Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement

Overview

Enhanced Speech Recognition in Smart Devices

The Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement software is designed to facilitate voice-controlled human-machine interactions using microphones built into mobile phones and smart home devices such as smart speakers. It removes interfering sounds captured by the device’s microphones, extracts the user’s voice and cancels out acoustical echoes that would otherwise make it impossible for the HMI to understand the user’s request.

 

Challenge

With the rapid advancements in machine learning over the last few years, voice-controlled Human Machine Interfaces (HMI) are becoming more widespread with applications in several areas, including mobile phones, smart home devices and cars. Voice-controlled HMI systems typically consist of the following processing units:

  • a keyword spotter to wake up the system
  • an Automatic Speech Recognizer (ASR) module to convert speech into text
  • a Natural Language Understanding Interface (NLUI) to enable natural conversations with the machine
  • a Natural Language Generation (NLG) module to generate meaningful feedback commands to the user
  • a Text-To-Speech (TTS) module to create synthesized speech from text

The input of any voice-controlled HMI is the audio stream captured by the microphones built into the device. In particular, the keyword spotter and the ASR performance are directly impacted by the quality of the captured voice.

 

Our solution

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement is a fully integrated and flexible solution combining advanced multichannel source localization and beamforming techniques with echo and noise reduction algorithms. It provides outstanding audio quality even under unfavorable acoustic conditions. Advanced acoustic echo cancellation allows for barge-in functionality in an always-listening operation of the voice-controlled HMI.

Even though the technology supports single-microphone use cases, we recommend the use of microphone arrays to further improve the user experience in challenging conditions, especially for far-field applications.

Contact us for information on device-specific tuning by our sound engineers and consultancy regarding microphone placements.

Product Features

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement improves voice quality by an optimized integration of the following functionalities:

  • Acoustic Echo Cancellation (AEC) attenuates echoes originating from the devices’ loudspeakers.
  • Direction of Arrival (DOA) estimates the direction of the active talker.
  • Beamforming exploits the spatial diversity offered by an array of microphones to achieve improved directional sound acquisition and extracts the user’s voice even in far-field conditions.
  • Noise Reduction (NR), Dereverberation and Automatic Gain Control (AGC) further enhances the quality of the captured voice.

Product Requirements

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement can be adapted to the unique body and microphone configuration of the device. This enables flexibility in the product design, and ensures optimal performance. Commonly used array geometries such as linear or circular microphone placements are natively supported.

The number of microphones and their arrangement needed for multichannel speech enhancement depend on the application scenario and the product design. Typically, it ranges from 2, 4 or even up to 8 for highest quality operation. Configurations shown in the following graphic are only examples.

Availability

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement is available for licensing. The software library can be provided for:

  • Desktop platforms (Windows, Mac, Linux)
  • Mobile Apps (iOS, Android)
  • Embedded Systems (e.g., ARM Cortex)

 

If you are interested in licensing software from us please fill out the request form below.

Request licensing information: upHear Voice Quality Enhancement

To request a price quote or an evaluation license, please fill in and submit the form.

* Required

Which kind of license are you interested in?
Software platform:
Hardware platform
Title
Name

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement

Übersicht

Die Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement Software wurde entwickelt, um sprachgesteuerte Interaktionen über eingebaute Mikrofone in Mobiltelefonen und Smart-Home-Geräten wie intelligenten Lautsprechern zu erleichtern. Sie beseitigt Störgeräusche der eingebauten Mikrofone, extrahiert die Stimme des Nutzers und neutralisiert akustische Echos, die es ansonsten unmöglich machen würden, eine Nutzer-Anfrage korrekt auszuwerten.

