HaptiVisT

Development and Evaluation of a Haptic-visual Learning System for Surgical Operations

The Challenge

Surgeons sometimes have to perform very complex operations on bony tissue, one example being surgical cochlear implants. It is important in such operations to avoid injuring delicate structures, such as nerves and blood vessels, and to ensure that the surgery does as little damage as possible. Before surgeons are able to carry out such an operation safely and without making any mistakes, they have to undergo comprehensive theoretical and practical training – some of it on the job – and need many years of experience.

In this context, Fraunhofer Institute IIS has been working on the haptic (tactile) modeling of tissue, the segmentation and visualization of ear structures, and the evaluation of the demonstrator to be developed.

Our Contribution

Variation der knöchernen Transparenz und unterschiedlicher Sichtbarkeit der Risikostrukturen im Mittelohr
© Photo Fraunhofer IIS

Varying osseous transparency and visibility of risk structures in the middle ear. The nerves (chorda tympani, nervus facialis) are shown in yellow, while the cochlea and semicircular canals (critical to sense of balance) are shown in gray-blue. From left to right, the transparency decreases and the difficulty increases.

We are supporting the further training of surgeons by developing the “HaptiVisT“ system, a haptic-visual training system for cochlear implants. To this end, real clinical CT data from the inner and middle ear are interactively segmented (“CI-Wizard“), and the structures modeled there (nerves, cochlea, ossicles, etc.) are used for an interactive surgical training system.

“HaptiVisT“ is structured as a so-called serious game with hidden learning. The results-oriented evaluation of the demonstrator´s fitness for purpose is carried out in parallel to the development process in order to uncover possible technical or didactic errors before completion of the system. This assessment involves three time-staggered evaluations, which focus on surgical, didactic, and haptic-ergonomic acceptance criteria.

Opportunities

The continuing further education of medical staff in the field of minimally invasive surgery is not restricted to a few specialist centers, but can also be extended to smaller hospitals in more rural areas. Expanding practice-oriented education and further training in specialized surgical disciplines can go a long way toward remedying the lack of specialist doctors across the board.

More Information

Brochure “Medical Image Processing“

Download Section

Each document, such as application note, brochure or others, and each video, can be found in our download section.

HaptiVisT

Entwicklung und Evaluierung eines haptisch-visuellen Lernsystems für chirurgische Eingriffe

Die Herausforderung

Chirurgen führen unter anderem teils sehr komplexe Operationen an knöchernem Gewebe durch, ein Beispiel ist die chirurgische Implantation von Cochlea-Implantaten. Dabei gilt es Verletzungen von Risikostrukturen wie Nerven oder Blutgefäßen zu vermeiden und den Eingriff so schonend wie möglich durchzuführen. Bis Chirurgen in der Lage sind einen solchen Eingriff sicher und fehlerfrei durchzuführen, ist eine umfangreiche theoretische und praktische - teilweise berufsbegleitende - Fortbildung sowie langjährige Erfahrung notwendig.

Das Fraunhofer-Institut IIS beschäftigt sich in diesem Kontext mit der der haptischen Modellierung von Gewebe, der Segmentierung und Visualisierung von Ohrstrukturen und mit der Evaluation des zu entwickelnden Demonstrators.

Unser Beitrag

Variation der knöchernen Transparenz und unterschiedlicher Sichtbarkeit der Risikostrukturen im Mittelohr
© Foto Fraunhofer IIS

Variation der knöchernen Transparenz und unterschiedlicher Sichtbarkeit der Risikostrukturen im Mittelohr. Die Nerven (Corda Tympani, Nervus facialis) sind in gelb dargestellt, die Hörschnecke (Cochlea) und Bogengänge (Gleichgewichtssinn) in graublau. Von links nach rechts nimmt die Transparenz ab und der Schwierigkeitsgrad zu.

Wir unterstützen die Fortbildung von Chirurgen mit der Entwicklung des »HaptiVisT«-Systems, einem haptisch-visuellen Trainingssystems für Cochlea-Implantationen. Reale klinische CT-Daten von Innen- und Mittelohr werden dafür interaktiv segmentiert (»CI-Wizard«) und die darin abgebildeten Strukturen (Nerven, Cochlea, Gehörknöchelchen, etc.) für ein interaktives Chirurgie-Trainingssystem genutzt.

»HaptiVisT« ist als sog. »Serious Game« mit verdeckter Didaktik gestaltet. Die Evaluierung des Demonstrators hinsichtlich seiner Zweckmäßigkeit erfolgt prozessbegleitend und ergebnisorientiert, um mögliche technische oder didaktische Fehler vor der Fertigstellung des Systems aufzudecken. Drei zeitlich versetzte Evaluationen fokussieren dabei chirurgisch-fachliche, didaktische sowie haptisch-ergonomische Akzeptanzkriterien.

Die Chancen

Die stetige Fortbildung des ärztlichen Personals im Bereich der minimalinvasiven Chirurgie bleibt nicht auf wenige spezialisierte Zentren beschränkt, sondern lässt sich auch auf kleinere Kliniken im ländlichen Raum ausdehnen. Eine Verbreiterung der praxisnahen Aus- und Fortbildung in chirurgischen Spezialdisziplinen kann einen wichtigen Beitrag leisten, um dem Facharztmangel in der Fläche zu begegnen. 

Weitere Informationen

Broschüre »Medizinische Bildverarbeitung«

Download-Bereich

Hier finden Sie alle Dokumente wie Application Notes, Broschüren und Flyer sowie Videos zum Download.