Precise Positioning for Industry

At a glance

© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs
Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K.

Fraunhofer IIS’s precise positioning for industry permits the rapid evaluation of positioning, communication and identification technologies. With the help of several integrated chipsets, we can determine and test the appropriate technology for your application. Fraunhofer IIS advises you on the introduction of technologies in your company. We can also provide you with a tailored all-in-one positioning solution or develop a solution adapted to your application.

Precise positioning for industry can be tailored to your requirements. Depending on those requirements, we can evaluate positioning, communication and identification technologies. This lets you select a technology that is tailored to your area size, desired accuracy, update rate or battery life. The evaluation also considers additional requirements such as size, price, time horizon and other parameters.

What we offer

Consultancy

 

Fraunhofer IIS has comprehensive technical and business know-how to assist you as you introduce positioning technologies. We have access to state-of-the-art measuring techniques and methods, to conveyor technology, as well as to an entire test center for simulating real application scenarios.

Evaluation and testing

We test and evaluate potential technical solutions for you under realistic conditions to check the technologies for their suitability. To this end, our L.I.N.K. facility offers you a test environment in which individual scenarios can be tested in detail and close to the application. Individual factors such as area size, transmitter characteristics, update rate or battery life are included in the process.

Customer-specific development

Fraunhofer IIS offers you all the expertise needed for a complete customer-specific system solution in the field of positioning, communication, identification and navigation. We conduct research and development work that is tailored to your business case, whether for new solutions or to adapt existing products. The basis for integrating the product is an individual license agreement aligned to your business model.

Technologies and expertise

RTT (Round Trip Time)
Uplink TDoA
Downlink TDoA

Positioning makes use of ultra-wideband (UWB) radio technology. Because this is based on short-duration pulses, it can achieve a very high time resolution. This in turn makes the system very robust against the effects of multipath propagation and ensures very high accuracy of the measured positions. Meanwhile, its large radio frequency bandwidth and simultaneously low signal power levels mean it does not disturb the spectrum and can coexist with other radio systems. Carrierless transmission simplifies the hardware design of UWB systems.

 

Different measuring principles are applied:

Round trip time (RTT):

This method calculates the location based on the time it takes for the signal to travel from the transmitter to the receiver and back again. This method is simple and delivers high accuracy.

 

Uplink time difference of arrival (TDoA):

TDoA supports a higher number of participants than RTT. This method uses triangulation to determine locations. The object to be located acts here as a transmitter to the pre-installed base stations, which are synchronized beforehand. Compared to Downlink TDoA, the number of objects to be located is limited by high utilization of the radio channel.

 

Downlink time difference of arrival (TDoA):

In contrast to uplink TDoA, here the base stations transmit to the objects to be located. This makes efficient use of the radio channel, as only a few base stations transmit a signal. As a result, any number of objects can be located with an average accuracy of a few centimeters.

Roundview

The Roundview system scans the angle of the signal and its distance. Vehicles fitted with Roundview can detect an object equipped with a tag anywhere in the room. Several strings of antennas attached to the vehicle scan the surroundings. They detect the tag and its distance and direction from the vehicle at any point, allowing the vehicle to follow the tag.

Adhoc is a self-calibrating UWB positioning system. Rather than having to be laboriously calibrated, anchors determine their position themselves. This permits the use of mobile anchors. Messages are sent to nodes that are not within range. The nodes are easy to configure. This communication concept is implemented on the Wismit platform, meaning the system is quick to set up and does not require any complex infrastructure. This makes it particularly suitable for dynamic applications such as construction sites.

The Wismit platform is hardware used in the rapid evaluation of positioning, communication and identification technologies. It can also serve as a basis for customer-specific developments in various areas. This platform enables the simultaneous use of different positioning technologies.

It comprises different communication components, such as positioning and communication chipsets with different frequency ranges (868 MHz, 2.4 GHz, 3.25–4.75 GHz or 4–6.5 GHz) and integrates different sensors (such as accelerometer or gyroscope), microcontrollers, and RFID or NFC. The credit card sized all-in-one platform has an interface to Raspberry Pi from version 4.4 onward and an inductive charging battery (Qi standard).

