Patent Licensing

We offer patent licenses for the following technologies:

MPEG-4 AAC

  • AAC-LC
  • HE-AAC, HE-AAC v2
  • xHE-AAC
  • AAC-ELD family: AAC-LD, AAC-ELD, AAC-ELD v2
  • AAC Scalable

A patent license for the related Fraunhofer IP is either available

  • through the AAC patent pool, administered by Via Licensing, or
  • from Fraunhofer directly: Please contact us for an individual license.

The latest specification of DRM mandates xHE-AAC, which is part of the AAC patent pool.

To learn more about the technologies' features, please browse our product overview for audio codecs.

To learn more about the features of xHE-AAC, please see our product page.

EVS (3GPP Enhanced Voice Services)

For the latest technical information about EVS, see the 3GPP Specification series (TS 26.441 to TS 26.451). Further information can also be obtained from the 3GPP press release Enhanced Voice Services Codec for LTE.

The following 12 companies have submitted a single joint codec candidate for EVS codec standardization (alphabetical order). For licensing please send an email to the respective contact:  

  • Fraunhofer IIS: Stefan Geyersberger stefan.geyersberger@iis.fraunhofer.de
  • Huawei Technologies Co. Ltd.: Chengfei Ding dingchengfei@huawei.com
  • Nokia Corporation: Sonja London sonja.london@nokia.com
  • NTT: Tadashi Ogawa ogawa.tadashi@lab.ntt.co.jp
  • NTT DOCOMO Inc.: Takuya Kosaka patent-license@nttdocomo.com
  • ORANGE SA: Frederic Bonnet frederic.bonnet@orange.com
  • Panasonic Corporation: Meg Morizono morizono.megumi@jp.panasonic.com
  • Qualcomm Incorporated: Luke Bonacci lbonacci@qualcomm.com
  • Samsung Electronics Co. Ltd.: JP Hong j.p.hong@samsung.com
  • Telefon LM Ericsson AB: Max Olofsson max.olofsson@ericsson.com
  • VoiceAge Corporation: Laurent Amar Laurent.Amar@VoiceAge.com
  • ZTE Corporation: Dao Tian tian.dao@zte.com.cn

The EVS candidate has been approved at 3GPP SA#65 meeting held on 15-17 Sept 2014 (see Section 12.4 of the Draft Report for TSG SA meeting #65).

The companies have filed licensing declarations with ETSI or ARIB or TTA or TTC or CCSA and are prepared to grant a license to their potential essential IP in accordance with the ETSI IPR Policy.

In June 2017, MPEG LA announced the availability of the EVS Patent Portfolio License which currently includes the following patent owners:

  • Fraunhofer-Gesellschaft zur Foerderung der angewandten Forschung e.V.
  • Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corporation (NTT)
  • NTT DOCOMO, INC.
  • Panasonic Corporation
  • Telefonaktiebolaget LM Ericsson

More details can be found here.

Learn more about EVS' technology features.

Journaline

Journaline is the ETSI standardized advanced text application for the open digital radio systems DRM and DAB. It is also a mandatory part of EWF - Emergency Warning Functionality for both systems.

A patent license for the related Fraunhofer IP is available from Fraunhofer directly: Please contact us for an individual license.

Learn more about Journaline's product features.

DRM (Digital Radio Mondiale)

A patent license for the related Fraunhofer IP is either available

  • through the AAC patent pool, administered by Via Licensing, or
  • from Fraunhofer directly: Please contact us for an individual license.

Some DRM functionality may not yet be considered in the AAC patent pool, such as Journaline (advanced text application and mandatory part of EWF - Emergency Warning Functionality for both DRM and DAB(+)) and MPEG Surround. Please see the related pages for more information on licensing.

The latest specification of DRM mandates xHE-AAC, which is part of the AAC patent pool.

MPEG-4 SLS

A patent license for the related Fraunhofer IP is either available  

  • through the SLS patent pool, administered by Via Licensing, or
  • from Fraunhofer directly: Please contact us for an individual license.