Positioning for 5G

Positioning for 5G

With the new 5G mobile radio standard, the high requirements of applications in the areas of Industry and Logistics 4.0, Smart City, Medicine and Health and Rescue Services for wireless communication and localization solutions can be better met. To achieve this, 5G aims at latency times of a few milliseconds, data rates of up to 20 Gigabits per second, extremely high network reliability and high positioning accuracy. Because an increasing awareness of objects about their own location is an essential feature of many new business models and services, positioning is seen as an integral part of the system design of 5G mobile radio networks.

The 5G positioning architecture will integrate a large number of sensors, based on mobile signals and mobile technology (e.g. inertial sensors) to enable a hybrid positioning scheme. For localization, 5G offers the best prerequisites, as it uses a wide bandwidth for better time resolution, new frequency bands in the mm-wave range and massive MIMO for precise angle measurement. So, 5G localization contributes to the acceleration of industrial and logistical processes. By using, for example, in drones (UAV) or automated guided vehicles (AGVs), to tracking of goods and products in intralogistic processes or positioning for AR applications can be implemented. 5G can also be used to navigate emergency forces or to locate a steadily increasing number of mobile sensors (e.g. environmental sensors). In addition, autonomous driving or use in hospitals to localize medical devices or in emergency services are other areas of application for localization with 5G.

 

As part of our work on 5G, Fraunhofer IIS advises and supports system developers, network and infrastructure providers and users in implementing their own solutions for localization within 5G networks. The institute develops the necessary algorithms, researches and supports companies in the correct design of campus networks for localization and determines the specific requirements of applications for 5G. Find out more about our services at.

 

You can find out more about 5G localization applications on the following pages:

Services

 

Consulting

Fraunhofer IIS offers a wide range of advice for a tailor-made localization solution with 5G.  

 

Development

Fraunhofer IIS has been researching, developing and testing localization technologies for over 20 years.

 

Implementation

With the rollout of 5G and the allocation of private frequencies in the range between 3.7 and 3.8 GHz, the demand for localization in non-public 5G networks or campus networks is increasing.

Applications

 

Industry and Logistics 4.0

  • Monitoring and control of AGVs and UAVs
  • Digitized material flow and warehouse management
  • Intelligent tools and tool tracking
  • AR-supported assembly
  • Prevention of cargo theft
  • Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT)
 

Smart City

  • Improved traffic flow
  • Autonomous driving
  • Drones for parcel logistics
  • Modern mobility concepts
  • Digital construction site
  • Mobile environmental sensors
  • Interconnected mobility
  • Automated threading of vehicles
 

Medicine and Health

  • Asset tracking of medical device
  • Interruption of infection chains
  • Patient protection
  • Monitoring in medical logistics
  • Emergency services
  • Localization of rescue workers on site

 

 

 

Rescue Services

  • Positioning of Emergency Personnel
  • Drones for the improved assessment of a situation

Technology

Planned development of 5G positioning accuracy

 

3GPP roadmap of 5G standardization

 

Augmented Reality (AR)

5G Bavaria

Testbed Industry 4.0

 

5G Bavaria

 

Test and Application Centre L.I.N.K.

Lokalisierung in 5G

5G-Lokalisierung

Mit dem neuen Mobilfunkstandard 5G können die hohen Anforderungen von Anwendungen in den Bereichen Industrie und Logistik 4.0, Intelligente Stadt, Medizin und Gesundheit und Rettungswesen an drahtlose Kommunikations- und Lokalisierungslösungen besser erfüllt werden. Um dies zu erreichen, zielt 5G auf Latenz von wenigen Millisekunden, Datenraten von bis zu 20 Gigabits pro Sekunde, eine extrem hohe Zuverlässigkeit der Netze sowie eine hohe Positionierungsgenauigkeit. Weil ein zunehmendes Bewusstsein von Objekten über ihren eigenen Standort ein wesentliches Merkmal vieler neuer Geschäftsmodelle und Dienstleistungen darstellt, wird die Positionierung als integraler Bestandteil des Systemdesigns von 5G-Mobilfunknetzen betrachtet.

