Exploiting Minerals in Mining more Efficiently with Artificial Intelligence

/ 9.7.2018

Fürth, Luleå, Berlin, Santiago de Chile: Numerous ore deposits have diminishing concentrations of mineable ore. In order to access the remaining ore, the mining industry uses elaborate procedures that consume large amounts of energy and water. The Fraunhofer Institute for Integrated Circuits IIS, together with three other partners, intends to use artificial intelligence and sensor fusion in order to analyze the concentration of valuable minerals as early as possible in the process and thereby conserve resources.

Multimodal Sensors Meet Artificial Intelligence

The overall objective of the research project “REWO-SORT” is the evaluation of the technical feasibility and development of an improved sorting technology for raw materials by means of a multimodal sensor data fusion of optical and X-ray technologies.

The early separation of low-value material in the process chain should not only increase the treatment efficiency, but also reduce the water and energy consumption in the following process steps. The sensor data fusion method is based on deep neural networks (DNNs). The project will examine the robustness of the methodology under variable geological conditions, for example different rock compositions.

Complementing Technologies

The combination of laser induced plasma spectroscopy (LIBS) and multi energy X-ray imaging (ME-XRT) is particularly promising, as the technologies complement each other very well in terms of their analytical performance: LIBS is able to provide an analysis of the chemical composition of the surface, whereas ME-XRT determines elementary information of the total object volume. "The technological convergence of these two sensor technologies will enable the extrapolation of precise surface information to the entire volume. This allows us to determine representative values ​​for the entire ore. Adaptation to varying ore types and geological parameters will be done using artificial intelligence." explains Markus Firsching, Project Manager at the Fraunhofer Development Center for X-ray Technology, a division of ​​Fraunhofer IIS.

The fusion of sensor technologies to be developed should provide constant and accurate monitoring of the mineralogy of the mined rock. Special feature: the geological, mineralogical, rock mechanical and metallurgical properties of the ore are determined directly while the rock material moves over a conveyor belt. Additionally, these properties will be automatically fed into geological 3D models in order to facilitate mine planning.

Planned Exploitation of the Research Results

The project results will be used mainly in the fields of sorting primary raw materials. An application in the field of recycling is also conceivable. Both areas pose major challenges for manufacturers of sorting machines due to increasingly complex tasks. The results regarding the use of deep neural networks should be used to enable a flexible reaction to changing requirements, as well as to facilitate the teaching of the system and the configuration for sorting material flows. For the industrial partners, these advantages represent great unique selling propositions compared to their competitors and are thus highly interesting in economic terms.

REWO-SORT is a joint project of Fraunhofer IIS, Luleå University of Technology, Secopta and University of Chile. The work package of the German partners Secopta and Fraunhofer EZRT is funded by the German Federal Ministry of Education and Research for a period of three years with a volume of around € 520,000.

Rohstoffe im Bergbau effizienter fördern mit künstlicher Intelligenz

/ 9.7.2018

Fürth, Luleå, Berlin, Santiago de Chile: Zahlreiche Erz-Lagerstätten weisen immer geringere Konzentrationen an abbaubarem Wertmaterial auf. Um an die verbliebenen Minerale zu gelangen, setzt die Bergbauindustrie aufwendige Verfahren ein, die große Mengen an Energie und Wasser verbrauchen. Das Fraunhofer-Institut für Integrierte Schaltungen IIS will mit drei weiteren Partnern künstliche Intelligenz und Sensorfusion einsetzen, um die Konzentration der Wertminerale im Prozess möglichst früh zu erkennen und damit Ressourcen zu schonen.

Multimodale Sensoren treffen auf Künstliche Intelligenz

Das übergeordnete Ziel des Forschungsprojekts »REWO-SORT« ist die Bewertung der technischen Machbarkeit und Entwicklung einer verbesserten Sortiertechnologie für Rohstoffe, bei der optische und röntgenbasierte Technologien zu einem multimodalen Sensor fusioniert werden.

Durch die in der Prozesskette frühe Abtrennung des Materials von geringem Wert soll nicht nur die Effizienz der Aufbereitung gesteigert werden, sondern auch der Verbrauch an Wasser und Energie in den folgenden Prozessschritten reduziert werden. Die Sensordatenfusion erfolgt auf Basis tiefer neuronaler Netze (DNNs). Das Projekt wird die Robustheit der Methodik unter variablen geologischen Bedingungen, also beispielsweise unterschiedlicher Zusammensetzung des Gesteins, untersuchen.

Technologien ergänzen sich

Die Kombination von laserinduzierter Plasmaspektroskopie (LIBS) und Multienergie-Röntgenbildgebung (ME-XRT) ist besonders erfolgsversprechend, da sich die Technologien bezüglich ihrer analytischen Leistungsfähigkeit sehr gut ergänzen: LIBS ist in der Lage eine Analyse der chemischen Zusammensetzung der Oberfläche zu liefern, ME-XRT hingegen ermittelt elementare Informationen des gesamten Objektvolumens. »Die technologische Zusammenführung dieser beiden Sensortechnologien soll die Extrapolation der präzisen Oberflächeninformation auf das gesamte Volumen ermöglichen. So können repräsentative Werte für das gesamte Erz ermittelt werden. Die Anpassung an variierende Erztypen und geologische Parameter soll unter Zuhilfenahme von Künstlicher Intelligenz erfolgen.«, erklärt Dr. Markus Firsching, Projektleiter am Fraunhofer-Entwicklungszentrum Röntgentechnik, einem Bereich des Fraunhofer IIS.

Die zu entwickelnde Fusion der Sensortechnologien soll eine konstante und genaue Überwachung der Mineralogie des abgebauten Gesteins bieten. Das Besondere: Die geologischen, mineralogischen, gesteinsmechanischen und metallurgischen Eigenschaften des Erzes werden direkt ermittelt, während sich das Gesteinsmaterial über ein Förderband bewegt. Diese Daten werden dann in ein geologisches 3D-Modell gespeist, um die weitere Minenplanung zu erleichtern.

Geplante Verwertung der Forschungsergebnisse

Die Ergebnisse des Projekts sollen vor allem in den Bereichen Sortierung primärer Rohstoffe eingesetzt werden. Eine Anwendung im Bereich Recycling ist ebenfalls denkbar. Beide Bereiche stellen die Hersteller von Sortiermitteln durch komplexer werdende Fragestellungen vor große Herausforderungen. Die Ergebnisse hinsichtlich der Verwendung von tiefen neuronalen Netzwerken sollen genutzt werden, um flexibel auf sich ändernde Anforderungen reagieren zu können, sowie das Einlernen von Materialströmen bzw. die Konfiguration zur Sortierung dieser zu erleichtern. Für die industriellen Partner stellen diese Vorteile große Alleinstellungsmerkmale dar und sind somit wirtschaftlich betrachtet hochinteressant.

REWO-SORT ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Fraunhofer IIS, der Luleå University of Technology in Schweden, dem Unternehmen Secopta sowie der University of Chile. Das Arbeitspaket der deutschen Partner Secopta und Fraunhofer EZRT wird vom Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung für drei Jahre mit einem Volumen von rund 520 000€ gefördert.