Research & Development

Fraunhofer IIS is the worldwide leading research lab in the field of audio and image coding as well as media technologies. Numerous state-of-the-art technologies that are now widely used in modern media systems – for example, mp3 and AAC, as well as DCP formats for digital cinema – were developed or co-developed at Fraunhofer IIS.

Ongoing projects in the area of audio technologies include the development of the fifth generation of MPEG audio coding algorithms and new technologies for highest audio quality in communication applications and automobiles. Fraunhofer IIS has also played a pivotal role in the standardization of many broadcasting technologies, including DAB+, DRM+ and Journaline, as well as developing internationally renowned broadcasting equipment such as the Fraunhofer ContentServer product line. Current projects in this area of work include exciting new developments for home connectivity and IPTV.

Additionally, Fraunhofer IIS has been involved in various standardization processes in the field of digital cinema, most notably with the creation of the international DCI test plan to ensure the compatibility of DCI-compliant cinema playback devices. Recent projects in this field are for instance the improvement of light-field technology and the development of the image coding system JPEG XS.

These topics merely scratch the surface of Fraunhofer IIS’ set of innovations devised during the recent two decades.

Current research projects:

Research in the field of Audio Technologies

Ongoing projects in the area of audio technologies include the development of the fifth generation of MPEG audio coding algorithms and new technologies for highest audio quality in communication applications and automobiles.

 

International Audio Laboratories, Erlangen (AudioLabs)

In our research center AudioLabs an international team of scientists is working on innovative topics in the area of Audio and Media Technologies.

Research in the field of Moving Picture Technologies

The department Moving Picture Technologies provides future-oriented imaging solutions as well as software developments for the digital media industry.

Research & Development Services

Fraunhofer IIS offers contract-based research and development services, and provides its customers with guidance through the maze of media standards and technologies.

Licensees of Fraunhofer IIS can obtain product ready software implementations of the latest open standards (especially ISO MPEG Audio) at the earliest possible opportunity. In addition to this, Fraunhofer IIS also carries out targeted R&D projects in order to develop application-specific solutions based on existing audio and media technologies.

 

Examples of recent contract-based research projects include:

 

  • Watermarking: Low-complexity, highly robust watermarking system.
  • Digital Broadcast Receiver chips for reception and decoding of digital radio signals.
  • DAB Surround technology trials to demonstrate Digital Radio DAB in 5.1 Surround sound.
  • AAC audio codec optimization for highly resource-limited embedded platforms.
  • Echo Control integration into broadcasting studio intercom.
  • …and many more.

 

 

 

Credits Header: © Fraunhofer IIS/Kurt Fuchs, Fraunhofer IIS/Valentin Schilling

Forschung

Das Fraunhofer IIS ist das weltweit führende Forschungslabor im Bereich Audio- und Bildcodierung sowie Medientechnologien. Zahlreiche Technologien, die moderne Medien erst ermöglichen – wie zum Beispiel mp3 oder AAC, oder DCP-Formate für das digitale Kino –, wurden am Fraunhofer IIS entwickelt bzw. mitentwickelt.

Aktuelle Arbeiten im Audiobereich sind die Entwicklung der fünften Generation von MPEG-Audiocodierverfahren oder neue Technologien für eine bestmögliche Audioqualität bei Kommunikationsanwendungen sowie bei der Medienwiedergabe im Auto. Das Fraunhofer IIS war auch maßgeblich an der Erarbeitung zahlreicher Standards des digitalen Radios beteiligt und entwickelte weltweit eingesetzte Rundfunkgeräte wie die Fraunhofer ContentServer-Produktlinie. Derzeitige Projekte beschäftigen sich u.a. mit der Heimvernetzung und IPTV.

Gleichermaßen war das Fraunhofer IIS an Standardisierungsverfahren im Bereich des digitalen Kinos beteiligt und erarbeitete insbesondere den internationalen DCI-Testplan, der die Kompatibilität von DCI-konformen Kino-Abspielgeräten sichert. Aktuelle Projekte im Bereich der digitalen Filmbranche umfassen Lichtfeldtechnologie und die Entwicklung des Bildcodierverfahrens JPEG XS.

Dies ist natürlich nur ein kleiner Ausschnitt der Forschungsthemen der letzten zwei Jahrzehnte.

Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte:

Forschung im Audiobereich

Aktuelle Forschungsarbeiten befassen sich mit der Entwicklung der fünften Generation von MPEG-Audiocodierverfahren und neuen Technologien für eine bestmögliche Qualität von Kommunikationsanwendungen.

 

International Audio Laboratories, Erlangen (AudioLabs)

Im Forschungszentrum AudioLabs arbeiten Wissenschaftler des Fraunhofer IIS gemeinsam mit Forschern der Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg an innovativen Themen auf dem Gebiet der Audio- und Medientechnik.

Forschung im Feld Bewegtbildtechnologien

Für die Zukunft der digitalen Medien- und Filmbranche entwickelt die Abteilung Bewegtbildtechnologien neben neuartigen Bildverfahren verschiedene Softwarelösungen.

Forschung & Entwicklung als Dienstleistung

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet Dienstleistungen im Bereich Forschung und Entwicklung und berät Kunden zu zahlreichen Mediastandards und Technologien.

Kunden des Fraunhofer IIS erhalten frühzeitig produktreife Softwareimplementierungen der neuesten offenen Standards (v.a. ISO MPEG Audio). Zusätzlich arbeitet das Institut in Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprojekten, um anwendungsspezifische Lösungen basierend auf bestehenden Audio- und Medientechnologien zu entwickeln.

 

Beispiele Entwicklungsprojekte:

 

  • robustes Watermarking-System mit niedriger Komplexität
  • Empfängerchips für den Empfang und die Decodierung digitaler Radiosignale
  • DAB Surround Technologie-Trials
  • Optimierung des AAC Audiocodecs für besonders ressourcenkritische Plattformen
  • Integration eines Echo Control-Systems in eine Studio-Intercom-Anlage
  • …und viele weitere