Die 5G-Positionierungs-Architektur wird eine Vielzahl von Sensoren integrieren, welche sowohl auf Mobilfunksignalen als auch auf Mobilfunk-unabhängiger Technik (z.B. Inertialsensoren) basieren, um ein hybrides Positionierungsschema zu ermöglichen. Für die Lokalisierung bietet 5G beste Vorrausetzungen, da es unter anderem eine große Bandbreite für eine bessere Zeitauflösung, neue Frequenzbänder im mm-Wellen-Bereich und massive MIMO für genaue Winkelmessung bietet. Damit wird die 5G-Lokalisierung zur Beschleunigung industrieller und logistischer Prozesse beitragen. Dies wird möglich, indem mit 5G die Positionsbestimmung beispielsweise von Drohnen (UAV) oder fahrerlosen Transportsystemen (FTS, engl. Automated Guided Vehicles, AGV), das Tracking von Gütern und Produkten in intralogistischen Prozessen oder die Lokalisierung für AR-Anwendungen umgesetzt werden kann. 5G kann aber auch zur Navigation von Einsatzkräften oder zur Lokalisierung einer stetig steigenden Zahl von mobilen Sensoren (z.B. Umweltsensoren) genutzt werden. Daneben sind das autonomes Fahren oder der Einsatz im Krankenhaus zur Lokalisierung von medizinischen Geräte oder im Rettungsdienst weitere Anwendungsbereiche der Lokalisierung mit 5G. Erfahren Sie mehr zu unseren Leistungen.


Im Rahmen unserer Arbeit zum Thema 5G berät und unterstützt das Fraunhofer IIS Systementwickler, Netz- und Infrastrukturanbieter sowie anwendende Unternehmen bei der Realisierung eigener Lösungen zur Lokalisierung innerhalb von 5G Netzen. Das Institut entwickelt die notwendigen Algorithmen, erforscht und unterstützt Unternehmen bei der richtigen Auslegung von Campusnetze für die Lokalisierung und ermittelt die spezifischen Anforderungen von Anwendungen an 5G.

Leistungen

 

Beratung

Das Fraunhofer IIS bietet ein breites Beratungsangebot für eine maßgeschneiderte Lokalisierungslösung mit 5G.

 

Entwicklung

Das Fraunhofer IIS erforscht, entwickelt und testet seit über 20 Jahren Lokalisierungstechnologien.

 

Umsetzung

Mit dem Roll-out von 5G und der Vergabe privater Frequenzen im Bereich zwischen 3,7 und 3,8 GHz steigt die Nachfrage nach der Lokalisierung in nichtöffentlichen 5G-Netzen bzw. Campus Netzen.

Anwendungen

 

Industrie und Logistik 4.0

  • Überwachung und Steuerung von AGV und UAV
  • Digitalisierter Materialfluss und Lagermanagement
  • Intelligente Werkzeuge und Werkzeugtracking
  • AR-unterstützte Montage
  • Verhinderung von Frachtdiebstahl
  • Industrielles Internet der Dinge (IoT)
 

Intelligente Stadt

  • Verbesserter Verkehrsfluss
  • Autonomes Fahren
  • Drohnen für die Parklogistik
  • Moderne Mobilitätskonzepte
  • Digitale Baustelle
  • Mobile Umweltsensorik
  • Vernetzte Mobilität
  • Automatisiertes Einfädeln von Fahrzeugen
 

Smart Health

  • Asset Tracking medizinischer Geräte
  • Unterbrechung von Infektionsketten
  • Patientenschutz
  • Monitoring in der Medizinlogistik 
 

Rettungswesen

  • Lokalsierung von Rettungskräften am Einsatzort
  • Drohnen und autonome Fahrzeuge zur besseren Lageeinschätzung  

Technologien

Geplante Entwicklung der Lokalisierungsgenauigkeit von 5G

 

Roadmap der 3GPP zur 5G-Standardisierung  

 

Augmented Reality (AR)

5G Bavaria

Testbed Industrie 4.0

 

5G Bavaria  

 

Test- und Anwendungszentrum L.I.N.K