Concert hall on the move

Automotive

For more than 10 years, Automotive Audio has been an important part of product development at Fraunhofer IIS. Our researchers, engineers and Tonmeisters dedicate their work to providing all vehicle occupants with the best possible sound. Today, in nearly every brand new car, you can enjoy our audio technologies, such as mp3 and AAC decoding, DAB / DAB + and DRM receiver solutions, as well as Symphoria and Sonamic algorithms for sound enhancement.

We are convinced that high-quality audio systems will be even more important in future cars than they are today. In an autonomous vehicle, you no longer have to concentrate on the road, instead you can enjoy your free time in the car: listen to your favorite music, watch an exciting movie or enjoy a computer game.

 

Fraunhofer Symphoria

Fraunhofer Symphoria creates a new sense of dimensionality and spaciousness by increasing width, depth and even height of the sound image in a car. This results in a broad and clearly defined front stage as well as a perfectly balanced surround sound field for each seat.

 

Fraunhofer Sonamic

Under the umbrella of Fraunhofer Sonamic, a new set of technologies expands the automotive sound product range to intelligent audio processing. This new set of technologies takes customer experience of in-car entertainment systems to a new level.

 

Communication Systems

Powerful data links are the key enabling technology for the car of the future. Data need to be collected, transmitted, and distributed to be available in the right place at the right time. We offer a wide range of solutions for automotive in the areas of infotainment, intelligent connectivity and antenna systems.

© Martin Novak Photography - Fotolia.de

Automotive

Seit mehr als 10 Jahren ist Automotive Audio ein wichtiger Bestandteil der Produktentwicklung am Fraunhofer IIS. Unsere ForscherInnen, IngenieureInnen und TonmeisterInnen widmen ihre Arbeit dem Ziel, allen Fahrzeuginsassen bestmöglichen Sound zu bieten. Heute kann man in nahezu allen weltweit zugelassenen Neuwagen unsere Audiotechnologien hören: beispielsweise mp3- und AAC-Dekodierung, DAB/DAB+ und DRM-Receiver-Lösungen sowie Symphoria- und Sonamic-Algorithmen zur Klangveredelung.

 

Wir sind davon überzeugt, dass hochwertige Audiosysteme in den Autos der Zukunft noch wichtiger werden als heute. Im autonomen Fahrzeug muss man sich nicht mehr auf den Straßenverkehr konzentrieren, sondern kann seine Freizeit im Auto multimedial genießen: der Lieblingsmusik ungestört lauschen, einen spannenden Film sehen oder sich bei einem Computerspiel amüsieren.

 

Fraunhofer Symphoria

Die Fraunhofer-Technologie Symphoria erzeugt ein beispielloses Stereo- und 3D-Surround-Erlebnis in Fahrzeugen. So entsteht ein bisher unbekanntes Gefühl von Räumlichkeit im Auto. Die physikalischen Grenzen der Fahrgastzelle scheinen sich aufzulösen.

 

Fraunhofer Sonamic

Die Technologie-Familie Fraunhofer Sonamic erweitert das Angebotsspektrum um intelligente Audio-Processing-Technologien, die das Kundenerlebnis von Entertainment-Systemen im Auto auf ein völlig neues Komfort- und Qualitäts-Niveau heben.

 

Kommunikationssysteme

Schnelle Datenverbindungen sind das Herzstück des Fahrzeugs der Zukunft. Daten müssen zum richtigen Zeitpunkt am richtigen Ort und in der richtigen Art und Weise zur Verfügung stehen. Hierfür bieten wir ein breites Spektrum an Lösungen in den Bereichen Infotainment, intelligente Vernetzung und Antennensysteme.