Security for vulnerable road users through Ko-TAG

Ko-TAG

At a glance

Ko-TAG is a collaborative research project exploring cooperative radio-based sensing technology. Most of the work is aimed at applications such as protection of vulnerable road users and vehicle-to-vehicle safety.

The aim of the overarching Ko-FAS research initiative is to make significant contributions to improving road safety, i.e. to reduce the frequency of accidents and mitigate their consequences as far as possible. It is in this context that the Ko-TAG project investigates cooperative sensing based on transponder systems.

In cooperation with partners of the project Ko-TAG the Fraunhofer researchers received the award for mobility of the ADAC in Bavaria on October 2nd, 2013.

Ko-TAG and Ko-FAS are being undertaken in collaboration with project partners from the automotive industry and sponsored by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology.

Ko-TAG project partners:

Fraunhofer IIS's involvement in the project centers on developing part of a tracking system, with the focus of this work on angle measurement and inertial sensing. In addition, Fraunhofer IIS is conducting research into the classification of vulnerable road users' movements in order to enable reliable and timely hazard detection.

Ko-TAG is geared primarily towards protection of vulnerable road users and vehicle-to-vehicle safety. For this purpose, vehicles are equipped with tracking units which query transponders worn or carried by other road users. The transponders respond to these queries by providing specific information. Based on the responses received, the tracking unit then determines the relative positions of road users nearby, classifies them and assesses the risk of collision. Fraunhofer IIS is providing key components for both the tracking units and the transponders.

Technology

Detailed view of Ko-TAG directional antenna’s backside
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS/Thomas Endres

Fraunhofer IIS Ko-TAG Antenna

Based on cooperative sensing technology, the pedestrian protection system detects, identifies, locates and tracks pedestrians. It is specially designed to deal with situations where there is no line of sight. Vulnerable road users such as pedestrians or cyclists are equipped with active transmitters. These can be embedded in clothes, satchels or cell phones.

The tracking technology incorporated into the vehicle uses a multiple-antenna system to identify pedestrians and cyclists based on active transmitters worn or carried by them. If a pedestrian is close to the car, they will be reliably identified as a vulnerable road user. The system then determines how far away the mobile transmitter (and hence the pedestrian) is and in which direction. If there is a risk of collision, the system will either warn the driver or take action to avoid or mitigate it. This is possible even if the pedestrian is obscured by parked cars or buses.

The pedestrian protection system integrated into Ko-TAG starts by tracking all pedestrians in its sensing range who are equipped with a transponder system. A multiple-antenna system incorporated into the vehicle measures the distance to each object tracked and the angle it forms with the vehicle. The tracking system will stay connected to a transmitter even if there is no line of sight.

Apart from on-board angle and distance measurement, the tracking system also uses an inertial measurement unit, which is integrated into the transceiver and acquires data on the pedestrian's speed and direction. The information collected is fed into the tracking process, helping refine results.

Another advantage of the integrated inertial measurement unit is that it allows the transponder system to be deactivated whenever it has been stationary for a long period of time. This means that the transceiver unit can be switched off to minimize power consumption.

The ability to track pedestrians obscured from view provides a basis for adding further capability through data fusion, e.g. using input from video-based image processing. Since the tracked path of the pedestrian is sufficient to predict exactly where they will step into the road even if they cannot yet be seen, an area of interest can be defined within the image and specially processed. This area can then be closely scanned for shapes or even partial shapes (e.g. legs, chest or head) of pedestrians.

Ko-TAG can thus generate valuable additional information for image-based pedestrian detection. Combining the two approaches will ensure reliable identification of pedestrians and yield very high quality data on their lateral and longitudinal distance. This will form the basis for a range of protective measures, including an automatic emergency stop.

Once the system has detected a pedestrian and tracking has yielded position and velocity information, the risk of colliding with the pedestrian can be calculated. This is a complex process because both the pedestrian and the driver may act in a variety of ways, which means a collision is impossible to predict with absolute certainty until it is imminent.

