Integrated Circuits and Systems

We develop customized solutions to meet the constantly evolving requirements of industrial applications.

Integrated Circuits and Systems

As one of the leading IC design facilities in Europe, we develop customized solutions in the field of “Integrated Circuits and Systems” to meet the constantly evolving requirements of industrial applications. Our work being independent of technology and manufacturer, we are able to provide our customers with optimum solutions. Our focus is on mixed-signal ASIC design for industrial, communications and automotive applications as well as on design solutions for increasingly complex electronic systems. Whether for robust high-speed data transmission for industrial and automotive applications or ultra-low-power solutions for the Internet of Things, we are your partner from the idea to the final product.

Integrated Circuits and Systems - At a glance

 

Industrial Electronics

Highly automated manufacturing requires faster and more precise signal acquisition. We offer optimum solutions for drive, measurement and control technologies, along with all safety-relevant aspects.

 

Digital Systems and Data Processing

When developing digital ASICs and SoCs, we combine complex digital functions with highly specialized analog components. This results in extremely effective systems on one or more chips.

 

Wireline Commmunications

We develop concepts, ASICs and IPs for optical and wireline data transmission at rates of 1 to 25 Gbit/s over distances ranging from a few meters to several hundred meters.

 

RFIC

We are developing integrated RF circuits (RFICs) operating in the frequency range up to 30 GHz. Our ultra-low power receiver technology RFicient® enables efficient RF solutions for IoT applications.

 

Silicon Services

Our Virtual ASIC Foundry offers the entire design flow: design kits of various semiconductor manufacturers for analog, digital and mixed-signal designs as well as the option of ASIC production in very small volumes.

 

Intellectual Property (IP) Cores and Macros

We offer hard and soft IP cores for analog and digital blocks in a variety of integrated technologies as well as the fast and simple integration of IP blocks into your technology of choice.

News

 

Fraunhofer IIS Joins GLOBALFOUNDRIES FDXcelerator™ Program

Fraunhofer IIS will offer dynamic biasing IPs for advanced SoC designs in GLOBALFOUNDRIES’ 22FDX® technology. This new capability offers dynamic adaption of block level performance versus power consumption ratio to customize and optimize SoC and ASIC designs.

 

Satellite-based exploration of the Earth’s magnetosphere

The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, the Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Sciences and the Full Service Foundry division of ams AG enable highly accurate measurements of the Earth’s magnetosphere from space. For the first time, a new kind of integrated circuit is used.

 

Fraunhofer IIS and RoodMicrotec Team up for Complete ASIC Solutions

RoodMicrotec and Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS have agreed to expand their existing cooperation. The aim is to offer their customers complete solutions throughout the whole supply chain, from ASIC design to volume production.

Exhibitions and Events

 

SPS IPC Drives

SPS IPC Drives from November 28 to 30, 2017 in Nuremberg is Europe’s leading exhibition for electric automation, systems and components.

Visit us in hall 6, booth 360.

 

 

Embedded World 2018

Discover our latest developments at the international trade fair for embedded systems, from February 27 to March 1, 2018 in Nürnberg. In hall 4, booth 4-460, we will present current solutions in the fields of integrated magnetic field and optical sensors, ASIC and IP design as well as high speed data transmission

Integrierte Schaltungen und Systeme

Wir entwickeln maßgeschneiderte Designlösungen für die zukünftigen Anforderungen der Industrie.

Integrierte Schaltungen und Systeme

Als eine der führenden IC-Design-Einrichtungen in Europa erarbeiten wir im Geschäftsfeld »Integrierte Schaltungen und Systeme« maßgeschneiderte Lösungen für die sich stets weiterentwickelnden Anforderungen der Industrie. Da wir technologie- und herstellerunabhängig aufgestellt sind, können wir unseren Kunden optimale Lösungen anbieten. Unser Fokus liegt auf dem Mixed-Signal ASIC-Design für Anwendungen in den Bereichen Industrie, Kommunikation und Automotive sowie auf Designlösungen für zunehmend komplexer werdende elektronische Systeme. Ob robuste High-Speed-Datenübertragung für Industrie- und Automotive-Anwendungen oder Ultra-Low Power-Lösungen für IoT-Applikationen – wir begleiten Sie von der Idee bis zum fertigen Produkt.

