© Fraunhofer IIS

Digital Construction Site

A major motivation for digitisation in the field of construction projects is the maintenance of cost, deadline and quality targets. Here, 5G offers the possibility to use digital infrastructure during project implementation on construction sites, which has so far only been available in the offices of the participating companies. In order to apply modern methods such as the Building Information Model (BIM) comprehensively throughout all phases of a construction project, such an on-site infrastructure is essential.

Possible applications

A prerequisite for the use of 5G services on construction sites is the early availability of an appropriate network. In addition to the use of public networks, the construction of temporary campus networks within the framework of construction projects is also conceivable. The effort required for this is not only independent of public network expansion, but also the potential of application-optimized network planning.

As a low-latency broadband communications network, 5G will allow plans and models to be exchanged (sometimes in real time). Defects resulting, for example, from the circulation of different planning statuses in paper form can thus be effectively prevented. Server-based services, e.g. from the CAD sector, will be able to be used in 5G networks in the future, thanks to guaranteed service qualities, on site at construction sites just as much as in wired office networks. At the same time, this level of networking will not only be possible between office and construction site, but also between all the companies involved on site.

5G-based positioning can make it possible to locate people on construction sites even if satellite-based services are not available. This is especially true for positioning within buildings. Corresponding positioning services can then be used, for example, for positioning on plans, navigation within large construction sites or geotagging for the documentation of construction progress and defects.

The 5G technology can also serve as a technological basis for Augmented Reality (AR), occupational safety, the control of machines or the acquisition of sensor data using energy-efficient IoT sensors within the framework of Smart Construction.

Digitale Baustelle

Eine wesentliche Motivation für die Digitalisierung im Umfeld von Bauprojekten ist die Wahrung von Kosten-, Termin-, und Qualitätszielen. 5G bietet hier die Möglichkeit, während der Projektdurchführung auf Baustellen digitale Infrastruktur zu nutzen, die bisher nur in den Büros der beteiligten Firmen zur Verfügung steht. Um moderne Methoden wie das Building Information Model (kurz: BIM) über alle Phasen eines Bauprojekts hinweg umfassend anzuwenden, ist eine solche Infrastruktur vor Ort essentiell.

Anwendungsmöglichkeiten

Voraussetzung für die Nutzung von 5G Services auf Baustellen ist die frühzeitige Verfügbarkeit eines entsprechenden Netzes. Neben der Nutzung öffentlicher Netze ist hierbei auch der Aufbau temporärer Campusnetze im Rahmen von Bauprojekten denkbar. Dem dafür notwendigen Aufwand, steht nicht nur die Unabhängigkeit vom öffentlichen Netzausbau, sondern auch das Potential anwendungsoptimierter Netzplanung gegenüber.

Als breitbandiges Kommunikationsnetz mit niedriger Latenz wird 5G den Austausch von Plänen und Modellen (teilweise in Echtzeit) ermöglichen. Mängeln, die z.B. aus der Zirkulation verschiedener Planungsstände in Papierform resultieren, lässt sich so effektiv vorbeugen. Server-basierte Dienste, z.B. aus dem Bereich CAD, werden sich durch garantierte Service-Qualitäten in 5G Netzen zukünftig ebenso vor Ort auf Baustellen nutzen lassen, wie bisher in verkabelten Büronetzen. Gleichzeitig wird dieser Grad an Vernetzung nicht nur zwischen Büro und Baustelle, sondern auch zwischen allen involvierten Firmen vor Ort ermöglicht.

5G-basierte Lokalisierung wird auf Baustellen eine Ortung auch dann möglichen, wenn Satelliten-gestützte Dienste nicht zur Verfügung stehen. Dies betrifft insbesondere auch die Lokalisierung innerhalb von Gebäuden. Entsprechende Ortungsdienste lassen sich dann z.B. für die Verortung auf Plänen, die Navigation innerhalb von Großbaustellen oder das Geotagging bei der Dokumentation von Baufortschritt und Mängeln nutzen.
Auch für die Themenfelder Augmented Reality (AR), Arbeitssicherheit, die Steuerung von Maschinen oder die Erfassung von Sensordaten durch Energie-effiziente IoT Sensoren kann die 5G-Technologie im Rahmen von Smart Construction als technologische Basis dienen.