As a rule, however, the protection system will need to take action much earlier if it is to be able to limit the severity of a potential accident. This requires the ability to accurately identify and assess the pedestrian's range of possible behaviors, as pedestrians are more maneuverable than vehicles and can change direction very quickly.

The pedestrian's behavior is predicted with the aid of a statistically based behavior model. This method involves first deriving a model of the pedestrian's behavior from previous observation of a large number of pedestrians and then determining his or her most likely behavior in a given situation.

Based on the general mechanics of human locomotion and on observed behavior, it is possible to identify patterns that typically precede specific changes in a person's movements, indicating, for instance, that they are likely to step into the road. In the case of Ko-TAG, a combination of early indicators derived by tracking the pedestrian's movements and information from the inertial measurement unit is used to predict a hazardous change in the pedestrian's behavior.

If the collision probability exceeds a threshold, the amount of time remaining until contact with the pedestrian (also known as time to collision or TTC) is calculated on board the car. Depending on how much time remains as well as on the speed of the vehicle and the specific situation encountered, the planned demonstration system will initiate a particular type of intervention.

If the time to collision exceeds 1.5 seconds, the driver will still be able to respond effectively to a warning. Additionally, the system can prepare the vehicle for an emergency stop by precharging the brakes and optimizing brake force distribution.

If a collision is very likely to be unavoidable, the system can initiate an emergency stop. In addition to actuating the brakes, it can optimally prepare the vehicle's occupants for the emergency stop by activating the belt pretensioners and head rests (source: http://ko-fas.de/).

Application

An obvious way of extending the usefulness of the Ko-TAG system is to enlarge the safety zone in front of the vehicle by enabling detection not only of pedestrians and other vulnerable road users but of all types of road users. The ability to locate vehicles equipped with transponders would create a unique opportunity to identify hazards that conventional sensing technology is unable to detect.

One example is an imminent side crash at a four-way intersection or a three-way intersection with very poor visibility. In such contexts, maximum benefit can be derived from the Ko-TAG system's ability to detect and track objects obscured from view and to precisely locate a collision partner prior to impact. By factoring in simultaneously communicated data on the dimensions and current speeds of the vehicles concerned, it becomes possible to determine potential collision paths more precisely than is possible with current (cooperative or self-contained) technologies. As a result, drivers could be warned of a possible collision early enough to be able to avoid it.

An omnidirectional version of the Ko-TAG protection system will make it possible to address situations such as head-on, rear-end and side crashes and possibly skidding accidents. It may also enable applications such as blind spot and intersection assistants.

The pedestrian protection system will serve as a basis for the omnidirectional system, with existing features retained and added to. This latter system will identify not only pedestrians and cyclists, but also motorized vehicles such as cars, trucks and motorcycles, which all have specific movement characteristics. To this end, appropriate motion models need to developed that make it possible to calculate potential collision paths and to derive the necessary trigger algorithms (source: http://ko-fas.de/).

Offer

Fraunhofer IIS's ideas help equip cars with high-performance electronics. Vehicles fitted with these technologies are in tune with the environmental concepts of tomorrow and offer drivers, passengers and other road users greater safety. For the automotive industry, this in turn translates into progress and competitiveness.

Fraunhofer IIS has all the knowledge necessary to provide complete tailored system solutions for tracking and navigation.

Thanks to our extensive experience in antenna and transmission technology, we are able to objectively evaluate, discuss and elaborate your ideas and plans. Fraunhofer IIS will take you through the entire development process, which will culminate in the proven and lasting success of the strategic solution created.

An R&D or license agreement will allow you to utilize our expertise as well as hardware and software.

Schutz verletzlicher Verkehrsteilnehmer

Ko-TAG Peilantenne

Auf einen Blick

Das Verbundprojekt Ko-TAG erforscht kooperative Sensortechnologie auf Basis von Funk. Diese Technologie wird vor allem in Hinblick auf die Anwendungsbereiche "Schutz von verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmern" und "Fahrzeug-Fahrzeug-Sicherheit" untersucht.