Integrierte Schaltungen und Systeme – Auf einen Blick

 

Industrieelektronik

Die automatisierte Produktion nach Maß benötigt künftig eine schnellere und genauere Signalerfassung. Wir bieten neuartige Lösungen für die Antriebs-, Mess-, und Steuerungstechnik mit allen sicherheitstechnischen Aspekten.  

 

Digital Systems and Data Processing

Bei der Entwicklung von digitalen ASICs und SoCs vereinen wir komplexe digitale Funktionen mit hochspezialisierten analogen Komponenten. Dies führt zu effektiven Systemen auf einem oder mehreren Chips.

 

Wireline Commmunications

Wir entwickeln Konzepte, ASICs und IPs für die drahtgebundene und optische Datenübertragung (1 bis 25 Gbit/s) mit Reichweiten von einigen Metern bis wenigen 100 Metern.

 

RFIC

Wir entwickeln integrierte RF-Schaltungen (RFICs) im Frequenzbereich bis 30 GHz. Mit unserer Ultra-Low Power Receiver-Technologie RFicient® bieten wir einen effizienten Lösungsansatz für langlebige IoT-Applikationen.

 

Silicon Services

Unsere Virtual ASIC Foundry bietet den gesamten Designflow: Design-Kits verschiedener Halbleiterhersteller für Analog-, Digital- und Mixed-Signal-Design sowie die Möglichkeit zur ASIC-Produktion in kleinsten Stückzahlen.

 

Intellectual Property (IP) und Makros

Wir bieten hochwertige Hard- und Soft-IPs für analoge und digitale Blöcke in verschiedenen Integrationstechnologien sowie die schnelle und einfache Integration von IP-Blöcken in die Technologie Ihrer Wahl.

Aktuelles

 

Mobiles Analysesystem für Spurenstoffe in Flüssigkeiten

Für den Nachweis von Schadstoffen und Verunreinigungen in Flüssigkeiten, wie etwa im Trinkwasser oder in Säften, sind bisher aufwändige Laboruntersuchungen notwendig. Ein neues mobiles Bioanalsysesystem kann biochemische Substanzen schnell und zuverlässig auswerten.

 

Satellitengestützte Erforschung der Erdmagnetosphäre

Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS, das Institut für Weltraumforschung (IWF) der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften (ÖAW) und der Geschäftsbereich Full Service Foundry der ams AG ermöglichen die präzise dreidimensionale Vermessung des Erdmagnetfelds, bei der erstmals ein neuartiger IC zum Einsatz kommt.

 

High-End ASIC-Design – maßgeschneidert und performant

Das Fraunhofer IIS und die Rhode & Schwarz GmbH haben gemeinsam einen breitbandigen IQ-Modulator mit einem sehr hohem Dynamikbereich entwickelt, wie er kommerziell nicht verfügbar ist. Der Modulator trägt maßgeblich dazu bei, dass eine neue Generation von Rohde & Schwarz-Signalgeneratoren zentrale Messeigenschaften erreicht.

Messen und Veranstaltungen

 

Embedded World 2018

Auf der internationalen Fachmesse in Nürnberg präsentieren wir vom 27.2. bis 1.3.2017 aktuelle Entwicklungen im Bereich integrierte Sensorik, ASIC- und IP-Design ebenso wie Lösungen zur High-Speed-Datenübertragung.

Besuchen Sie uns in Halle 4, Stand 4-460.  

 

Image Sensors Europe

Aktuelle Entwicklungen im Bereich Bildsensorik präsentieren wir auf der Image Sensors vom 13. bis 15. März 2018 in London.

 

 

DATE 2018

Internationale Konferenz und Ausstellung für Design, Automatisierung und Test elektronischer Systeme

19. bis 23. März 2018, International Congress Center, Dresden

 

 

Sensor+Test 2018

Besuchen Sie uns auf der SENSOR+TEST, der führenden Messe für Sensorik, Mess- und Prüftechnik, vom 26. bis 28. Juni 2018 im Messezentrum Nürnberg.

 

Workshop

Ökosystem für qualifizierte ASIC-Entwicklung und Supply Chain Services

In diesem Workshop präsentieren ams, das Fraunhofer IIS und RoodMicrotec ihre Kompetenzen und Leistungen, mit denen sie ihre Kunden gemeinsam bei der ASIC-Entwicklung von der Idee bis zum qualifizierten Serienprodukt begleiten.