Fraunhofer upHear® Immersive Audio Virtualizer

Overview

About

The Fraunhofer upHear® Immersive Audio Virtualizer is a codec-agnostic audio post-processing technology that brings authentic and enveloping 3D sound to mass-market consumer devices such as soundbars and TVs.

Consumer products incorporating Fraunhofer upHear create a convincing immersive 3D audio experience from any input source without the need for advanced loudspeaker setups in the living room.

Based on a sophisticated signal analysis, the synergy of hardware and software processing and individual tuning by Fraunhofer’s experienced sound designers, Fraunhofer upHear enables 3D audio soundbar designs that don’t require satellite surround speakers and therefore reduce hardware costs.  

Challenge

Immersive audio content is increasingly becoming available to consumers delivered by premium streaming services, in UHD-TV broadcasts or on Blu-ray discs. The Pyeongchang Winter Olympics in 2018 will be the first major sports event broadcasted in 3D audio using Fraunhofer’s MPEG-H TV audio system.

Conventional approaches to play back immersive sound in living rooms require overhead loudspeakers in addition to the legacy surround setups. Often, only audio enthusiasts will install such a system. The number of loudspeakers and wiring, as well as the specialized knowledge required make installation impractical for the majority of consumers’ homes.

Recognizing the drawbacks of traditional 3D loudspeaker setups, our challenge was to develop a high-quality 3D audio consumer experience that is convenient and easy to set up, without compromising high-quality sound reproduction.

 

Our Approach

Besides the actual software algorithm, an integral part of our offering is device-specific tuning by our sound engineers and consultancy regarding hardware specifications.

Our technologies are based on more than twenty years of experience in perceptual audio signal processing and in various fields of spatial audio reproduction.

At Fraunhofer IIS we are dedicated to audio excellence, which we achieve by combining intelligent audio signal processing techniques with artistic aspiration. Researchers, developers, and sound engineers work together in interdisciplinary teams to create technically - as well as aesthetically - superior audio technologies.

Product Features

For the manufacturer

  • Immersive audio reproduction optimized for specific hardware designs
  • Audio codec-agnostic, validated with MPEG-H encoded content
  • Includes advanced upmix of legacy stereo and surround content

For the consumer

  • Easy to set up, works out-of-the-box, no cable clutter, no search for correct loudspeaker positions
  • Unsurpassed immersive sound reproduction, dramatic improvement over today's stereo and surround soundbars
  • Turns any content (stereo music, surround movie sound, etc.) into an immersive audio experience while preserving the authenticity of the original audio

Hardware Requirements

An immersive soundbar reference hardware design is available which demonstrates the highest sound reproduction quality of Fraunhofer’s upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer. The reference design is based on a single-element soundbar without satellite speakers. Deviations from the reference design specifications are possible (e.g. to match available drivers from the manufacturers catalogue).

In addition, Fraunhofer upHear can also be applied to existing soundbar designs.

Availability

The Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer can be provided as an optimized object code library for embedded systems (e.g., Analog Devices and Texas Instruments DSPs). It is available for licensing to CE manufacturers.

Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer

Überblick

Der Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer ist eine Codec-unabhängige Post-Processing-Technologie, die authentischen und einhüllenden 3D-Sound auf Endverbrauchergeräte wie Soundbars und Fernsehgeräte bringt.

Produkte, in denen die Fraunhofer upHear-Technologie steckt, liefern ein überzeugendes einhüllendes 3D-Klangerlebnis, egal welche Input-Quelle genutzt wird – und das ganz ohne den Aufwand, spezielle Lautsprecher-Setups im Wohnzimmer aufbauen zu müssen.

Dank einer ausgeklügelten Signalanalyse, dem Zusammenspiel von Hard- und Software sowie einem individuellen Tuning durch erfahrene Fraunhofer-Tonmeister ermöglicht der Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer 3D-Audio Soundbar-Designs ohne Satellitenlautsprecher. So können Hardware-Kosten eingespart werden.  

Herausforderung

Umhüllender Klang kann über Premium-Streamingdienste, UHD-TV-Übertragungen oder auf Blu-ray Discs immer häufiger auch zuhause genossen werden.  

Herkömmliche Ansätze, umhüllenden Klang im hauseigenen Wohnzimmer zu realisieren, erfordern neben dem altbekannten Surround-Setup zusätzlich Höhen-Lautsprecher. Oftmals sind es nur die wahren Audio-Liebhaber, die solch ein System bei sich zuhause installieren, da viele Lautsprecher, Kabel und spezielles technisches Wissen für den Aufbau benötigt werden. Für die Mehrzahl der Verbraucherhaushalte ist dies viel zu aufwändig.

Mit dem Wissen um diesen großen Nachteil herkömmlicher Lautsprecher-Setups im Hinterkopf sollte daher ein hochwertiges räumliches Klangerlebnis geschaffen werden, das gleichzeitig bequem und benutzerfreundlich ist, um auch für möglichst viele Endanwender attraktiv zu sein.

 

Unser Ansatz

Neben dem eigentlichen upHear-Software-Algorithmus sind wesentliche Bestandteile unseres Angebots eine gerätespezifische Abstimmung durch unsere Soundingenieure sowie Beratung hinsichtlich der Hardware-Spezifikationen.    

Unsere Technologien basieren auf mehr als zwanzig Jahren Erfahrung in Psychoakustik, Audiosignalverarbeitung und in verschiedenen Feldern der räumlichen Audioreproduktion.

Wir vom Fraunhofer IIS leben Audio und kombinieren intelligente Audiosignalverarbeitungs-Verfahren mit künstlerischem Anspruch. Wissenschaftler und Tonmeister arbeiten in interdisziplinären Teams zusammen, um technisch und künstlerisch erstklassige Audiotechnologien zu entwickeln.

Produkteigenschaften

Für Hersteller

  • Einhüllende Klangwiedergabe, optimiert für spezifische Hardware-Designs
  • Audiocodec-unabhängig, validiert mit MPEG-H-codierten Inhalten
  • Integrierter Upmix von herkömmlichem Stereo- und Surround-Material

Für Endandwender

  • Einfach aufzubauen, funktioniert sofort, kein Kabelsalat, keine Suche nach der richtigen Lautsprecherposition
  • Einzigartige umhüllende Klangwiedergabe, drastische Verbesserung im Vergleich zu heutigen Stereo- und Surround-Soundbars
  • Verwandelt jeden Inhalt (Stereomusik, Surround-Klang bei Filmen, etc.) in ein einhüllendes Audioerlebnis, während die Authentizität des Originaltons beibehalten wird

Hardware-Anforderungen

Ein Referenz-Hardwaredesign für eine 3D-Soundbar ist verfügbar und demonstriert die hohe Qualität der Klangwiedergabe des Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer. Das Referenzdesign basiert auf einer einteiligen Soundbar ohne Satellitenlautsprecher. Änderungen der Design-Spezifikationen sind möglich (z.B. um verfügbare Treiber des Herstellers zuzuordnen).

Zusätzlich kann Fraunhofer upHear auch für existierende Soundbar-Designs angewendet werden.

Verfügbarkeit

Der Fraunhofer upHear Immersive Audio Virtualizer kann als optimierte Objektcode-Bibliothek für eingebettete Systeme (z.B. Analog Devices und Texas Instruments DSPs) geliefert werden. Lizenzen sind für CE-Hersteller erhältlich.