Embedded Intelligent Monitoring

Press Release / 1.12.2010

In the European project »SmartFiber« scientists are developing a fully embeddable system for a continuous structural monitoring of composite structures. The intelligent micro systems enable an automated high-performance monitoring in dynamic and hash environments. The project consortium consists of European research institutions and industrial partners including FBGS Technologies GmbH and the Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS.

Si photonics ring resonator

Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) pictures of a Si photonics ring resonator

Si photonics ring resonator array

Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) picture of a Si photonics ring resonator array

4-channel Si photonics spectral demultiplexer

Scanning electron microscopy (SEM) picture of a 4-channel Si photonics spectral demultiplexer – key building blocks of a photonic integrated circuit

The main objective of SmartFiber is to develop a smart miniaturized system for continuous health monitoring of composites which will integrate optical fiber sensor technology, nanophotonic chip technology and low-power wireless technology. Thanks to the innovative approach of integrating micro-technologies, SmartFiber will demonstrate a smart system so small (mm-scale) that it can be embedded in a fiber-reinforced polymer.

The smart system will enable, for the first time, fully embedded structural health monitoring of composites used as structural parts in e. g. wind turbine blades, satellites, airplanes, civil constructions, oil and gas wells, and boat hulls.

With its long term experience in wireless communication systems, Fraunhofer IIS is responsible for the wireless data and power transmission link that will allow the SmartFiber system to work while being fully embedded. The know-how will be complemented by the extensive experience in the field of smart objects accumulated by the Center for Intelligent Objects ZIO at Fraunhofer IIS.

SmartFiber is funded by the European commission within the Seventh Framework Programme EU FP7. It is coordinated by the Interuniversity Microelectronics Centre IMEC, Belgium, one of Europe’s largest research centers for nanotechnology and microelectronics. The consortium comprises the research institutes Ghent University and Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, and the industrial partners Airborne, Netherlands, FBGS Technologies (Fibre Bragg Grating Sensors), Germany, Xenics, Belgium, and Optocap, Scotland.

The enabling technology of this smart system is Si nanophotonics, a technology for which imec, in partnership with its associated laboratory INTEC at Ghent University, is world leading. The nanophotonic chip technology enables the realisation of a fiber interrogation scheme or spectral analyser as a photonic integrated circuit (PIC), which has typical dimensions in the order of several hundreds of micrometer. This low-power PIC will be finished by electrical means for wireless communication and inductive power coupling, packaged in a mm-sized cage and coupled to optical fiber bragg grating (FBG) sensors which will be downsized to a diameter smaller than 80 μm. This disruptive approach has the potential to become the enabler for continuous FBG sensor technology in composites and to become the true driver to realise intelligent composites.

The minimally invasive smart microsystems will enable automated high performance surveillance with a prolonged lifetime in dynamic and harsh environments. This will result in extremely improved safety, at economically acceptable cost (automated instead of manual surveillance). Think about wind turbine blade monitoring. The microsystem will enable the turbine to operate much closer to its design limits, increasing wind energy capture and thus electrical energy output. But most of all, it will provide a continuous record of structural data which will inform decisions on maintenance, thereby obviating the need for expensive, periodic maintenance, as well as warning of potentially catastrophic mechanical failures, increasing safety remarkably. The large industrial involvement in SmartFiber is significant. The value chain of the microsystem is nearly covered by the partners’ activities. This strategy gives industrial take-up and commercial development of the technology a huge chance.

Intelligente eingebettete Überwachung

Presseinformation / 1.12.2010

Im europäischen Projekt »SmartFiber« entwickeln Wissenschaftler ein vollständig einbettbares System für durchgehende Strukturüberwachung von Faserverbundwerkstoffen. Die intelligenten Mikrosysteme ermöglichen eine automatisierte leistungsfähige Überwachung in dynamischen und rauen Umgebungen. Am Projekt beteiligt sind europäische Forschungseinrichtungen und Industriepartner, darunter die FBGS Technologies GmbH und das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS.