Strengths

  • System for comparative measurement and evaluation
    • Evaluation of different chipsets in special application scenarios
    • Technology consulting
    • Basis for system planning and sensor fusion
  • Small batches
  • All-in-one positioning solution
  • Fast adaptation to customer-specific application scenarios

Technical advantages

  • Different positioning technologies on one platform
  • Accuracy of approx. 10 cm
  • Tag is wirelessly rechargeable (QI standard)
  • Power supply for anchors via PoE
  • Leading positioning technologies on one platform

Applications and projects

Complete positioning of objects and persons enables maximum transparency for your processes. This results in potential uses in a wide range of industries.  

Wireless-based positioning systems are considered a key component of modern logistics systems. They pave the way for automated process monitoring based on time, location and scene. Demand is constantly growing for reliable, high-resolution and real-time object positioning and object identification inside and outside buildings.

The Wismit transceiver platform is versatile and its modular design allows it to be adapted to a wide range of requirements. Numerous Fraunhofer projects already use Wismits to implement positioning.

 

Areas of application:

  • Logistics: e.g. picking area
  • Industrie 4.0: e.g. production control
  • Internet of Things: e.g. container management
  • Sports: e.g. soccer
 

LocOn

Automatic access controls at airports.

 

 

Ko-Tag

The joint Ko-TAG project investigates wireless-based cooperative sensor technology for the protection of vulnerable road users.

 

Orat

Wireless-based positioning architecture that functions reliably even in difficult production environments.

 

RedFIR®

RedFIR® is an innovative wireless-based positioning technology that calculates the positions of people and objects in real time with a high degree of precision.

 

SECAIR

Combination of radio positioning and video technologies for the observation of vehicles, objects or persons to increase airport security.

EasyPilot

Efficient picking with JUNGHEINRICH’s easyPILOT Follow: Thanks to the precise positioning developed by Fraunhofer IIS, the picking vehicle automatically follows people and simplifies workflows during loading and unloading.

 

FlexLoc

Flexible positioning solution for automated production and logistics processes

Präzise Lokalisierung für Industrie

Präzise Lokalisierung für Industrie

Auf einen Blick

© Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs
Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K.

Die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte präzise Lokalisierung für Industrie bietet die Möglichkeit zur schnellen Evaluierung von Lokalisierungs-, Kommunikations- und Identifikationstechnologien. Mit Hilfe von mehreren integrierten Chipsätzen ist es möglich, die für Ihre Anwendung passende Technologie zu ermitteln und zu testen. Das Fraunhofer IIS berät Sie bei der Einführung von Technologien in Ihrem Unternehmen. Wir stellen Ihnen außerdem eine maßgeschneiderte »all-in-one«-Ortungslösung bereit oder entwickeln eine auf Ihre Anwendung angepasste Lösung.

Die präzise Lokalisierung für Industrie kann maßgeschneidert an Ihre Anforderung eingesetzt werden. Je nach Anforderungen können Lokalisierungs-, Kommunikations- und Identifikationstechnologien evaluiert werden. So kann eine auf Ihre Arealgröße, gewünschte Genauigkeit, Updaterate oder Batterielaufzeit abgestimmte Technologie ausgewählt werden. Bei der Evaluation werden zusätzliche Anforderungen wie Größe, Preis, Zeithorizont und Randbedingungen beachtet.

 

Angebot

Beratung

 

Das Fraunhofer IIS verfügt über umfassendes technisches und betriebswirtschaftliches Know-how, Sie bei der Einführung von Lokalisierungstechnologien zu unterstützen. Wir haben Zugang zu hochmodernen Messtechniken und -methoden, zu Fördertechnologie, sowie zu einem kompletten Testzentrum für die Simulation realer Einsatzszenarien.

Evaluierung und Test

Wir testen und evaluieren für Sie mögliche technische Lösungen, um Technologien realitätsnah auf ihre Eignung zu überprüfen. Dafür bieten wir Ihnen mit unserer L.I.N.K.-Halle eine Testumgebung, in welcher einzelne Szenarien anwendungsnah und ausführlich getestet werden können. In den Prozess werden individuelle Faktoren, wie die Arealgröße, die Senderbeschaffenheit, die Updaterate oder die Batterielaufzeit einbezogen.

