SEEDS - Self-learning Energy Efficient Buildings and Open Spaces

The primary objective of this project is to minimize the energy consumption and CO2 emissions of buildings while they are being used without decreasing user comfort or breaching legal standards. To achieve this, a group of European partners from industry and research are working together on an open system architecture for smart building energy management systems (BEMS). The architecture will be suitable both for retrofitting to existing infrastructure and for new building designs.

Solution Approach

SEEDS utilizes advanced process control methods for energy management in buildings. A model that predicts energy consumption in buildings is at the heart of the SEEDS methodology. This model takes into account internal usage parameters (e.g. building usage profiles, user comfort), the energy consumed by technical building equipment (e.g. air conditioning), and environmental parameters (e.g. weather conditions). Derived from the building history using statistical methods such as self-learning, the data is continuously updated during operation. Special models will be developed to calculate the energy consumption of the technical equipment.

Based on this predictive model, building management is continuously optimized to ensure minimum energy consumption and CO2 emissions within the defined user comfort parameters. State-of-the-art sensor technology is used for the interface between the building energy management system and building services.

To demonstrate its viability and energy savings, the BEMS developed in the SEEDS project will be installed in two building complexes in Spain and Norway as pilot projects.

EU-Flagge

SEEDS stands for »Self-learning Energy Efficient builDings and open Spaces«. The project is supported by the European Union within the 7th Framework Programme for Research and Technological Development. The project team consists of organizations from the construction, electronics, ICT, and energy industries.

SEEDS - Self-learning Energy Efficient Buildings and Open Spaces

Das Hauptziel des Projekts ist es, den Energieverbrauch sowie den CO2-Ausstoß von Gebäuden während ihres Betriebs zu minimieren, ohne dass der Nutzerkomfort leidet oder gesetzliche Normen verletzt werden. Dafür arbeiten die europäischen Partner aus Forschung und Wirtschaft an einer offenen Systemarchitektur für intelligente Building Energy Management Systems (BEMS). Sie wird sowohl für die Nachrüstung bestehender Infrastruktur als auch für neu zu entwerfende Gebäude geeignet sein.

Lösungsansatz

Mit SEEDS werden Verfahren des Advanced Process Control für das Energiemanagement in Gebäuden nutzbar gemacht. Kern des Verfahrens ist ein Vorhersagemodell für den Energieverbrauch im Gebäude. In diesem Modell sind sowohl gebäudeinterne Nutzungsparameter (z. B. Gebäudenutzungsprofile, Nutzerkomfort), Energieverbrauch der technischen Gebäudeausrüstung (z. B. Klimatechnik) als auch Umgebungsparameter (z. B. Witterung) berücksichtigt. Es wird mit Hilfe statistischer Verfahren (z. B. Self-Learning) aus der Gebäudehistorie abgeleitet und fortlaufend während des Betriebs aktualisiert. Für die Berechnung des Energieverbrauchs der technischen Ausrüstung werden entsprechende Modelle entwickelt.

Basierend auf diesem Vorhersagemodell erfolgt eine fortlaufende Optimierung der Gebäudebetriebsführung zur Sicherung eines minimalen Energieverbrauchs und CO2-Ausstoßes bei vorgegebenen Nutzerkomfortparametern. Für die Schnittstelle zwischen Building Energy Management Systems und technischer Gebäudeausrüstung kommt modernste Sensortechnologie zum Einsatz.

Zum Nachweis der Funktionsfähigkeit und der Energieeinsparung werden zwei Gebäudekomplexe als Pilotprojekte in Spanien und in Norwegen mit den in SEEDS entwickelten BEMS ausgerüstet.

EU-Flagge

SEEDS steht für »Self-learning Energy Efficient builDings and open Spaces«. Das Projekt wird durch die Europäische Union innerhalb des siebten Rahmenprogramms für Forschung und technologische Entwicklung gefördert. Das Projektteam besteht aus Organisationen aus dem Baugewerbe, dem Elektronik- und IuK-Bereich sowie dem Energiesektor.