Ziel der übergeordneten Forschungsinitiative »Ko-FAS« ist es, wesentliche Beiträge zur Steigerung der Verkehrssicherheit zu leisten, also die Zahl von Verkehrsunfällen zu reduzieren sowie deren Folgen weit möglichst zu mindern. Innerhalb des Teilprojektes »Ko-TAG« wird hierzu kooperative Sensortechnologie auf Basis von Transpondersystemen erforscht.

Zusammen mit Partnern aus dem Verbundprojekt Ko-TAG erhielten die Fraunhofer-Wissenschaftler am 2. Oktober 2013 dafür in Alzenau den Mobilitätspreis des ADAC in Bayern.

Ko-TAG und Ko-FAS werden in Zusammenarbeit mit Projektpartnern aus der Automobilindustrie durchgeführt und von dem Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie gefördert.

Ko-TAG Projektpartner:

Der Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten des Fraunhofer IIS liegt dabei in der Entwicklung eines Teiles des Ortungssystems. Das Fraunhofer IIS hat dabei den Schwerpunkt auf die Winkelmessung und Inertialsensorik. Außerdem forscht Fraunhofer an der Bewegungsklassifikation verletzlicher Verkehrsteilnehmer, um Gefahren frühzeitig und zuverlässig zu erkennen.

Ko-TAG dient vor allem den Anwendungsbereichen »Schutz von verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmern« und »Fahrzeug-Fahrzeug-Sicherheit«. Dazu werden Ortungseinheiten in Fahrzeugen verwendet, welche von anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern mitgeführte Transponder abfragen. Die Transponder antworten auf die Abfragen der Ortungseinheiten mit spezifischen Informationen. Aus den Antworten schließt die Ortungseinheit auf die Relativpositionen sowie den Typ der anderen Verkehrspartner im Verkehrsumfeld und kann daraus mögliche Kollisionsrisiken berechnen. Dabei liefert das Fraunhofer IIS Schlüsselkomponenten sowohl für die Ortungseinheiten als auch für die Transponder.

Technische Beschreibung

Nahaufnahme der Rückseite der Ko-TAG Peilantenne
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS/Thomas Endres

Ko-TAG Peilantenne

Das Fußgängerschutzsystem basierend auf kooperativer Sensortechnik ortet, identifiziert und klassifiziert Fußgänger und ist speziell für Verdeckungsfälle konzipiert. Verletzliche Verkehrsteilnehmer, wie Fußgänger oder Radfahrer, werden mit aktiven Sendern ausgestattet. Diese können in Kleidung, Schulranzen oder Mobiltelefone integriert werden.

Die im Fahrzeug verbaute Ortungstechnologie erkennt mit einem Mehrfachantennensystem Fußgänger und Radfahrer per Funk anhand des aktiven Senders. Befindet sich der Fußgänger in der Nähe des Autos, identifiziert ihn die Technologie eindeutig als verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmer. Das System bestimmt den Abstand und die Richtung, in der sich der mobile Sender und damit der Fußgänger befindet. Bei drohender Kollision wird der Fahrer gewarnt oder das System löst Maßnahmen zur Unfallvermeidung und Unfallfolgenminderung aus. Dies funktioniert auch dann, wenn der Fußgänger von parkenden Autos oder Bussen verdeckt ist.

Das in Ko-TAG integrierte Fußgängerschutzsystem verfolgt zunächst alle mit einem Transpondersystem ausgestatteten Fußgänger im Erfassungsbereich des Fahrzeuges. Ein in das Fahrzeug integriertes Mehrfachantennensystem misst Abstand und Winkel der verfolgten Objekte. Im Falle einer optischen Verdeckung bleibt der Kontakt zwischen Ortungssystem und Sender erhalten.

Das Tracking stützt sich neben der boardautonomen Winkel- und Abstandsmessung auch auf eine Inertialsensorik, die im Sendeempfänger integriert ist und die Informationen über den Bewegungsvektor des Fußgängers ermittelt. Diese gesammelten Informationen werden mit in das Tracking einbezogen und verbessern die Ortungsqualität weiter.