Kundenspezifische Entwicklung

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Ihnen alle Kompetenzen, die für eine vollständige kundenspezifische Systemlösung im Bereich Lokalisierung, Kommunikation, Identifikation und Navigation nötig sind. Angepasst an Ihren Geschäftsfall erfolgt die Forschung und Entwicklung neuer Lösungen oder eine Anpassung von bestehenden Produkten. Basis für die Integration des Produkts ist ein individueller Lizenzvertrag, der sich an Ihrem Geschäftsmodell orientiert.

Technologien und Kompetenzen

RTT (Round Trip Time)
Uplink TDoA
Downlink TDoA

Zur Lokalisierung wird die UWB (Ultra Wide Band)-Funktechnologie angewandt. Diese basiert auf zeitlich kurzen Impulsen, sodass eine sehr hohe Zeitauflösung erreicht wird. Damit ist eine hohe Robustheit gegenüber Effekten der Mehrwegeausbreitung gegeben und die Genauigkeit der gemessenen Positionen ist sehr gut. Mit seiner großen Funkfrequenz-Bandbreite bei gleichzeitigen niedrigen Leistungspegeln der Signale ist eine ungestörte Nutzung des Spektrums in Koexistenz mit anderen Funksystemen möglich. Die trägerlose Übertragung vereinfacht das Hardware-Design von UWB-Systemen.

 

Dabei werden unterschiedliche Messprinzipien angewandt:

RTT (Round Trip Time):

Diese Methode berechnet den Standort durch die Zeitspanne, in der das Signal vom Sender zum Empfänger und wieder zurückgesendet wird. Diese Methode ist einfach und ermöglicht eine hohe Genauigkeit.

 

Uplink TDoA (Time Difference of Arrival):

Eine höhere Anzahl an Teilnehmern als bei RTT ist mittels TDoA möglich. In dieser Methode wird die Triangulation zur Lokalisierung genutzt. Das zu lokalisierende Objekt agiert hier als Sender zu den vorinstallierten Basisstationen, welche zuvor synchronisiert werden. Im Vergleich zu Downlink TDoA ist  die Anzahl an zu lokalisierenden Objekten durch eine hohe Auslastung des Funkkanals begrenzt.

 

Downlink TDoA (Time Difference of Arrival):

Im Unterschied zu uplink TDoA senden hier die Basisstationen zu den Objekten, welche lokalisiert werden sollen. Der Funkkanal wird dabei effizient ausgenutzt, da nur wenige Basisstationen ein Signal senden. Dadurch ist eine Ortung beliebig vieler Objekte mit einer Genauigkeit von wenigen Zentimetern im Mittel möglich.

Roundview

Das Roundviewsystem scannt den Winkel des Signals und dessen Entfernung. Durch die Roundview wird ein mit einem Tag ausgestattetes Objekt an einer beliebigen Stelle im Raum durch das Fahrzeug erkannt. Mehrere auf dem Fahrzeug angebrachte Antennenstränge scannen die Umgebung. Sie erkennen das Tag sowie dessen Entfernung und Richtung vom Fahrzeug an einer beliebigen Stelle, wodurch das Fahrzeug dem Tag folgen kann.

Adhoc ist ein selbst-einmessendes UWB-Lokalisierungssystems. Anker müssen somit nicht mehr aufwendig eingemessen werden, sondern bestimmen selbst ihre Position. Das ermöglicht den Einsatz von mobilen Ankern. Die Nachrichten werden an Knoten verschickt, die nicht in Reichweite sind. Dabei werden die Knoten einfach konfiguriert. Die Implementierung des Kommunikationskonzeptes erfolgt auf der Wismit Plattform. Das System ist somit schnell aufgebaut und benötigt keiner aufwendigen Infrastruktur. Damit eignet es sich vor allem für dynamische Anwendungsbereiche, wie Baustellen.

