Projects

MICROMOLE project – miniature autonomous chemical detector for operation in sewage water

Context

The production and consumption of synthetic drugs is increasing in the past years. Unfortunately both production and consumption of these substances prove to be a threat for the health of citizens in the European countries. For example, the abuse of amphetamine type stimulants can lead to both psychic and physical side-effects including mental disorders and death. Besides, the production of these drugs is often carried-out with inappropriate equipment that can become uncontrollable resulting in dangerous blasts. For these reasons the detection of clandestine laboratories that produce these drugs turns out to be a necessity in a context where their number increases.

Detecting chemical substances in water at the micro-mole level

One of the main tasks of the MICROMOLE project aims at producing a high-sensitivity and high-selectivity autonomous laboratory system for the detection of trace amounts of selected chemical substances in sewage water. These traces of pollutants shall indicate the production of synthetic drugs in the neighborhood. Such a system will also find applications in many other fields, e.g. water quality assessment.

Autonomous, small, sensitive, selective and low-power

The aim of the project is to reduce the size of a tabletop laboratory system down to an object that will fit in the hand, while being able to operate in wastewater without human intervention. The main element of the system is the chemical sensor, which is miniaturized using microfluidic technology. It implements high sensitivity and selectivity, while being robust against variations in the water properties due to a custom-designed sensitive electrode.

The Fraunhofer IIS develops an optimized control and read-out system in order to obtain the optimal sensor performance. First, the sensor requires a precise biasing scheme to maximize performance and reliability. Second, the output signal of the sensor needs to be amplified, filtered and digitized, after what the concentration in target molecule is calculated via digital signal processing.

Beside measurement performance, low-power optimization is the key requirement for autonomous sensor systems. Additionally, Fraunhofer IIS develops an optimized thermalelectric generator for the power supply of the sensor system.

More information on the MICROMOLE project

Projekte

MICROMOLE – autonome chemische Minidetektoren für den Betrieb in Abwässern

Hintergrund

Produktion und Konsum synthetischer Drogen haben in den vergangenen Jahren in Europa stark zugenommen. Das hat negative Auswirkungen auf die Gesundheit der Bevölkerung. So kann beispielsweise der Missbrauch von Amphetaminen zu psychischen und physischen Nebenwirkungen bis hin zu schwerwiegenden mentalen Erkrankungen und sogar Tod führen. Häufig werden diese Drogen in illegalen Drogenlaboren mit ungeeigneten Mitteln hergestellt - mit unkontrollier­baren Folgen, wie beispielsweise gefährlichen Explosionen. Die Anzahl illegaler Drogenlabore steigt ständig, deshalb ist ihre Identifizierung besonders wichtig.

Nachweis chemischer Substanzen in Wasser im Mikro-Mol-Bereich

Wesentliches Ziel des MICROMOLE-Projekts ist es, ein autonomes Kontrollsystem zu entwickeln, das mit höchster Empfindlichkeit und Selektivität geringste Mengen bestimmter chemischer Substanzen in Abwässern erkennt. Die Spuren von Schadstoffen sollen die Produktion synthetischer Drogen in der näheren Umgebung nachweisen. Ein solches Kontrollsystem kann auch in vielen anderen Bereichen eingesetzt werden, wie beispielsweise bei der Bewertung der Gewässergüte­beurteilung.

Klein, autonom, sensitiv, selektiv und energieeffizient

Ziel des Forschungsprojekts ist es außerdem, das Laborsystem auf die Größe einer Handfläche zu reduzieren, wobei es ohne menschlichen Eingriff in Abwässern betrieben wird. Hauptbestandteil des Systems ist ein chemischer Sensor, der aufgrund der eingesetzten Mikrofluidik-Technologie sehr kompakt ist. Der Sensor besitzt eine sehr hohe Empfindlichkeit und Selektivität und ist durch die Nutzung einer speziellen Elektrodenanordnung robust gegenüber Änderungen der Wasser­­­eigenschaften.

Für dieses Laborsystem hat das Fraunhofer IIS eine optimierte integrierte Auswerteelektronik entwickelt, mit der die höchste Sensorgenauigkeit erreicht werden kann. Für maximale Leistungsfähigkeit und Zuverlässigkeit benötigt der Sensor zunächst eine präzise Arbeitspunkt­einstellung. Um die Konzentration des zu detektierenden Stoffes durch digitale Signal­verarbeitung ermitteln zu können, muss das Ausgangssignal des Sensors verstärkt, gefiltert und digitalisiert werden.

Eine zentrale Anforderung an ein autonom arbeitendes Sensorsystem ist neben einer hohen Messgenauigkeit auch ein äußerst geringer Energieverbrauch. Für die Energieversorgung dieses Sensorsystems hat das Fraunhofer IIS einen optimierten thermoelektrischen Generator entwickelt.

Weitere Informationen über das Projekt MICROMOLE