Ein weiterer Vorteil der Integration eines Inertialsensors in das Transpondersystem liegt in der Möglichkeit der Anwendung einer energiesparenden Deaktivierung, falls es für längere Zeit nicht bewegt wird. Als Konsequenz kann die Sende-/Empfangseinheit abgeschaltet werden, um den Stromverbrauch zu minimieren.

Durch das Tracking optisch verdeckter Fußgänger ist es möglich, mit Methoden der Datenfusion, z.B. mit den Daten videogestützter Bildverarbeitung, einen weiteren Zusatznutzen darzustellen. Da aufgrund des aufgezeichneten Bewegungspfads des Fußgängers der Punkt bekannt ist, an dem dieser im Falle optischer Verdeckung die Straße betreten wird, kann im Sinne einer Aufmerksamkeitssteuerung eine intensive Bildverarbeitung in einem kleinen Bildbereich begrenzt erfolgen. Dort wird dann intensiv nach dem Erscheinungsbild von Fußgängern oder auch nur sichtbaren Teilumrissen von Fußgängern (z.B. Beine, Brustbereich, Kopf, etc.) gesucht.

Durch Ko-TAG wird also auch wertvolles Zusatzwissen für die bildbasierte Fußgängererkennung generiert. Durch die Kombination beider Systeme ergibt sich eine sehr hohe Datenqualität bezüglich der lateralen Position des Fußgängers, Abstand und zweifelsfreier Klassifizierung als Fußgänger. Dies bildet die Grundlage für weitreichende Schutzmaßnahmen, die bis hin zur autonomen Notbremsung reichen können.

Ist ein Fußgänger durch das System erkannt worden und liegt aufgrund des Trackings eine Orts- und Geschwindigkeitsinformation vor, kann das Risiko für eine Kollision mit dem Fußgänger errechnet werden. Die Risikoberechnung stellt sich kompliziert dar, da sowohl der Fußgänger als auch der Autofahrer gewisse Handlungsspielräume besitzen, die erst sehr spät mit absoluter Sicherheit eine Kollision vorhersagen lassen.

In der Regel muss das Schutzsystem deutlich vorher Maßnahmen ergreifen, um den potentiellen Unfall positiv zu beeinflussen. Dazu ist es nötig, die realistischen Handlungsspielräume des Fußgängers genau abzuschätzen, da dieser im Vergleich zum Fahrzeug über eine größere Manövrierfähigkeit verfügt und kurzzeitig eine sehr hohe Eigendynamik entwickeln kann.

Zur Prädiktion des Fußgängerverhaltens wird die statistische Verhaltensmodellierung genutzt. Bei dieser Methode wird ein Modell des Fußgängerverhaltens aus im Vorfeld gemachter Beobachtung einer Vielzahl von Fußgängern abgeleitet und je nach Situation eine Wahrscheinlichkeit für das weitere Verhalten des Fußgängers ermittelt.

Ausgehend von den physiologischen Randbedingungen bei der Bewegung von Menschen lassen sich durch Verhaltensbeobachtung Verhaltensmuster auffinden, die typisch für gewisse bevorstehende Änderungen im Bewegungsablauf sind und daher z.B. das plötzliche Betreten der Straße als wahrscheinlich erscheinen lassen. Konkret wird anhand von Frühindikatoren, die aus der Verfolgung der Fußgängerbewegung und den Informationen des Inertialsensors gewonnen werden, auf eine gefährliche Verhaltensänderung des Fußgängers geschlossen.

Übersteigt die Kollisionswahrscheinlichkeit einen Schwellwert, so wird die Zeit bis zum Kontakt mit dem Fußgänger (time to collision, TTC) vom Fahrzeug aus berechnet. Je nach verbleibender TTC, Eigengeschwindigkeit und Verkehrssituation wird nun im geplanten Demonstrationssystem eine gewisse Handlung eingeleitet.

