird schließlich verschlüsselt an den Schiedsrichter gesendet, welcher dieses an einem Gerät (Schiedsrichteruhr, Handy, etc.) ablesen kann.

Situation 1: Fußball befindet sich außerhalb des Tores

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Situation 2: Fußball in Tornähe

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Situation 3: Fußball im Tor

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Unser Angebot

Ihr F&E Partner

Gerne begleiten wir, das Fraunhofer IIS, Sie bei der Implementierung Ihres GoalRef Systems. Das System können wir dabei für viele Ballsportarten maßgeschneidert anpassen, kommen Sie hierfür einfach mit Ihren Vorstellungen auf uns zu. Es ist hierbei weitere Forschung erforderlich, um ihr System erfolgreich zu implementieren.

Testumgebung

Wir haben Zugang zu hochmodernen Messtechniken und -methoden, zu Fördertechnologie, sowie zu einem kompletten Testzentrum für die Simulation realer Einsatzszenarien in unserem L.I.N.K Test- und Anwendungszentrum. Hier bieten wir Ihnen auch Zugang zu unserem GoalRef Demonstrator an, um das System genau zu beurteilen.

Geschichte

2003

  • Die ersten Ideen zu GoalRef werden entwickelt, die Vision von mehr Fairness im Sport ist geboren

2008

  • Erster Einsatz der Technologie bei der Junioren Handball-WM der Damen in Mazedonien

2010

  • Freigabe der GoalRef Technologie durch den Internationalen Handballverband (IHF) für die Handball-WM

2011

  • Weiterentwicklung von GoalRef für das Fußballtor
  • Die FIFA Testphase zu neun Torlinientechnologien beginnt. Nur zwei Technologien bestehen diese, eine davon GoalRef

2012

  • GoalRef wird bei der Fußball Klub-WM in Japan evaluiert und für gut befunden
  • Am 5. Juli 2012 lässt das International Football Association Board (IFAB) die GoalRef Technologie zu
  • Das GoalRef System besteht auch die umfangreichen Tests unabhängiger Tester der EMPA (Eidgenössische Materialprüfungs Anstalt) in verschiedenen Umgebungen und mit über 1000 verübten Torschüssen

2013

  • Einsatz von GoalRef in allen 19 Spielen der Copa Amsterdam
  • Die Schiedsrichter der Copa Amsterdam können frei entscheiden, ob sie die GoalRef Technologie verwenden wollen und entscheiden sich ausnahmslos dafür

2014 - 2015

  • Einführung einer kamerabasierten Torlinientechnologie in der ersten Bundesliga

Seit 2014

  • Weiterentwicklung der IndLoc-Technologie auch für industrielle Anwendungen