Die Wismit-Plattform ist eine Hardware, die zur Evaluierung von Lokalisierungs-, Kommunikations- und Identifikationstechnologien verwendet wird. Sie kann auch als Basis für kundenspezifische Entwicklungen in verschiedenen Bereichen dienen. Diese Plattform ermöglicht den zeitgleichen Einsatz von verschiedenen Ortungstechnologien.

Sie besteht aus verschiedenen Kommunikationsbausteinen, wie Lokalisierungs- und Kommunikationschipsätze mit verschiedenen Frequenzbereichen (868 MHz, 2,4 GHz, 3,25- 4,75 GHz oder 4-6,5GHz), hat verschiedene Sensoren (wie Beschleunigungssensor oder Gyroskop), Mikrocontroller, sowie RFID oder NFC integriert. Die „all-in-One“- Plattform in Scheckkartengröße verfügt über eine Schnittstelle zum Raspberry Pi ab Version 4.4 und über einen induktiv ladenden Akku (Qi-Standard).

Vorteile

  • System zur Vergleichsmessung und Evaluierung
    • Evaluierung verschiedener Chipsätze in speziellen Anwendungsszenarien
    • Technologieberatung
    • Basis zur Systemplanung und Sensorfusion
  • Kleinserien
  • „all-in-one“- Ortungslösung
  • Schnelle Anpassung auf kundenspezifische Anwendungsszenarien

Technische Vorzüge

  • Verschiedene Ortungstechnologien auf einer Plattform
  • Genauigkeit von ca. 10 cm
  • TAG ist kabellos aufladbar (QI-Standard)
  • Spannungsversorgung der Anker über PoE
  • Führende Ortungstechnologien auf einer Plattform

Anwendungen und Projekte

Die lückenlose Positionsbestimmung von Objekten und Personen ermöglicht maximale Transparenz für Ihre Prozesse. Daraus ergeben sich Nutzungspotentiale in den verschiedensten Branchen.  

Funkbasierte Lokalisierungssysteme gelten als Schlüsselkomponente von modernen Logistiksystemen. Sie bilden die Grundlage für die automatisierte, zeit-, orts- und szenenbezogene Prozessüberwachung. Die Nachfrage nach zuverlässiger, hochauflösender, sowie echtzeitfähiger Objektortung und Objektidentifikation innerhalb und außerhalb von Gebäuden wächst beständig.

Die Sendeempfänger-Plattform Wismit ist vielseitig einsetzbar, die Modulbauweise erlaubt die Anpassung an die unterschiedlichsten Anforderungen. Zahlreiche Fraunhofer Projekte nutzen bereits Wismits, um eine Lokalisierung zu realisieren.

 

Anwendungsbereiche:

  • Logistik: z.B. Kommissionierbereich
  • Industrie 4.0: z.B. Produktionssteuerung
  • Internet of Things: z.B. Behältermanagement
  • Sport: z.B. Fußball
 

LocOn

Automatische Zutrittskontrollen am Flughafen.

 

 

FlexLoc

Flexible Lokalisierungslösung für automatisierte Produktions- und Logistikprozesse.

 

Ko-Tag

Das Verbundprojekt Ko-TAG erforscht kooperative Sensortechnologie zum Schutz von verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmern auf Basis von Funk.

 

Orat

Funkbasierte Ortungsarchitektur, die auch in einer schwierigen Produktionsumgebung zuverlässig funktioniert.

 

RedFIR®

RedFIR® steht für eine innovative funkbasierte Ortungstechnologie, die Personen und Objekte in Echtzeit mit hoher Genauigkeit lokalisiert.

 

SECAIR

Kombination von Funklokalisierung und Videotechnologien für die Beobachtung von Fahrzeugen, Objekten oder Personen zur Erhöhung der Flughafensicherheit.

EasyPilot

Effizientes Kommissionieren mit easyPILOT Follow von JUNGHEINRICH: Durch die vom Fraunhofer IIS entwickelte präzise Lokalisieren folgt das Kommissionierfahrzeug den Menschen automatisch und erleichtert die Arbeitsabläufe beim Be- und Entladen.