HORIS

HIGH-RESOLUTION RADAR SYSTEMS FOR DETECTING PEDESTRIANS AND PREDICTING THEIR BEHAVIOR AT BUS STOPS

HORIS - High-resolution radar systems for infrastructure

At a glance

If automated and autonomous vehicles are to operate efficiently and without safety concerns in the future, there is a need to put in place intelligent infrastructure with connectivity to traffic flows. A key function of such infrastructure is the capability to detect all road users, especially individual pedestrians. Though object classification technology already exists for cars, trucks, motorcycles, cyclists, and pedestrian groups, distinguishing individuals from a group of people presents a huge challenge, especially when it comes to validating the sensor technology used. This is the prime use case for HORIS – a joint Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer FHR and Fraunhofer IVI project developing technology that goes beyond the state of the art.

To demonstrate the technology, a typical traffic situation was chosen: a street with two bus stops some distance apart, and road users including pedestrians and vehicles. Several radar sensors provide data, which, when fused, enables the early detection of movement if one or more people break away from the group waiting at the bus stop and spontaneously cross the road. The raw data can also be used to detect biosignals, such as pulse and breathing, which offers a way to distinguish individuals from one another and predict their behavior. The idea is to transmit a hazard map based on this information to moving traffic so emergency braking or other maneuvers can be calculated.

Measuring service

Privacy warning

With the click on the play button an external video from wwww.youtube.com is loaded and started. Your data is possible transferred and stored to third party. Do not start the video if you disagree. Find more about the youtube privacy statement under the following link: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Measurement systems used:

  • Qualisys motion capture system with 28 motion capture cameras
  • Two additional video cameras
  • Biopac® BioNomadix Wireless RSP with ECG Transmitter

Recreated scenarios:

  • One person breaks away from the group and crosses the street
  • The bus is at the bus stop and one person crosses the street behind it
  • Several people are waiting at the bus stop and one person crosses the street

As its primary role in the HORIS project, Fraunhofer IIS in Nuremberg carried out the measurement campaigns at the L.I.N.K. Test and Application Center, which provides a unique laboratory space for recording data from realistic test scenarios. The measurements for the application scenario were not taken at a real bus stop, but instead using realistic recreations. For these, Fraunhofer IIS used the L.I.N.K. Mobil, its mobile test bed, as a substitute for a public bus and recreated a bus stop using whiteboards. Both provide a very true-to-life environment for the radars.

 

Various real-life scenarios in dynamic road traffic were then presented using the latest in measurement technology. This setup enabled up to ten people to be tracked; by applying skeleton tracking, the team was even able to determine the position of their arms, hands, knees, legs, etc. Our measurement campaigns went as far as to determine people’s vital signs, such as their pulse or breathing, thus enabling the detection of individuals within a group. The reference data was used to train and validate machine learning and signal processing algorithms. On that basis, it was subsequently possible to predict the behavior of the pedestrians.

 

What we offer

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Measuring Service

The Fraunhofer IIS Machine Learning and Validation group is part of the Positioning and Networks business unit and has been conducting a wide variety of professional measurement campaigns for many years. Specifically, the L.I.N.K. Test and Application Center, which is regularly used for extensive campaigns, provides a unique laboratory space for recording data from realistic test scenarios. With our L.I.N.K. Mobil mobile test bed, we can also conduct tests and measurements at a wide variety of locations, thus providing realistic testing in your given scenario.

Machine Learning Expertise

Having run numerous successful machine learning projects, Fraunhofer IIS is well advanced in data recording, data organization and data storage, as well as in exploratory data analysis and the further processing of data using machine learning methods.

R&D Partners

With its in-depth experience in a wide range of technologies and artificial intelligence plus its expertise in measurement campaigns, Fraunhofer IIS is a reliable partner for joint German and international R&D projects.

HORIS

HOCHAUFLÖSENDE RADARSYSTEME FÜR DIE ERKENNUNG VON FUSSGÄNGERN UND DEREN VERHALTENSPRÄDIKATION AN BUSHALTESTELLEN

HORIS - Hochauflösende Radarsysteme in der Infrastruktur

Auf einen Blick

Eine intelligente Infrastruktur – vernetzt mit dem fließenden Verkehr – ist notwendig um in Zukunft automatisiertes und autonomes Fahren ohne Sicherheitsbedenken und effizient zu gestalten. Hierfür ist die Identifikation aller Verkehrsteilnehmer, insbesondere jedes Fußgängers von großer Bedeutung. Während die Objektklassifizierung von Fahrzeugen, LKWs, Motorrädern, Fahrradfahrern und Fußgängergruppen technisch umgesetzt ist, so ist die Auflösung einzelner Personen aus Gruppen sehr herausfordernd, insbesondere bei der Validierung der verwendeten Sensorik. Der Use Case des Projektes „HORIS“ des Fraunhofer IIS, Fraunhofer FHR und Fraunhofer IVI setzt genau hier an und geht über den Stand der Technik hinaus.