Ziel von SmartFiber ist es, optische Glasfaser-Sensortechnologie, nano-photonische Chiptechnologie und energiesparende Drahtlostechnologie zu kombinieren. Entstehen soll ein intelligentes System zur Strukturüberwachung, das erstmals vollständig im Werkstoff eingebettet ist. Aufgrund des innovativen Ansatzes von integrierter Mikrotechnologie wird SmartFiber ein intelligentes System demonstrieren, welches so klein ist, dass es als Ganzes in ein faserverstärktes Polymer eingebettet werden kann. Solche intelligenten Faserverbundssysteme können z. B. als Bauteile in Flügeln von Windkraftanlagen, Satelliten, Flugzeugen, Öl- und Gasquellen oder Schiffswänden zur Anwendung kommen.

Das Fraunhofer IIS ist für die drahtlose Daten- und Energieübertragung verantwortlich. Dank der drahtlosen Kommunikation kann das SmartFiber System komplett eingebettet werden. Das Fraunhofer IIS hat langjährige Erfahrung hinsichtlich drahtloser Kommunikationssysteme. Vervollständigt wird dieses Wissen durch das umfassende Know-How über intelligente Objekte, das das Zentrum für Intelligente Objekte ZIO des Fraunhofer IIS einbringt.

Das Projekt SmartFiber wird von der Europäischen Kommision im Rahmen des Seventh Framework Programme EU FP7 gefördert. Es wird geleitet vom Interuniversity Microelectronics Centre IMEC, Belgien, einem der größten Forschungszentren für Nano- und Mikroelektronik in Europa. Weitere Partner sind die Forschungsstätten Universität Gent und das Fraunhofer IIS sowie die Firmen Airborne, Niederlande, FBGS Technologies (Fibre Bragg Grating Sensors), Jena, Deutschland, Xenics, Belgien, und Optocap, Schottland. Die Basis dieses intelligenten Systems ist Si Nanophotonics, eine Technologie, für die IMEC in Partnerschaft mit ihrem angegliederten Labor INTEC an der Universität Gent als weltführend gilt.

Die entwickelte Nanophotonic Chiptechnologie ermöglicht die Realisierung eines Auswertesystems für Fasersensoren mittels eines Spektralanalysators als photonisch integrierte Schaltung (PIC) mit typischen Dimensionen in der Größenordnung von mehreren hundert Mikrometern. Diese stromsparende PIC wird durch Schaltungen zur drahtlosen Kommunikation und Energieübertragung ergänzt, in ein Gehäuse integriert und anschließend an eine für die Integration optimierte optische Bragg-Gitter-Sensorfaser gekoppelt. Die Dimensionen der Komponenten sollen dabei im Projekt stark verkleinert werden. Die Abmessung des Auswertesystems soll nur wenige Millimeter betragen und auch der Faserdurchmesser soll im Projekt auf unter 80 μm reduziert werden. Dieser innovative Ansatz hat das Potenzial, »Wegbereiter « für die fortlaufende Faser-Bragg-Gitter (FBG) Sensortechnologie in Faserverbundstrukturen zu werden. Damit treibt er die Realisierung intelligenter Verbundstrukturen voran.

Die minimalinvasiven intelligenten Mikrosysteme ermöglichen eine automatisierte leistungsfähige Überwachung mit einer verlängerten Lebensdauer in dynamischen und rauen Umgebungen. Dies führt zu extrem verbesserter Sicherheit bei gleichzeitiger Steigerung der Wirtschaftlichkeit. Beispielsweise ist es bei der Überwachung von Windturbinen-Flügeln dann möglich, dass die Turbine sicher in der Nähe der Belastungsgrenze betrieben werden kann und sich dadurch die elektrische Energieausbeute erhöht. Außerdem kann durch die kontinuierliche Aufzeichnung der Strukturdaten über die Notwendigkeit von kostspieligen Wartungsarbeiten entschieden und somit Wartungsintervalle intelligent angepasst werden. Weiterhin kann das System vor möglichen katastrophalen mechanischen Betriebsstörungen warnen, was weitere Beschädigungen verringert und die Sicherheit merklich erhöht. Durch die hohe industrielle Beteiligung am Projekt wird nahezu die komplette Wertschöpfungskette des Mikrosystems abgedeckt. Dieses innovative Konzept bietet enorme Aussicht auf den Erfolg einer großindustriellen Umsetzung.