Ist die TTC größer als 1,5 Sekunden, kann eine Warnung des Fahrers noch Wirkung zeigen. Parallel dazu kann das Fahrzeug bereits auf eine Notbremssituation vorbereitet werden, d.h. es erfolgt eine Vorkonditionierung der Bremse und ein Optimieren der Bremskennlinie.

Ist eine Kollision mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit unvermeidlich, kann das System eine autonome Notbremsung durchführen. Neben dem Bremseingriff können durch Betätigung von Gurtstraffern und Kopfstützen die Insassen optimal auf die Notbremsung vorbereitet werden. (Quelle: http://ko-fas.de/)

Anwendung

Um den Nutzen des Ko-TAG Systems zu erweitern, bietet es sich an, die vor dem Fahrzeug “aufgebaute” Schutzzone zur Detektion von Fußgängern und anderen verletzlichen Verkehrsteilnehmern auf weitere Verkehrsteilnehmer auszudehnen. Eine Rundumortbarkeit von mit Transpondern ausgestatteten Fahrzeugen böte erstmals die Möglichkeit, Gefahren zu erkennen, die bisherige Sensorik bislang nicht detektieren kann.

Hierzu zählt beispielsweise ein drohender Seitencrash an einer Kreuzung oder einer nicht einsehbaren Straßeneinmündung. Hierbei kommt vor allem die Möglichkeit des Ko-TAG Systems zur Detektion und Verfolgung (Tracking) optisch verdeckter Objekte und zur präzisen Ortung des Kollisionsgegners im Precrash-Bereich zur Geltung. Durch die Miteinbeziehung von gleichzeitig durch Kommunikation übertragenen Momentangeschwindigkeiten und Dimensionen von Fahrzeugen, lassen sich mögliche Kollisionspfade exakter vorhersagen, als dies mit aktuellen (kooperativen und autonomen) Technologien möglich ist. Bei einer drohenden Kollision können die Fahrer somit noch rechtzeitig gewarnt werden.

Potenzielle Applikationen die durch eine Ko-TAG Rundumsicherheit adressierbar sind, sind beispielsweise Frontcrash, Heckaufprall, Seitencrashs, ggf. Schleuderunfälle sowie Kreuzungs- und Abbiegeassistenzsysteme.

Da für eine Rundumabdeckung die vorhandenen Eigenschaften des Fußgängerschutzsystems vollständig übernommen und erweitert werden, ist das Fußgängerschutzsystem auch die Voraussetzung für das Rundum-Schutzsystem.

Zu den unterscheidbaren Objekten kommen, neben Fußgängern und Radfahrern, bei der Rundumsicherheit nun auch motorisierte Verkehrsteilnehmer wie PKW, LKW oder Motorräder hinzu, die ihre ganz spezifischen Bewegungseigenschaften haben. Entsprechende Bewegungsmodelle sind hierfür zu entwickeln, aus denen sich dann wiederum mögliche Kollisionspfade berechnen und erforderliche Auslösealgorithmen ableiten lassen müssen. (Quelle: http://ko-fas.de/)

Angebot

Mit den Ideen aus dem Fraunhofer IIS kommt leistungsfähige Elektronik ins Auto. Die damit ausgestatteten Fahrzeuge passen zu den Umweltkonzepten der Zukunft und bieten Fahrer, Insassen und anderen Verkehrsteilnehmern erhöhte Sicherheit. Für die Automobilindustrie bedeutet das Fortschritt und Wettbewerbsfähigkeit.

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Ihnen alle Kompetenzen, die für eine vollständige kundenspezifische Systemlösung im Bereich Lokalisierung und Navigation nötig sind.

Aufgrund unserer umfassenden Erfahrungen im Bereich Antennen- und Funktechnik können wir Ihre Ideen und Ansätze neutral bewerten, diskutieren und erweitern. Fraunhofer begleitet Sie bei der gesamten Entwicklung bis hin zu messbaren und nachhaltigen Erfolgen für neue strategische Lösungen.

Auf vorhandenes Know-how, sowie Hard- und Software kann im Rahmen eines F&E-Auftrags bzw. eines Lizenzvertrags zugegriffen werden.