 

Für die Demonstration wurde eine typische Verkehrssituation gewählt. Hierfür wurde eine Straße mit zwei versetzten Bushaltestellen, sowie mit Personen und Fahrzeugen als Verkehrsteilnehmer, ausgewählt. Hierbei soll durch Datenfusion aus mehreren Radarsensoren frühzeitig erkannt werden, ob sich eine oder mehrere Personen aus der wartenden Gruppe lösen und spontan die Straße überqueren. Durch die vorhandenen Rohdaten wird außerdem die Erkennung von Biosignalen, wie Puls und Atmung ermöglicht, durch die einzelne Personen unterschieden werden können und bereits ihr Verhalten prädiziert werden kann. Auf Basis dessen soll dem fließenden Verkehr dann eine Gefahrenkarte übermittelt werden und Notfallbremsungen oder Fahrmanöver abgeleitet werden.

Messdienstleistung

Datenschutz und Datenverarbeitung

Wir setzen zum Einbinden von Videos den Anbieter YouTube ein. Wie die meisten Websites verwendet YouTube Cookies, um Informationen über die Besucher ihrer Internetseite zu sammeln. Wenn Sie das Video starten, könnte dies Datenverarbeitungsvorgänge auslösen. Darauf haben wir keinen Einfluss. Weitere Informationen über Datenschutz bei YouTube finden Sie in deren Datenschutzerklärung unter: http://www.youtube.com/t/privacy_at_youtube

Verwendete Messsysteme:

  • Qualisys Motion Capture System mit 28 Motion-Capture Kameras
  • zwei zusätzliche Videokameras
  • Biopac® BioNomadix Wireless RSP with ECG Transmitter

Nachgestellte Szenarien:

  • eine Person löst sich aus der Gruppe und geht über die Straße
  • der Bus steht vor der Bushaltestelle und eine Person überquert hinter ihm die Straße
  • mehrere Personen warten an der Bushaltestelle und eine Person geht über die Straße

Das Fraunhofer IIS in Nürnberg hat insbesondere die Messkampagnen für das Projekt „HORIS“ durchgeführt. Die Messungen erfolgten im L.I.N.K. Test- und Anwendungszentrum, welches eine einmalige Laboroberfläche für realitätsnahe Datenaufnahmen bietet. Die Messungen für das Anwendungsszenario wurden hierbei nicht an einer echten Bushaltestelle vorgenommen, sondern realitätsnah nachgestellt. Hierbei wurde das L.I.N.K. Mobil, der Messbus des Fraunhofer IIS, als Ersatz für einen Linienbus verwendet und eine Bushaltestelle mit Whiteboards nachgestellt. Beides stellt eine sehr ähnliche Umgebung für die Radare dar.

Es wurden dann mittels neuester Messtechnologien verschiedene reallife Szenarien im dynamischen Straßenverkehr dargestellt. In diesen konnten bis zu zehn Personen gleichzeitig getrackt werden und in einem Skeleton-Tracking sogar die Position von Armen, Händen, Knien, Beinen, etc. bestimmt werden. Selbst die Feststellung von Vitalparametern, wie Puls oder Atmung der Personen, erfolgte in unseren Messkampagnen und ermöglichte dadurch die Identifikation einzelner Personen innerhalb einer Gruppe. Anhand der Referenzdaten konnten dann Algorithmen des Machine Learnings und der Signalverarbeitung trainiert und validiert werden. Anhand dessen konnte dann die Verhaltensprädikation der Fußgänger vorgenommen werden.

Angebot

© Fraunhofer IIS/Friesen

Messdienstleistung:

Die Gruppe Machine Learning & Validation im Bereich Lokalisierung und Vernetzung des Fraunhofer IIS führt bereits seit Jahren professionelle Messkampagnen in zahlreichen Ausprägungen durch. Besonders das L.I.N.K. Test- und Anwendungszentrum, das regelmäßig für umfangreiche Messungen genutzt wird, bietet eine einmalige Laborfläche für realitätsnahe Datenaufnahmen. Diese bieten wir auch mit unserem L.I.N.K. Mobil, welches Tests und Messungen an verschiedensten Standorten ermöglicht, um somit in Ihr individuelles Szenario realitätsnah zu testen.

Machine Learning Kompetenz:

Durch zahlreiche erfolgreiche Projekte im Bereich Machine Learning ist das Fraunhofer IIS weit fortgeschritten in den Bereichen Datenaufzeichnung, Datenorganisation und Datenablage, sowie der explorativen Datenanalyse und Weiterverarbeitung mit Methoden des maschinellen Lernens.

F&E Partner:

Durch fundierte Erfahrungen im Bereich verschiedenster Technologien, Künstlicher Intelligenz und der Expertise zu Messkampagnen, stellt das Fraunhofer IIS einen verlässlichen Partner für gemeinsame nationale und internationale F&E Projekte dar.