 

Herausforderung

Durch die rasante Weiterentwicklung im Bereich des maschinellen Lernens in den letzten Jahren verbreiten sich sprachgesteuerte Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen (Human-Machine-Interfaces, HMI) immer mehr. Diese sind unter anderem in Smartphones, Smart-Home-Geräten oder Automobilen zu finden. Sprachgesteuerte HMI-Systeme bestehen typischerweise aus den folgenden Bestandteilen:

  • Keyword-Spotter: zur Aktivierung des Systems
  • Automatisches Spracherkennungs-Modul (ASR): zur Umwandung von Sprache in Text
  • Linguistische Datenverarbeitung (Natural Language Understanding Interface, NLUI), um natürliche Konversation mit der Maschine zu ermöglichen
  • Modul zur maschinellen Textgenerierung (Natural Language Generation, NLG), um dem Nutzer aussagekräftige Rückmeldungen geben zu können
  • Text-to-Speech-Modul (TTS) für die Erzeugung synthetischer Sprache aus Text

Der Input für jegliche sprachgesteuerte HMI-Schnittstelle ist das von den Mikrofonen im Gerät aufgenommene Audiosignal. Besonders der Keyword-Spotter und die automatische Spracherkennung sind von der Qualität der aufgenommenen Stimme abhängig.

 

Unsere Lösung

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement ist eine vollständig integrierte, flexible Lösung, die moderne Mehrkanal-Quellenlokalisierung und Beamforming-Methoden mit Algorithmen zur Echo- und Geräuschreduzierung kombiniert. Es liefert eine außergewöhnliche Audioqualität, auch unter schlechten akustischen Bedingungen. Die fortschrittliche akustische Echo-Unterdrückung ermöglicht Sprachansagen während laufender Musikwiedergabe (Barge-In).  

Auch wenn die Technologie Anwendungsszenarios mit Einzelmikrofonen unterstützt, empfehlen wir den Einsatz von Mikrofon-Arrays. Dadurch kann das Nutzererlebnis bei schwierigen Bedingungen, vor allem bei Fernfeld-Anwendungen, weiter verbessert werden.

Kontaktieren Sie uns, um Informationen zu gerätespezifischem Tuning zu erhalten und sich hinsichtlich der optimalen Mikrofonplatzierung beraten zu lassen.  

Produkteigenschaften

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement verbessert die Sprachqualität durch ein optimiertes Zusammenspiel der folgenden Funktionalitäten:

  • Acoustic Echo Cancellation (AEC) unterdrückt Echos vom Gerätelautsprecher.
  • Direction of Arrival (DOA) schätzt die Richtung des Sprechers.
  • Beamforming nutzt die räumliche Verteilung der angeordneten Mikrofone, um eine richtungsorientierte Aufnahme zu realisieren und die Stimme des Nutzers selbst aus weiter Entfernung zu extrahieren.
  • Noise Reduction (NR), Enthallung (Dereverberation) und Automatic Gain Control (AGC) optimieren die Qualität der eingefangenen Sprachelemente.

Produktanforderungen

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement kann individuell auf Gehäuse und Mikrofon-Konfiguration eines Geräts angepasst werden. Dies ermöglicht optimale Qualität bei gleichzeitiger Flexibilität im Produktdesign. Weithin genutzte Mikrofon-Anordnungen wie linear oder zirkular werden von Haus aus unterstützt.

Die Anzahl der Mikrofone und die entsprechend benötigte Anordnung für optimierte Multikanal-Sprachverbesserung hängen vom Anwendungsszenario sowie dem Produktdesign ab. Typisch sind 2, 4 oder bis zu 8 Mikrofone, um eine höchstmögliche Qualität zu erreichen. Die in der folgenden Grafik gezeigten Konfigurationen sind dabei lediglich als Beispiele zu verstehen.

 

Verfügbarkeit

Fraunhofer upHear Voice Quality Enhancement kann unmittelbar lizenziert werden. Die Software-Bibliothek ist verfügbar für:

  • Desktop-Plattformen (Windows, Mac, Linux)
  • Mobile Apps (iOS, Android)
  • Eingebettete Systeme (z.B. ARM Cortex)

 

Wenn Sie an einer Software-Lizenzierung interessiert sind, füllen Sie bitte das untenstehende Formular aus.

Lizenzanfrage: upHear Voice Quality Enhancement

Bitte füllen Sie für weitere Fragen zur Technologie und ihrer Lizenzierung das Formular aus und schicken Sie es dann ab.

* Required

Für welche Art der Lizenz interessieren Sie sich?
Software-Plattform
Hardware-Plattform
Anrede
Name