MammoCAD

more info

Computer Assisted Diagnosis for Mammography

Background

Today mammography is the most effective technique available for the early detection and diagnosis of breast cancer. One of the most difficult tasks in the context of mammogram interpretation is the discrimination of benign and malignant lesions based on their appearance in mammograms. When a lesion is suspected to be malignant, usually a breast biopsy is performed. Several studies have shown that the positive predictive value (PPV) of mammography interpretation usually is not higher than 30 percent. And therefore, only few breast biopsies actually show a malignant pathology. The resulting high percentage of unnecessary breast biopsies on benign lesions causes both considerable mental and physical discomfort for the patients as well as unnecessary costs for the health care system.

Our Approach: MammoCAD

We are working on a system for the computer-assisted discrimination of benign and malignant mammographic masses and clusters of microcalcifications. The ultimate goal of our system is to help the radiologist to improve the reliability of his recommendations for patient management and thus to reduce the high percentage of breast biopsies on benign lesions. Our approach is based on the retrieval of similar lesion information from a validated and annotated database based on the image content and clinical data. Automatic retrieval of similar reference images based on the image content supports the case-based diagnosis during the findings report. This procedure allows for the access of suitable reference cases, including the relevant patient history data during examination.

“MammoCAD“ is not yet CE-certified, as the compliance with requirements of the German Medical Product Law (MPG) and the European Directive 93/42/EEC (MDD) has not been proofed yet. It cannot be obtained before the conformity with the MPG and the MDD has been declared (CE mark). The Fraunhofer Institute IIS is presenting “MammoCAD“ with the objective of gaining partners for further development, production and marketing.

Further Information

Brochure

Medical Image Processing

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, product sheet, flyer or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

MammoCAD

mehr Info

Computer-assistierte Diagnose für Mammographie

Hintergrund

Die Mammographie ist derzeit das effektivste Bildgebungsverfahren für die frühzeitige Erkennung und Diagnose von Brustkrebs. Die Unterscheidung von gutartigen und bösartigen Läsionen anhand einer Mammographieaufnahme gestaltet sich meist schwierig. Zur weiteren Abklärung einer verdächtigen Läsion wird daher in der Regel eine Brustbiopsie durchgeführt. Mehrere klinische Studien zeigen, dass der positiv-prädiktive Wert für die Interpretation von Mammogrammen meist nicht höher als 30 Prozent ist. Daher zeigen meist nur wenige Biopsien eine bösartige Pathologie. Der daraus resultierende hohe Anteil von (eigentlich unnötigen) Brustbiopsien von gutartigen Läsionen verursacht vermeidbare psychische und physische Beschwerden der Patientin sowie unnötige Behandlungskosten.

Unsere Lösung: MammoCAD

Wir arbeiten an einem System für die computerassistierte Unterscheidung von gutartigen und bösartigen Herdbefunden sowie gruppierten Mikroverkalkungen in Mammogrammen. Ziel des Systems ist es, den Radiologen in seiner Entscheidung für das weitere Patientenmanagment zu unterstützen und damit den hohen Prozentsatz von Brustbiopsien von gutartigen Läsionen zu reduzieren. Unser Ansatz basiert auf der automatischen Suche von ähnlichen Läsionen in einer validierten und annotierten Datenbank basierend sowohl auf dem Bildinhalt als auch auf weiteren klinischen Daten. Die automatische Suche ähnlicher Referenzbilder anhand des Bildinhaltes unterstützt das fallbasierte Schließen bei der Befundung. Mittels dieses Verfahrens können passende Referenzfälle mitsamt der relevanten klinischen Daten während der Untersuchung angezeigt werden.

»MammoCAD« ist derzeit noch nicht als Medizinprodukt zugelassen. Das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS präsentiert »MammoCAD« mit dem Ziel, Partner für weitere Entwicklung, Produktion und Vermarktung zu gewinnen.

Weiter Informationen

 

Zertifikat

Zertifiziert nach ISO 13485

Broschüre

Medizinische Bildverarbeitung